List Mgmt. 2023 Draft Thread - Part I

It would be beautiful, in fact karma, if our lads usurped the midfields of teams like NM and GC, who are gorging on the AFL concession teat.

It’s not just where players are drafted that creates an elite midfield. Which is why everyone is assuming North will have the powerhouse midfield in the AFL.

Rather, it’s the mix of the players, their workrate, their development, their coaching and their character.

I think we might be assembling the skeleton a gun midfield which in a couple of years may be the envy of the AFL.

North will have so much talent that they won't be able to help winning a heap of games.
Then the media will crap on about what a Genius Clarkson is because he turned a team of losers into winners, when the reality is that Brett Ratten's pet Hamster could do it.

I had one of those, sweet rig. Fully loaded with 4Mb Ram and a 60Mb Hard Drive.

Twas a simpler time.

lcIII_with_mon.jpg

35 minutes to load a pr0n pic that was so pixelated that the boobs looked like they were Minecraft architecture.

God I’ll spew if we take schoenmaker. Just looks like a tall wingman who can’t defend and can kick the ball far.
Can’t see him having a long career in the afl. Reminds me of leinert or Jack scrimshaw.
My preferences in order for our remaining 2 picks would be:

1-Simpson
2-Jiath
3-murphy
4-roberts
5-Stevens
6-Lual
7-frejiah
8-m.edwards
9-hastie

Look any kid we take from here is probably 2 years of development away from playing.

But I would rather go with Schoemakers because he has atleast one ELITE attribute in his kicking
They also needs to beat their man one on one, finds the footy and be super competitive. Elite kicking on it’s own, but can’t defend or mark doesn’t really work either.

Add to Gold Coast's tally the two extra first round draft picks they will add to next years draft for trading out their early picks.

So Saints get 1 first round draft pick 2023, and 1 in 2024.
Gold Coast get 4 first round draft picks in 2023, and at least 3 in 2024.

Yep.

The AFL concession teat overflows for those who have access to it.

Fox footy -

West Coast at that opening pick has been linked to Peel Thunder ruck Mitch Edwards, who was overlooked by the likes of North Melbourne, Collingwood, St Kildaand Carlton. The latter two clubs, though, would consider Edwards if he slipped through on Tuesday night as they hold Picks 33 and 34 respectively.

But both the Saints and Blues, as well as West Coast, are also considering 194cm rebounding defender Arie Schoenmaker, who’s regarded as one of the best kickers in the draft class. Schoenmaker, like Edwards, had late first-round interest, but was still on the board on Monday night.

Key back Schoenmaker on Tuesday morning was strongly linked to St Kilda, which took hard running wing-midfielder Darcy Wilson and exciting small forward Collard with their two first-rounders the night before. Sandringham Dragons defender Ollie Murphy could also be in the Saints’ mix if they’re keen on a tall at Pick 33, although the Saints have closely looked at medium defender Tew Jiath and North Adelaide midfielder Kane McAuliffe in recent weeks. Both Jiath and McAuliffe have also been linked to Richmond.
If Jiath is anything like his brother, definitely wouldn't mind him!

Really need another pick in the next 6-10 selections.

Arie seems like a real dickhead, do not want.

I thought you were an Andrew Tate gym bro type. Arie sounds like your boy. Real sleep with your girlfriend and steal your x box type operator.

Hopefully Fox Footy rumours are on point and we grab Shoenmakers.

Really average first few minutes in this video - Misses targets etc.
Then goes into the ruck and has a big impact.

kicking on full display in this one.

and in the allies side who won the carnival. I really want him

Hopefully Fox Footy rumours are on point and we grab Shoenmakers.

Really average first few minutes in this video - Misses targets etc.
Then goes into the ruck and has a big impact.

kicking on full display in this one.

and in the allies side who won the carnival. I really want him

Yes please!

Imagine the absolute leg cannons on the team with Schoenmaker and Phillipou linking up!

[emoji378][emoji378][emoji378]

Just don't put it up next to North. * they got absolutely spoon fed at the cost of everyone else. I reckon McKercher might end up the best player in this draft and then Duursma not far under that.... then Goad, Hardeman and Dawson in one first round and then they have a huge bunch next year and already have a pool of elite young talent. If they * this up they might as well fold.
One way to look at that though is how will they fit all of these players with the salary cap in 5-6 years time. I can picture a few of their players demanding 800000+ in their prime. Defence looks suspect too. When you have a deep midfield then you will have solid B graders leave because they are looking for a better opportunity and/or more money.

People said GWS and GC would win multiple flags with their super generous draft hand, but it didn’t happen. Not every top ten pick will be a star. Sport is also never that predictable.

Yes please!

Imagine the absolute leg cannons on the team with Schoenmaker and Phillipou linking up!

[emoji378][emoji378][emoji378]
i can't remember which game it was against us this year - but i remember making the comment in the post game thread about how the opposition just had massive kicks across their back half and it broke our zone all game long.

it is such an asset.

my personal opinion, he looks much better then Murphy

North will have so much talent that they won't be able to help winning a heap of games.
Then the media will crap on about what a Genius Clarkson is because he turned a team of losers into winners, when the reality is that Brett Ratten's pet Hamster could do it.

Not necessarily. It’s still a team game. Endless numbers of first round draft picks hasn’t delivered GWS a flag.

They have to mesh. Be complimentary. Be well coached. Gel as a group. Buy-in to the culture and vision of the club. Keep their egos in check.

It wouldn’t surprise me if North lose a number of these early draft picks in the years ahead.

Champions come in all forms. They are not homogeneous, and ability is one part of it.

I’d back Ross Lyon, our assistant coaches, our development coaches. and our culture to match anything North can produce.

I thought you were an Andrew Tate gym bro type. Arie sounds like your boy. Real sleep with your girlfriend and steal your x box type operator.
For the record and i know this as 1000% fact.

Dusty in his richmond 3 peat pomp was sleeping with a listed players GF and when he got delisted, she dumped that player. Dusty recorded her in a 3 some with him and another bird and sent round to all the playing group.

My source is the other bird in the 3 some.

Murphy or Simpson for me. Hopefully we find a way into the late 30's, too many good players still on the table.
Whoever said this draft wasn’t deep. A bit of talent on the board left still and there will be some diamonds in the rough in the 30s.

I would love Simpson, but the club might be thinking a key back for more of a positional need. Either of those two sounds good.

I do believe recruiters and coaches are influenced by trends and recent events. Collard tested off the charts in the areas you’d want in a small forward and yes he looks exciting despite a quiet championship. I don’t see the need at present and small forwards aren’t that hard to find. I know we wanted pace and run amongst other things and clearly both these kids fit the bill. My problem is that I was really hoping we’d load up with mids, mids and more mids including some who can win the ball not just run and carry.

I’m also a big advocate for trying to build a team with as many local kids as possible, not to the exclusion of better options just if it’s a close thing retention and culture matter as well. I see some of our local boys back at the local footy, it energises the local clubs and schools and the suburbs believe it or not. I think it’s good for us on and off the field and with hawthorn stalking us on our home patch we need every advantage we can get.

If it’s any consolation I wasn’t a wrap for wang apart from his kicking and would have taken Sinn and that’s looking laughable about now so I’m hoping this turns out the same way.

Small forward arguably hardest position in that F50.

KPF you are focal point and it's all on your ability to contest a mark and kick straight essentially. Your link is as a scorer or relief.
HFF you have liberty as a mid chain link, so add aerobic capacity and ground retention as opposed to aerial from above.
Small forward, you are generally reliant on the above and you exist for momentary play instances for higher isolated impacts.

This is part of why a guy like Butler got shunted around at the Tigers before landing at us, as he is smart enough, he is there, but he has obvious limitation where a stiff breeze happens and he blows over, aka, bigger body yeets him to the stands or he straight gets lifted as slight body structure. So essentially, guy like Butler loses some pace he is straight cactus as he is then impacting SFA as bodied off the line and outta that contest.

Hardest position in that F50 by a mile. Might not be hard to identify a small forward, but to find a competent one is hard to nail down as way speculative.

hahaahaha done it again gringo. ****in what a post. :tearsofjoy:

"steal your x box" hahahaha

Dusty in his richmond 3 peat pomp was sleeping with a listed players GF and when he got delisted, she dumped that player. Dusty recorded her in a 3 some with him and another bird and sent round to all the playing group.

bird_man never took you for a dusty fan

Got the vid? 😎

Top National Draft Combine Results​

20m sprint
1st: Aiden O'Driscoll - 2.871 seconds
2nd: Will Graham - 2.915
3rd: Caleb Windsor - 2.916
4th: Lance Collard - 2.923
5th: Kane McAuliffe - 2.930
6th: Zane Zakostelsky - 2.954
7th: Phoenix Gothard - 2.963
8th: Taylor Goad - 2.965
9th: Eion McElholm - 2.993