List Mgmt. 2023 Draft Thread - Part I

I don't follow the young guys like some on here so this is just going off the recent articles and highlights but gee this guy oozes confidence. Looks like a Steven May-James Sicily clone. Would love him in our team. Do we know if our club is interested in this guy?
He’s a distributor in a slim KPDs body. He is NOT a KPD.

Think Goddard/Gilbert, not May. Or Sicily without the genuine defensive stopper role.

Whoever likened him to a tall Daniel Rich was bang on the money.

doesnt hit the scoreboard enough and doesnt get enough of it to be in that role

he's defensive fwd. surely we arent in the draft to try and find those...
The kid was mostly playing senior footy, so think you are being harsh suggesting he doesn't find the footy enough.

NWM was getting the ball as much as Tholstrup playing senior state league footy.

The reported issue with Lorenz is a lack of pace, I think we are looking to bring in speed.

He'd be replacement for Steele or Crouch types and would hopefully be stepping up as they are stepping out. I'm talking with a late pick. Not a premium one. George Stephens would be handy too but don't think we will have a pick in his range.

The kid was mostly playing senior footy, so think you are being harsh suggesting he doesn't find the footy enough.

NWM was getting the ball as much as Tholstrup playing senior state league footy.
Depending on who’s left on the draft board, it may come down to us picking Tholstrup or Hardeman with our first pick.
Ones a half back flanker, the other a forward/ mid…I think we’d go Tholstrup!

Depending on who’s left on the draft board, it may come down to us picking Tholstrup or Hardeman with our first pick.

I've gone off both a bit. Charlie Edwards looks blue chip. If Leake drifts he looks like he has the attitude and skills to be a gun. Windsor and Wilson look good too. Tholstrup looks the pick of the two you mentioned too.

Yeah, I’m also a Charlie Edwards fan..reckon we’d need to nab him with our first pick.
Hopefully he impressed our blokes when interviewed on Thursday.

Yeah, I’m also a Charlie Edwards fan..reckon we’d need to nab him with our first pick.
Hopefully he impressed our blokes when interviewed on Thursday.
I always like the guys who trend well, particularly later in the season, because trajectory is important.
Edwards fits that category.

Do you have some inside knowledge? I also would prefer Tholstrup over Hardeman, although Hardeman has a deadly left peg I dont see another HBF as a list need. Tholstrup is the powerful, composed, strong marking, goal kicking midfielder/forward who has played half the season at state league. If we do select a WA lad with our first pick I would like to see us take another at the draft, like Tholstrup and his good mate Clay Hall. Similarly as we have done with the SA lads it would make the transition to Melbourne life easier and hopefully hang onto those kids, by creating a little cluster of WA lads.

I just watched a Youtube interview with Tholstrup & Hall both are WA country lads so they had to leave home for footy in any event. Both spoke really well and seem well grounded great young men, having shared accomodation together throughout the year.

If we were to go with local kids DeMattia or Charlie Edwards would be my choice/s. Both are balanced midfielders, with speed and ability to get out of traffic. If we are looking for another HBF there will be others available later in the draft eg Roberts, Hastie, Jiath or Wilson.

Another midfielder Kaine McAuliffe SA who should be a player of interest has some natural midfield traits. He had a restricted early season and championships due to carrying OP a groin injury, but had an good end to the season and combine results. He will most likely slide to around our pick #40 or later, but is much better than that IMO and could be the steal of the draft.

Ps. Mike have you heard what the plan is with DMac? The smart play would be to ask him to do a preseason before offering him another contract. If he breaks down again we look else where, with other possible train on options.

Hardeman played inside mid at colts level just played off the half back for WA and played well with his run and carry. Tholstrupt hasn’t played much mid at all only as a half forward competitor. Hardeman has some good upside

Do you have some inside knowledge? I would prefer Tholstrup over Hardeman, although Hardeman has a deadly left peg I dont see another HBF as a list need. Tholstrup is the powerful marking goal kicking midfielder/forward who has played half the season at state league. If we do select a WA lad with our first pick I would like to see us take another at the draft, like Tholstrup and his good mate Clay Hall. Similarly as we have done with the SA lads it would make the transition to Melbourne life easier and hopefully hang onto those kids, by creating a little cluster of WA lads.

If we were to go with local kids DeMattia or Charlie Edwards would be my choice/s. Both are balanced midfielders, with speed and ability to get out of traffic.

If we are looking for another HBF there will be other available later in the draft.
No inside knowledge…did speak to Chris Toce but specifically about Charlie Edwards, as myself and a good friend of mine are fans of Charlie

Hardeman played inside mid at colts level just played off the half back for WA and played well with his run and carry. Tholstrupt hasn’t played much mid at all only as a half forward competitor. Hardeman has some good upside

All his Colts highlights have him playing as a half back flanker and I cant find any write ups where he was listed as a possible midfielder? Tholstrup was playing state league as a half forward, he played a number of minutes in the midfield during the championships, but WA had no forward line so they had to leave him there as their main target. In any event a quick hard two way runner and tackler like Tholstrup would be preferable to Hardeman in my view. People get stary eyed re Hardeman because he is a Saints supporter, I dont see his point of difference at the next level.

For those who were screaming to get De Goey across last year, Tholstrup is a similiar player but without the baggage.

He'd be replacement for Steele or Crouch types and would hopefully be stepping up as they are stepping out. I'm talking with a late pick. Not a premium one. George Stephens would be handy too but don't think we will have a pick in his range.
There's probably some substantial rejumbling of picks gonna happen if WC trade p1 and plenty of clubs might want to strengthen their hand for next year.
I don't think the current order will persist at all.

I'd honestly think if it came to that we'd be smarter to sell that or those picks to a WA club.
Freo have 3x future 1st round picks IIRC.
WC have potentially handy picks too.

If we could snag a future 1st and 2nd whilst getting 3 picks between say 30 and 45 this year, l would call that a very good outcome.
The fact the club has retained Jones, Clark, Dmac and are looking at Mannagh says they're biding their time.

I'd honestly think if it came to that we'd be smarter to sell that or those picks to a WA club.

If we could snag a future 1st and 2nd whilst getting 3 picks between say 30 and 45 this year, l would call that a very good outcome.
The fact the club has retained Jones, Clark, Dmac and are looking at Mannagh says they're biding their time.
Looking at Mannagh are they? First I've heard of it

Doesn’t play as a defensive forward though. Plays as a high forward as well as having time in mid and back. One of not many to play well against the men, so I think that’s what people will be looking at - one of those guys that can make the leap easily enough.
Yeh that's not true based on what I watched this year

Compare his stats to say Zac fisher who played against men

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yeh sure if you look at it on face value and don't look at it further.

They're two very different players.

Nas had qualities that meant he could transition to AFL footy. For example his ball use and athleticism. He was an outside player.

Tholstrop doesn't have these qualities. His ball use isn't that great. He's not a silky outside type. He doesn't hit the score board so he doesn't have an offensive side to his game. He's not a bull ball winner.

He knows how to attack the man though hence his role at subi in the fwd line providing defensive pressure. Especially since they lost Robert to NM.

Subi run a lot of guys through that midfield. They're not scared about rotating people through the various lines. He doesn't look like he knows how to do that inside mid role. Reminds me a bit of Clark who didn't get drafted albeit not as bad.

I just don't see how he transitions to AFL and I especially don't see how it ends up in the midfield which is what we need.

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Picks between 35 and 40 are nearly useless. Plenty have this draft at not going far past 40. You'd be really taking on some players unlikely to make the grade at AFL level so tying up spots that will be like Allison where he's not likely to make it. At that point you'd maybe make one selection of a drifter and use the rest of the spots in the PSD and midseason drafts where you don't have to make long term commitments. Maybe just top with VFL and guys like Matho.

I reckon there is some talent there at our first 2 picks but gets pretty speculative after that.

Was mentioned that Hardeman could be a winger, booming left peg into the forward line would be nice.

We should be hoping a Leake, Windor or Wilson slip thought to us.

Out of the likely types to be available I’d like two of Edwards, Throlsop, Collard, Murphy, Moir.

Later on McAuliffe, O’Leary, Nyko or the key forward who kicked 19 in a school game (His name alludes me at the moment).

Including Tholstrup all those 6, could be off the board before our 1st pick. Then what?
According to all mock drafts 2 of those should be available with tholstrup if not then it's gothard, collard, Murphy, hardeman, etc but would be shocked if 2 of leake, Wilson, Windsor, demattia, Edwards, tholstrup weren't available

List Mgmt. 2023 Draft Thread - Part I