Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

Great and good idea to wait and see what happens.

Not sure how old you are but I’m 48yo. Started barracking for the Dees when I was about 10yo. Waited 36 years to see us win a flag. Have endured some of the most horrendous eras of MFC failure imaginable.

That kind of wait and experience of the doldrums brings perspective and patience. I get the feeling these are two qualities you are, to some extent, lacking in.
When you're on a ship steering towards an iceberg you don't look at the original course plan mapped out at the start and say oh well it was fine then it's still fine now, you seen what's inevitable and you course correct.

Certainly, if there was an iceberg coming you’d chart a new course. But I don’t see one in my telescope.

Agree with the principle though of always being prepared to adjust plans and alter course as required.

Certainly, if there was an iceberg coming you’d chart a new course. But I don’t see one in my telescope.

Agree with principle though of always being prepared to adjust plans and alter course as required.
I think with May, Melk and Gawn heading very quickly towards the end and Brayshaws concussion I definitely see an iceberg coming. We aren't a list on the rise like GWS at best we are a list that's stagnant

Not that quickly.

Two years then yes an iceberg will likely begin to appear on the horizon. That’s the cyclical nature of this competition, like it or not. Geelong are the exception to this rule but there have been unique reasons for that.

We can win another one with this special group. We probably won’t win three or four like the Tigers and Hawks did but two is very possible. I think we’ll either do it or come agonisingly close. We’ll make another GF at least in 2024, 2025 or 2026 at a stretch.

That I would bet on.

Not that quickly.

Two years then yes an iceberg will likely begin to appear on the horizon. That’s the cyclical nature of this competition, like it or not. Geelong are the exception to this rule but there have been unique reasons for that.

We can win another one with this special group. We probably won’t win three or four like the Tigers and Hawks did but two is very possible. I think we’ll either do it or come agonisingly close. We’ll make another GF at least in 2024, 2025 or 2026 at a stretch.

That I would bet on.
That's where I completely disagree with you. It's not a special group.
We are like the dogs of 2016. Hot for one September but just a good side the rest

That's where I completely disagree with you. It's not a special group.
We are like the dogs of 2016. Hot for one September but just a good side the rest

That’s not correct. In 2021 we finished the h/a season on top of the ladder. We were the best side in the competition, for the year and in the finals. Clear and away the undisputed no.1 team in it.

Dogs have never been in that position. Since 2016 they haven’t even been able to break into the top four. Nothing like us at all.

That’s not correct. In 2021 we finished the h/a season on top of the ladder. We were the best side in the competition, for the year and in the finals. Clear and away the undisputed no.1 team in it.

Dogs have never been in that position. Since 2016 they haven’t even been able to break into the top four. Nothing like us at all.

We haven't finished top 4 either apart from a flag year mate.

We were good enough in 2022 (2nd) and 2023 (4th) to get the double chance. That’s what you’ve got to do.

Yes we failed to capitalise both years. It’s a bummer. Narrow defeats are tough to stomach.

You need a lot of things to go right.

It’s one indicator. Pies are favourites, Lions second … do you scoff at those betting market odds too?
Honestly, you gotta stop replying to the woe is me crowd mate. Well done for trying to bring positivity in here, because the wrist slitting is getting beyond a joke.

Lions and Pies were 2 of the top 4 teams in betting markets at the start of the year. Both made the GF. Betting markets are absolutely a fair indication of where teams are at. Usually a surprise or two a season, but people arguing that the betting market isn't a fair indication of where teams are at are completely delusional and just looking for an argument mate. 2 of the top 4 sides according to the betting market made it to the GF this season. We're top 4 in the betting market for a reason. We're in the mix. Little luck, some savvy drafting and recruiting and we're a big chance. Petty plays against Pies, we're into a prelim with several.things during the season against us. Hang in there mate..

Genuine question - Doesn't the poster who's filling up this thread with 90% of the posts over the last few pages about things irrelevant to draft/trade/FA have their own dedicated thread about such things already? Could they just post there so the rest of us can occasionally read about trades and stuff here?

Bali Demon doesnt have his own thread as far as im aware :moustache:
Imagine if there was a little button you could press that rhymes with whore that means you can bloke alllll the opinions that are negative with the club. Suggest some blokes use it if they can't hack it. Me an Bali aren't agreeing but thats what this ****ing place is for.

Also, as I said, if Selwyn mismanaged the injury he'd be out the door, there is no way a fitness boss survives gross mismanagement of a star. I dont believe a word of that.

If the report was about our medical staff sending him back out there against Port with the hamstring injury and Oliver was pissed about that id be far more likely to believe it.

Not sure on this.

There is a lot of pseudo-science when it comes to exercise science and a lot of contradictory principles / concepts.

I wouldn't think he would have done that knowing what the injury was, but he may well have done that if some of the testing came back inconclusive or medical / physio staff misdiagnosed.

I don't know all the specifics or if it is a 100% evidence based approach, but believe there are some new thoughts around pushing the movement of an injured area very quickly into the recovery process.

If only they'd ******* play Naughton down back reckon they'd make top 4 again

Coffield was a very good intercept defender in under 18's , hes not KPD but can help out their defense for sure if he can stay healthy.

Honestly I'm thinking one intercept defender is an out dated model, I reckon even 3 might be the go now. There's so little one on one footy you only need one stopper and then a bunch of blokes who can mark when the kicks launched in. We only really have Lever so it's too easy to stop.

Not sure on this.

There is a lot of pseudo-science when it comes to exercise science and a lot of contradictory principles / concepts.

I wouldn't think he would have done that knowing what the injury was, but he may well have done that if some of the testing came back inconclusive or medical / physio staff misdiagnosed.

I don't know all the specifics or if it is a 100% evidence based approach, but believe there are some new thoughts around pushing the movement of an injured area very quickly into the recovery process.

Or maybe the guy who told the medical team he was alright against Port when he had done his hammy said he was good to go when he wasn't at all.

Hence the talk about some respect for others and honesty in the club statement.

Agree.

Which is why we need to nail our good draft hand this year.

Combine on today, will be very interested in how George Stevens tests, coming off an ACL, played VFL footy with Geelong (29 touches v Pies in R21), he looks to be a very smart / tough player who will be available late first/early second round.

Will be interesting to see his athletic profile today.

Nick Watson's athletic profile will be very interesting as well.

Agree.

Which is why we need to nail our good draft hand this year.

Combine on today, will be very interested in how George Stevens tests, coming off an ACL, played VFL footy with Geelong (29 touches v Pies in R21), he looks to be a very smart / tough player who will be available late first/early second round.

Will be interesting to see his athletic profile today.

Nick Watson's athletic profile will be very interesting as well.
I don't see it with our draft hand. Think the players we need are gonna be gone by our picks and though we might get good players they won't make a tangible difference next year.

Essendon: "we arent looking for quick fixes"

Also Essendon: "We will take literally anyone"

Gresham is an inconsistent scatter gun, perfect for them, Stringer coming to end, lets replace him with mini Stringer

I don't see it with our draft hand. Think the players we need are gonna be gone by our picks and though we might get good players they won't make a tangible difference next year.

I guess two separate things mate.

We need to nail the picks to set us up for some sustained competitiveness, which I think is pretty important.

But for next year, we really need to keep Oliver and get in a key position forward.

Whatever we think about Petty up forward, he is a tonne better than Tommo down back.