Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

I've always admired Jack Silvagni as a player. Always gives his all and is handy as a third tall forward.

As an unrestricted free agent I'd be keen on him.

Still just 25 and might not cost the earth.

No chance he is bog average

I've always admired Jack Silvagni as a player. Always gives his all and is handy as a third tall forward.

Do we need a third tall forward though? I feel like all our forwards are either 2nd or 3rd talls. Reckon we need a 1st tbh.

(Mature 1st tall forward), JVR, Fritsch - That's my ideal forward setup.

No chance he is bog average

Watch Carlton start playing well, and all their 'bog average' players start looking good.

I don't mind Silvagni. Decent one on one player wouldn't mind a look at him forward for us.

Big fan. I'm in.

Do we need a third tall forward though? I feel like all our forwards are either 2nd or 3rd talls. Reckon we need a 1st tbh.

(Mature 1st tall forward), JVR, Fritsch - That's my ideal forward setup.

Fair call and I guess a move for him might depend on whether BBB, T Mac and Melk go around again (I understand the first two are contracted but who knows if they go on).

Id go for him on the basic that Brown and Tmac go.

Yeah, I'm not against the idea at all, just reckon it might be hard to sell him on moving if he's going to have the same chance of playing senior games with us as he has at Carlton. I'd see him basically being the new Melksham. Gut feel is BBB might hang them up given his physical struggles, reckon old mate TMac goes around again though knowing what he seems like.

From a whole list perspective I could see it work if we've got a mature key forward who has TMac as primary backup, JVR with Jefferson as backup and then Fritsch with Silvagni as backup (obviously pending Melksham and Brown retiring).

hope we target talls. Take Curtain at 5 and Caddy at 13 (trade up into this pick).

Setup our bookends for 12 years

Use our later picks on mids.

hope we target talls. Take Curtain at 5 and Caddy at 13 (trade up into this pick).

Why take a third key forward in as many years?

Odds are all 3 will never be fit, healthy and firing at the same time and if they are we can just run one through the ruck like Carlton does with TDK when Curnow and McKay are up front or play one up the ground like Geelong do with Cameron/Hawkins/Rohan.

You would almost have one on the bench at all times with 3 in the squad but it can work.

Odds are all 3 will never be fit, healthy and firing at the same time and if they are we can just run one through the ruck like Carlton does with TDK when Curnow and McKay are up front or play one up the ground like Geelong do with Cameron/Hawkins/Rohan.
That also assumes one will be competent in the ruck or as mobile as Cameron/Rohan.
I'd agree with others to target a good kid with our first pick. A bit of outside speed and class would be great. Also as much as I think he's a spud Silvagni as a cheap cover option would be ok. We could probably just keep Schache though (and actually play him) to fill the same hole assuming at least two of BBB/TMc/Melk go this season.

That also assumes one will be competent in the ruck or as mobile as Cameron/Rohan.
I'd agree with others to target a good kid with our first pick. A bit of outside speed and class would be great. Also as much as I think he's a spud Silvagni as a cheap cover option would be ok. We could probably just keep Schache though (and actually play him) to fill the same hole assuming at least two of BBB/TMc/Melk go this season.
JvR goes alright around the ground.

Agree on this. IMO we need a quality 25-29 year old key forward who can shoulder the load the next couple of years as JVR and Jeffo develop. Having 3 key forward kids just means they're all getting beat up every week and have no one to teach them.

Is Caddy a key forward at AFL level?

I've seen write-ups that he can play as a mid.

I gave his U18 championships a watch he was playing as a leading forward and looked good - just like everyone does on their highlight reel. But he's only 191/2 cm tall.

If he can play mid and is lacking true AFL level height for a key forward, is he more of a Stringer type at AFL level?

Curnow is one who had similar write-ups pre-draft and he's ended up very good as an AFL key forward at 'only' 194cm I guess.

Agree on this. IMO we need a quality 25-29 year old key forward who can shoulder the load the next couple of years as JVR and Jeffo develop. Having 3 key forward kids just means they're all getting beat up every week and have no one to teach them.

Like Schache? Because we arnt going to get much better.

Must have missed where I said "quality" ;)

We don't need an outright gun, but I reckon we need someone who is good enough that they would be our number 1 key forward.

Bolded is pretty cool IMO.

I lived in a very not-multicultural area when I grew up, and identified as Australian because it's all I knew: my parents came here from SE Asia and tried to adopt Australian culture- food, sports etc. but as I get older, preserving and taking an interest in my heritage and family's culture is a bit more important.

I don't identify as Australian anymore, I don't even know what Australian culture is. Cricket sucks, not so into binge-drinking, things like "fair shake of the sauce bottle" and "mateship" are just empty platitudes to me.

Anyway, bit off-topic.
People can identify however they want. I can see it from both sides, for me my heritage is irrelevant but I can understand that a kid that a kid with both parents born overseas from non English speaking countries can't connect with Australia. Having said that what is 'traditional Australian' to me isn't what it was, to me I don't see why anyone couldn't refer to themselves as Australian regardless of background. Anyway it's a deeper conversation and this is a draft thread on a football forum. Happy to have a 'my dinner with Andre style' conversation we with you any time with you Toump outside of big footy.

You'd swear you're watching Zach Merrett when you see McKercher play. Moves so similarly

Interesting article. They rate us, along with North Melbourne, as the two clubs in strongest position to trade with West Coast for Harley Reid/Pick 1 (should we wish to go down that path).

North committing absolute daylight robbery though if they receive first round compensation for Ben McKay, which would effectively mean they receive pick 3 for him. He’s barely worth a second rounder let alone a pick that high.