Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

Im happy no matter what we do honestly, hardly anyone thought wed be in a position to get pick 1 last offseason so its all gravy. If JT believes hes that good that we should sell the farm its hard to argue with the great man. I trust his judgement.
Oh yeah our strikerate in first round picks is awesome and we always go for guys we rate even if it means paying a bit overs. Better to actually get your man than settle for guys you don't rate just because it's better value. While I'm personally not yet sold on the idea I definitely back our guys to do the best thing for the club.

ill back in our recruiter dude, happy with whatever. If we don't end up with Reid, Duursma kind of has Bont vibes from his highlights?

He's a big boy already, reckon he can be a monster. Took a beautiful pack mark for Casey on the weekend in the F50.

Then the question is is Reid worth that much more than him. Like is it a Petracca to Salem type difference

I am not sold on Reid; I am sure he will be a fine player, I just don't think he's worth the asking price.

Disclaimer: I don't watch junior footy, but by all reports the gap between him and other players in the draft pool closed during the carnival. For the amount of draft capital he would cost I'd be expecting a player that is top 10 in the league.

you think he'll settle as a tall mid? Or more a forward?
Think he can play either no worries. Hes got he tools to be a permanent forward if thats what you want to do with him.

Just looked up his draft profile, says 79k, amazed by that, definitely looks bigger, just looks like a guy who will pack on muscle no worries with a weight program, maybe he has already since he weighed in at 79kg before the season started.

I am not sold on Reid; I am sure he will be a fine player, I just don't think he's worth the asking price.

Disclaimer: I don't watch junior footy, but by all reports the gap between him and other players in the draft pool closed during the carnival. For the amount of draft capital he would cost I'd be expecting a player that is top 10 in the league.
That's what we'd be trading for if we did it. We aren't just going for the #1 pick for the sake of it

Then the question is is Reid worth that much more than him. Like is it a Petracca to Salem type difference

as ive said, im a massive Reid fan but I also said its too expensive for me if its 3 first round picks. Will leave it up to JT and be happy no matter the outcome. Not going to spend my time stressing about if we are giving up too much if we do it when JT knows far more than me.

Yeah I think 4 and 5 and a later pick or 4 our first and maybe next year's first as much as I would pay. If that's not enough then so be it

My only problem with the trade is no matter how good Reid can be, I don't think our list has enough young depth to give up 3 very good young players for 1. Unless we really don't rate the talent later

Countering this, you've always said its your guns that win you flags. Far easier to fill depth than find A graders

Which I'd stand by depending on the pics and players available. If we give up a shot at Duursma, the best key back in the draft and another gun young mid at say 15 it's just a big risk for me.

That's what we'd be trading for if we did it. We aren't just going for the #1 pick for the sake of it

He hardly dominated the junior comp, so I doubt he'll stroll in and be a top 10 player in 2024.

His best performance was getting a couple of joe the goose goals.

Then you need to look at the balance of the rest of the list. Reid would make Laurie superfluous and I doubt we'll get much value trying to palm him off to another club.

He hardly dominated the junior comp, so I doubt he'll stroll in and be a top 10 player in 2024.

His best performance was getting a couple of joe the goose goals.

Then you need to look at the balance of the rest of the list. Reid would make Laurie superfluous and I doubt we'll get much value trying to palm him off to another club.
Hold on who said 2024? No one needs to dominate their first season to justify a pick

No idea what Laurie has to do with it

Hold on who said 2024? No one needs to dominate their first season to justify a pick

No idea what Laurie has to do with it

He doesn't have to justify that to be pick 1. But he needs to justify it if a club is paying a draft haul that is commensurate (or greater) than what the Weagles got for Judd.

If the asking price is three FRP's then my expectation is to get an actual young gun that is proven at AFL level, like a Naicos or Butters.

But I guess Melbourne supporters always get sucked in by whoever the next great white hope is. See Watts. Scully. Hogan...

I only brought up Laurie to highlight list balance. If we get Reid then we have a major logjam of 'sometimes forward - sometimes mid' players with Trac, Pickett (and hopefully Bowey soon!). Need to be able to flip Laurie into something that can improve other areas of the ground (notwithstanding that I don't think he can hack it at AFL level anyway).

But I guess Melbourne supporters always get sucked in by whoever the next great white hope is. See Watts. Scully. Hogan...

Comparing our recruiting under Prendergast to what its been under JT is insulting. Stop worrying. We've got a guy who knows what hes doing.

He doesn't have to justify that to be pick 1. But he needs to justify it if a club is paying a draft haul that is commensurate (or greater) than what the Weagles got for Judd.

If the asking price is three FRP's then my expectation is to get an actual young gun that is proven at AFL level, like a Naicos or Butters.

I only brought up Laurie to highlight list balance. If we get Reid then we have a major logjam of 'sometimes forward - sometimes mid' players with Trac, Pickett (and hopefully Bowey soon!). Need to be able to flip Laurie into something that can improve other areas of the ground (notwithstanding that I don't think he can hack it at AFL level anyway).
Lol, was gonna write a big reply to this and then saw you were complaining we have too many Pickett/Trac type players.

Also what's the big stress about if we can trade Laurie or not lol, do you honestly expect every recruiter to hit on picks at ~20? If so **** me. He got Bowey and JVR there, hitting on 2 out of 3 hard like he has is amazing work.

Also what's the big stress about if we can trade Laurie or not lol, do you honestly expect every recruiter to hit on picks at ~20? If so * me. He got Bowey and JVR there, hitting on 2 out of 3 hard like the has is amazing work.
dont get Reid because we already have Laurie is certainly a take.

Man this thread got real lively after a journo predicts we get pick one. I think we might need to see a bit more evidence here before getting too excited.
Alot of journos have said we are in the mix for pick 1 there's no doubt about that fact. WCs asking price is gonna be the determining factor.

Comparing our recruiting under Prendergast to what its been under JT is insulting. Stop worrying. We've got a guy who knows what hes doing.

melbourne football club demons GIF by Melbournefc