Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

No. I'm just not susceptible to marketing. The guy maximised his time with the clear best team in a very weak era. It's commendable but not compelling.

Weak era 😅

Space Jam 1 ✅

Space Jam 2 = new age soy boy Latte sipping tik tok flogging garbage

MJ > LBJ
Haven't watched the second but the first was only mitigated by Bill Murray being the actual GOAT. I'm assuming he's not in the second.

You're showing your arse here. It's by any measure the worst time outside of the early days/ABA split.

Different game, inflated stats coz people shoot the three more/ spread the floor today. Far easier to fill the box score.

It's not then/now. It's was a shit era. Historic low amount of stars in the league, **** all internationals, huge expansion without the talent to fill the gaps. After Jordan was drafted and until he retired there was basically the same bunch of guys for ages without replacement. The 92 dream team was great as a holdover including the old 80s guys. It was Jordan and a bunch of old front court guys thereafter. He aged out the 80s guys and that was about it. I grew up with that era but it's not hard to see past. I'm not a Lebron guy either, that's just you two being predicable reactionaries.

yep its crazy, our forward line looks packed now with JVR, Petty, Fritta, Trac and Jefferson but now we desperately need another KPD (Probably need another 2) and another couple of mids.
Yeah, you're right. Any idea what this Curtain guy is like? Supposedly WCE want him bad. By all reports going to be a ripper KPD.

I'd happily sell the farm if it means it gets us another Petracca/Martin type.
Sure. But if we keep the pick and draft a different high-level mid with better kicking skills (Duursma) and another very high pick (via trading up for Gold Coast's five), it could be an even better option.

Food for thought at least

Sure. But if we keep the pick and draft a different high-level mid with better kicking skills (Duursma) and another very high pick (via trading up for Gold Coast's five), it could be an even better option.

Food for thought at least
Either way we're in a good position. I'd love Harley on the list, but I'd love Duursma and Curtain or Watson on our list too. I'm leaning towards keeping the picks and trying to upgrade, as we have 4 or 5 retiring or winding down next year or two.

Petraccas bad kicking is completely irrelevant forward now, imagine the damage 2 of them could do? Since we put him forward I don't remember complaining about his kicking at all because he doesn't have to hit perfect kicks to find targets in a crowded 50.
Absolutely, the prospect of them splitting mid/forward time is enticing. I just wonder if we'd be better placed adding some class (in terms of kicking) to our midfield mix, as it's what we've lacked for a while. Getting another high pick into the club along with pick ~4 is also pretty appealing considering our youth stocks could do with a bit of a boost.

Either way, I don't think trading up or holding onto picks would be a bad move. Good position to be in

Absolutely, the prospect of them splitting mid/forward time is enticing. I just wonder if we'd be better placed adding some class (in terms of kicking) to our midfield mix, as it's what we've lacked for a while. Getting another high pick into the club along with pick ~4 is also pretty appealing considering our youth stocks could do with a bit of a boost.

Either way, I don't think trading up or holding onto picks would be a bad move. Good position to be in
Feels like one we cant **** up, don't think either is a bad option. Only shit thing is our pick 4 becoming 7 after north get compo and a priority pick

I don't think they are getting a priority pick, just the high compo instead.
High compo and Sanders out of the NGA is heaps. Funny North supporters reckon they should get more and those things shouldn't be considered as part of the AFL assistance.

Two top 5-8 picks >>>>>> pick 1 every single time.

Disagree. Depends on your team make up and who is available, not every draft class is the same in terms of talent.

Yep. The difference between Petracca and Brayshaw just in the same draft would have been worth it alone. Especially when the side using pick 1 is a top 4 side and not a basket case

Oh I agree it is heaps. They certainly don't need any more, they have a crazy amount of high draft picks already on their list.
They need to do what Melbourne did.

They have the young talent for sure, albeit a bit unbalanced with mostly mids and flankers. They should be spending their natural draft picks drafting taller high end talent to balance the young talent on the list better.

They’ve already done the Roos move by getting Clarkson which takes away from the “Is it the coach or the players?” scrutiny. The Hawthorn racism saga derailed that a bit.

They got Logue and to a lesser degree Tucker and Shiels. Like Melbourne got Vince, Cross, Lewis, Melk and Hibberd types.

If they need assistance it’s in the form of second round level picks to trade for more Logue/Vince style players so their onfield competitiveness improves immediately.

Then they can can afford to give their young talent more time to develop properly in the VFL.

Yep. The difference between Petracca and Brayshaw just in the same draft would have been worth it alone. Especially when the side using pick 1 is a top 4 side and not a basket case

Not quite the same coz Tyson was drafted two years earlier at number 3 but I can guarantee the Giants don't regret trading Tyson and Salem for Kelly (pick 2)

Plus as critical as I've been of Taylor, when he goes after someone in the draft or trade and goes hard it's worked out well for us even if we slightly overpaid.

Yep, I'll take the draft expertise of JT over anyone on BF. Unlike me to have zero opinion on what we should do but I trust him that much and am happy to roll with whatever he wants to do.

Two top 5-8 picks >>>>>> pick 1 every single time.

Most times maybe but Harley Reid has been assessed as the best 18yo draft watchers have ever seen. Even if that’s over-exaggerated it’s probably still worth the punt. The chance at getting a generational player through the door is worth more than than two decent quality players. However, there is a limit to what you’d pay. Two top 5-8 picks would be maximum.

I can see us getting the pints that GC need and trading for their pick 5.

With picks 4 and 5 I would be very pleased if we looked at Sanders and Watson.

I’d be equally pleased if we moved them on to WCE for pick 1.

Will we even have the draft capital to get pick 1?

We are going to end up potentially with pick 4 & pick 15-18

Chuck in next years first and you would expect/hope that to sit at 15+

If I'm West Coast and this kid is as good as reported I'm not sure I would flip pick 1 for pick 4, and two in the 15+ range

See above your post, as D16 says, GC need points so will trade pick 5

It would be contigent on us trading up for GC's #5, I imagine (they need the points).