Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

Yep and there's every chance we trade it even if it is 4 or 5 or 6

Won't use any more than 3 picks, 4 at the absolute max this year, with the focus being on the top 20 apparently. We're already in an ok position in that context, but the options with future picks, trades and points deals leave us in a fantastic position to have the two high picks for Duursma and Watson and then another pick in the top 20 for a key position prospect, which would be an unreal result IMO.

We're still getting a much better pick than we first expected. Doesn't matter too much if it's 4 or 5 or 6 imo

I think it does matter. Jackson was pick 3 in his draft and has showed all the signs of being worthy of such a high pick.

We deserve to be compensated commensurately for the loss of a long term star player.

I think it does matter. Jackson was pick 3 in his draft and has showed all the signs of being worthy of such a high pick.

We deserve to be compensated commensurately for the loss of a long term star player.

We have been very well compensated for Jackson, with two first rounders (including one early one this year, be it 4,5,6) and another second rounder 🤷‍♂️

Won't use any more than 3 picks, 4 at the absolute max this year, with the focus being on the top 20 apparently. We're already in an ok position in that context, but the options with future picks, trades and points deals leave us in a fantastic position to have the two high picks for Duursma and Watson and then another pick in the top 20 for a key position prospect, which would be an unreal result IMO.

Andy Moniz-Wakefield (R)
Deakyn Smith (R)
Jake Melksham
James Jordon
Kye Turner (R)
Luke Dunstan
Michael Hibberd
Taj Woewodin

This is the current list.

Presumably Woewodin is the only one kept, with Hibberd retiring given he's not starting anymore. Melksham 50/50, Jordon surely going elsewhere.

Andy Moniz-Wakefield (R)
Deakyn Smith (R)
Jake Melksham
James Jordon
Kye Turner (R)
Luke Dunstan
Michael Hibberd
Taj Woewodin

This is the current list.

Presumably Woewodin is the only one kept, with Hibberd retiring given he's not starting anymore. Melksham 50/50, Jordon surely going elsewhere.

There's more to it than just the draft though, and I don't agree with you that all those players bar Woewodin are gone.

Even if they are, that's still only 4 list slots.

So we're looking all good for just using 3 picks then?
Probably. Believe it or not, I wasn't disagreeing with you. I was building on your post and discussing it further.

This draft only runs to about pick 50 they reckon.

Top 7 or so picks are a level above the next tier too.

So hopefully we still get a deal done with GC and end up with picks 4 and 5 no matter whether they finish below Freo or not.

Probably. Believe it or not, I wasn't disagreeing with you. I was building on your post and discussing it further.
Haha yeah I think I automatically thought you were arguing because BigFooty.

Very real chance now Freo jump Richmond leaving us with pick 6 before McKay compo.

Also puts GWS in the box seat for Reid

Norf would have to beat Richmond, yes it happened last year but not willing to go that doomsday and say its very real.

Norf would have to beat Richmond, yes it happened last year but not willing to go that doomsday.
Or Freo beat Port and Hawks. It's unlikely but certainly possible

I've had heaps of requests for this one. Daniel Curtin in his senior WAFL debut for Claremont from last weekend.

If we missed out on Duursma I'd be more than happy with Curtin.

Yeah im a big fan, reckon he's the type of player who could contribute in year 1 also.

Like everyone listed in the top 6-7 apart from Caddy (far too inconsistent for my liking, especially his hands, drops some absolute soda's) I could get behind Watson even though I also share the same concerns everyone else does about his size. The way I look at it re; Watson is would you give up a top 5-7 pick for Tom Papley? If the projections on his talent are right I think thats pretty close to the mark.

I would, but Watson is 170, papley is 178. Like he makes papley look big atm.

I'm not gonna say def don't take him because of his height but he'd wanna have some unreal footy skills.

If we played AnB Spargo Bowey and him we'd probably have the smallest team in the league by a mile. Way too easy exploited in the air

I would, but Watson is 170, papley is 178. Like he makes papley look big atm.

I'm not gonna say def don't take him because of his height but he'd wanna have some unreal footy skills.

If we played AnB Spargo Bowey and him we'd probably have the smallest team in the league by a mile. Way too easy exploited in the air

I was also a strict no based on height before having a deeper look at him.

His play style is very Papley like despite the 8cms difference. Not your usual small forward. Good on the lead. Good in 1 on 1's.

He would be my last choice out of the top 6, just saying I wouldn't be totally upset unlike with Caddy.

It's much more fun to talk about draft picks than actual football.