Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

I reckon an O.O.C Georgiades, last seen playing SANFL and coming off an ACL would probably only be worth a mid-second on the open market if he nominates a club. 12 months ago, you're looking at a first.
He might be, but we make out like bandits if we turn Grundy into Georgiades he can still be a very very good player

Knightmare would still give us a D for our off-season.

Yeah, If the Eagles are willing to pass on Reid they would be dumb not to try and get value for him considering his profile. Just need to find a way to include North in the deal and make it worth their while.

For example
West Coast In: pick 2, Freos second/Melbourne future first. Out: pick 1
Melb In: pick 1. Out: pick 4/5, future first, Freos second
North In: pick 4/5, Freos second/Melbourne future first. Out: pick 2

Throw in a few later pick exchanges as steak knives.

Problem I see for us trying to do this deal is we're going to have to sell most of our really strong draft hand to get it, whereas North can just swap pick 2 for pick 1 and sweeten it with another good pick. WC really lose nothing swapping 1 for 2 if they're going Curtin and Roos are going for Reid.

Whereas we'll have to pay a price just to get pick 2 to give to them, and then have to do a deal for pick 1.

Looks to me like you've put together as good a proposal as we can offer but still can't see why North would go for it rather than just dealing with WC directly over swapping pick 1 for pick 2 and sweeteners.

Has there been any indication Geogiades wants to leave/come to Melbourne? Swapping him for Grundy seems too easy and good for everyone if he does.

Problem I see for us trying to do this deal is we're going to have to sell most of our really strong draft hand to get it, whereas North can just swap pick 2 for pick 1 and sweeten it with another good pick. WC really lose nothing swapping 1 for 2 if they're going Curtin and Roos are going for Reid.

Whereas we'll have to pay a price just to get pick 2 to give to them, and then have to do a deal for pick 1.

Looks to me like you've put together as good a proposal as we can offer but still can't see why North would go for it rather than just dealing with WC directly over swapping pick 1 for pick 2 and sweeteners.
Depends who North are keen on. Eagles would probably ask them for the Port pick which they may not be keen to give, especially if they're are set on other guys.

But they'd basically come out with a free late first/early second just to move behind the Hawks. So if they're confident they still get their man they might do it.

Depends who North are keen on. Eagles would probably ask them for the Port pick which they may not be keen to give, especially if they're are set on other guys.

But they'd basically come out with a free late first/early second just to move behind the Hawks. So if they're confident they still get their man they might do it.

If we're prepared to give up so much for Reid it would be amazing if he's not top of North's board. But regardless of whether he is or not, they're set to get whoever they rate highest at pick 2, unless its Curtin. And if it is Curtin, they have to get pick 1 to make sure they get him.

I'm sure we'd be mapping out options to get to 1 but it seems like a much more realistic prospect is swapping with Suns or Hawks which is likely to mean we get our pick of whoever we want apart from Reid, Curtin and Walter. Even staying where we are we're still likely to be in the mix for a McKercher as long as somebody bids on Walter before GC pick, right?

Has there been any indication Geogiades wants to leave/come to Melbourne? Swapping him for Grundy seems too easy and good for everyone if he does.

He hasn't said anything of course, but he's out of contract this year and there doesn't seem to be a lot of talk about him signing anytime soon. Not impossible he stays at Port, but it's pretty late in the year to not have re-signed.

If a ‘worst’ case scenario develops and Freo overtake a few more clubs and we end up with pick 6-8 maybe we should look at this kid O’Sullivan as the long-term May replacement. 198cm key back with aerial prowess, good disposal, averaging 25 touches/game. These types do not grow on trees.

48531C8C-5A9D-45BB-BDA1-C59DDEC4E291.jpeg

He hasn't said anything of course, but he's out of contract this year and there doesn't seem to be a lot of talk about him signing anytime soon. Not impossible he stays at Port, but it's pretty late in the year to not have re-signed.

Certainly seems likely he's on the outer and might want to be traded. Whether he's got any interest in coming to Victoria and specifically playing for us is the key. I'd take him for sure in a straight swap for Grundy or a pick around 30.

Re the two Tassie prospects around the 3-8 mark, wonder if we'd have reservations about them leaving for the Tassie team when it comes in in 27/28?

We're in more of a 'win now' mode compared to many clubs so would we outlay a top-end pick for a youngster who may need a year or two to develop, with the risk they'll want to leave soon after?

No doubt the AFL will fudge it but ATM the offers coming in for B.Mckay would trigger an end of 1st round or 2nd round compensation pick according to Jon Ralph, Jay Clark & Glenn McFarlane.

Certainly seems likely he's on the outer and might want to be traded. Whether he's got any interest in coming to Victoria and specifically playing for us is the key. I'd take him for sure in a straight swap for Grundy or a pick around 30.

All the WA newspapers are trying to claim him as a Perth boy coming home.

Re the two Tassie prospects around the 3-8 mark, wonder if we'd have reservations about them leaving for the Tassie team when it comes in in 27/28?

We're in more of a 'win now' mode compared to many clubs so would we outlay a top-end pick for a youngster who may need a year or two to develop, with the risk they'll want to leave soon after?

Definitely a consideration. You'd have to assume that McKercher and Sanders will be right at the top of the list to be signed up for Tassie in 2028.

Probably enough years before then to take McKercher this year but from 2024 onwards clubs will be very wary because we won't know what the rules will be for Tassie getting hold of Tasmanians.

The prospect of Tassie kids leaving doesn't bother me at all. Same as any interstate kid. And if they go you'd get solid compo from the AFL.

Would rather we pick an interstate kid we actually want than settle for a Victorian we're lukewarm on

The prospect of Tassie kids leaving doesn't bother me at all. Same as any interstate kid. And if they go you'd get solid compo from the AFL.

Would rather we pick an interstate kid we actually want than settle for a Victorian we're lukewarm on
Yeah sick of this soft as sooking about players leaving. Jackson helped us win a flag, ****ed off and we got a great deal for him. Same could happen again

It's a bit different situation to free agents leaving or one-off trades. They're not going to want Tassie to be another Gold Coast and the talk has been there will be more avenues for them to get mature age players in. Some of the proposals have been things like access to one player on each list, and special access to recruit Tasmanians from other lists.

There's no guarantee there will be a fair, market value compensation for Tasmanians who leave for the start of the new club like we got when we traded Jackson.