Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

Yeah it’s easy to melt about go home factor but in reality it should only matter if you’re picking between two guys and they’re equal in all other areas. Strong clubs don’t lose players. I know we lost Jackson but that was pretty unique circumstances in that he was a mummy’s boy, got a massive deal we couldn’t match and also had already won a flag so probably felt fulfilled.

Yeah it’s easy to melt about go home factor but in reality it should only matter if you’re picking between two guys and they’re equal in all other areas. Strong clubs don’t lose players.

Also, in the wash up does it really matter if a player goes home? We got a drought ending flag with Jackson playing an important role in it and now we get to replace him with at least two quality players a couple of years later.

If you baulk at taking best available because of ‘go home factor’ odds are you get a lesser player and a worse overall outcome down the track.

Has there been any indication Geogiades wants to leave/come to Melbourne? Swapping him for Grundy seems too easy and good for everyone if he does.
He is sitting on a four-year deal from Port; a lot of Clubs are looking at him.
Not sure if Grundy wants to return to his home town

He might have to if he ever wants to get on a footy field again.

Yeah it’s easy to melt about go home factor but in reality it should only matter if you’re picking between two guys and they’re equal in all other areas. Strong clubs don’t lose players.

That’s true generally but there will definitely be an added level of pressure and incentives for Tasmanians to sign up for Tassie ahead of the first season.

If you're in the market for a key defender, I reckon this kid is something special.

Agree. Watched whatever highlights videos there are of him. Super impressive. Strong in contest, one grab mark, nice skills, 198cm long-term gorilla minder. 🦍🚫 Would be more than happy if we took him.

Pretty sure Grundy's little Brother was delisted after 2 seasons at Port

Maybe the reason he didn't seek a trade to them??

There is something to work with there with O'Sullivan for sure. Decent enough disposal for a guy his size. Not overly convinced he's great one on one/a lockdown player however, could project to be more a taller Lever who intercepts and reads the play well coming off his man, will be interested in seeing how he tests on agility and the 20m sprint. If he goes well in that count me in as someone I'd be happy with in the 6-10 range.

Twomey's new Phantom Form Guide is out.

Still think we should be doing anything in our power to come away with one of Reid, Duursma and McKercher. Pretty clear-cut top three mid prospects, with each having unique weapons that could really add to our team now and in the long-term.

Watson, Curtin and Sanders in that next tier. Caddy doesn't really move me that much, both from a needs and prospects perspective.
There will be many fighting for the top three. That's why they're in the top. It would be nice to get them all at once.

There is something to work with there with O'Sullivan for sure. Decent enough disposal for a guy his size. Not overly convinced he's great one on one/a lockdown player however, could project to be more a taller Lever who intercepts and reads the play well coming off his man, will be interested in seeing how he tests on agility and the 20m sprint. If he goes well in that count me in as someone I'd be happy with in the 6-10 range.
Yeah, one on one he's not great, but overall not bad.

Pretty sure Grundy's little Brother was delisted after 2 seasons at Port

Maybe the reason he didn't seek a trade to them??
Lol an which AFL team is his brother currently playing for? Ports the only team who gave him a chance doesn't even make sense

Yeah it’s easy to melt about go home factor but in reality it should only matter if you’re picking between two guys and they’re equal in all other areas. Strong clubs don’t lose players. I know we lost Jackson but that was pretty unique circumstances in that he was a mummy’s boy, got a massive deal we couldn’t match and also had already won a flag so probably felt fulfilled.
Imagine we didn't take Rivers, JVR, McVee, AnB etc because of being scared.