Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

I'd be open to trading them for younger guys, but yeah agree with a general theme of not trading any more picks unless they're for quality young talent.

Until there is some sort of gameplan evolvement and genuine progress by the end of the season (ie: winning finals in September from the top 4) time to put a stop to it, I dont want to the list to end up being this top heavy mess full overpaid players for the next coach if he was to be sacked in 18 months time.

Until there is some sort of gameplan evolvement and genuine progress time to put a stop to it, I dont want to the list to end up being this top heavy mess full overpaid players for the next coach if he was to be sacked in 18 months time.

Yep. Honestly we need to move one of Brayshaw/Salem IMO but we'd have to take unders if we want another club to eat their contract. Would end up with us probably getting a mid 2nd for either and if we can turn the cap room into quality talent or a good young role player coming in I'd 100% take it.

I think part of the problem is both Brayshaw and Salem are very popular in the playing group.

Hogan in contrast wasn’t. Hunt was not in the same league talent wise, but was also a bit of a loner and not really in the clique from what I understand.

So while I agree Brayshaw or Salem are exactly the sorts of players we should be trying to offload at 28ish years of age with a big contract, plus younger replacement options, there would be a morale impact to also consider.

Maybe one of the “in” guys needs to be taken out the back and metaphorically shot to put the frighteners into the rest of the team?

Different scenario but the James McDonald axing had much bigger impact than missing his onfield presence. It was the right call from a footy output perspective. He was turning 34 and his calves were cactus. From what I understand it was only because he had a year off that he was able to recover enough to play that year with GWS. But it hurt the team culturally to see a popular favourite son treated that way.

Even think about Collingwood’s cap offloads. Stephenson and Treloar both trouble makers in their own way, and Grundy a bit of a different cat.

I think part of the problem is both Brayshaw and Salem are very popular in the playing group.

Hogan in contrast wasn’t. Hunt was not in the same league talent wise, but was also a bit of a loner and not really in the clique from what I understand.

So while I agree Brayshaw or Salem are exactly the sorts of players we should be trying to offload at 28ish years of age with a big contract, plus younger replacement options, there would be a morale impact to also consider.

Maybe one of the “in” guys needs to be taken out the back and metaphorically shot to put the frighteners into the rest of the team?

Different scenario but the James McDonald axing had much bigger impact than missing his onfield presence. It was the right call from a footy output perspective. He was turning 34 and his calves were cactus. From what I understand it was only because he had a year off that he was able to recover enough to play that year with GWS. But it hurt the team culturally to see a popular favourite son treated that way.

Even think about Collingwood’s cap offloads. Stephenson and Treloar both trouble makers in their own way, and Grundy a bit of a different cat.

I know what you're saying but we have to take the risk to improve the team.

Grundy was probably the most popular bloke at Collingwood and they pissed him off as soon as he became a liability. Players will get over it.

I'd package both Salem and Brayshaw together and ship them off if it meant we could get another top 10-15 pick.

Until there is some sort of gameplan evolvement and genuine progress by the end of the season (ie: winning finals in September from the top 4) time to put a stop to it, I dont want to the list to end up being this top heavy mess full overpaid players for the next coach if he was to be sacked in 18 months time.
I don't know its so much our team gamestyle perse`, as our Key players adjusting there own games, to suit the changed, more attacking game of footy now.

I've always liked Riccardi. Looks good apart from being a touch slow.
I think Chocco used to coach him in the VFL too (?) which might be helpful for the list management team.

A good age for us I reckon.
Yep, I think he coached him down at Werribee. Would definitely have a chat to him if I was working at the dees

Sam Flanders from GC? Vic boy, killing it in the VFL but can't get game time ahead of their mids. He's in the right age bracket to break out and could be the talented mid we were looking to add to the list and compliment Trac/Clarry.

Likened to Trac pre-draft with his explosiveness but Bailey Humphrey has gone ahead of him (who looks like a huge gun and who JT wanted to package up all our picks to grab last year). Not sure how good his kicking is which for me is pretty important with any mid we will bring in. Worth a look I reckon

Sam Flanders from GC? Vic boy, killing it in the VFL but can't get game time ahead of their mids. He's in the right age bracket to break out and could be the talented mid we were looking to add to the list and compliment Trac/Clarry.

Likened to Trac pre-draft with his explosiveness but Bailey Humphrey has gone ahead of him (who looks like a huge gun and who JT wanted to package up all our picks to grab last year). Not sure how good his kicking is which for me is pretty important with any mid we will bring in. Worth a look I reckon

Loved him in his draft year and as you say has been killing it in the vfl. Just looks lost at afl level though ... worth a shot if the price is cheap.

Go get Humphrey. Looks a gun. Exactly what we need. Don't let him waste away his talents up on the Gold Coast. Unless Jefferson rises from the dead like Jesus, we're gonna need a tall forward who can compete too. Our list of KPF is possibly the worst in the comp.

Great to see Kynan Brown play well last two weeks. Over 30 touches each week. Might end up costing us a 2nd round pick. Settle down son

Who could be a decent KPF target?

Serious question, why do we need one? Particularly if we plan to use Gawn/Grundy, Petty forward

If Goody wants to change shit up and use Max and Grundy off the bench as ive long suggested , fine I can see the need. But if we are going to plonk one at FF I dont see the point. This obsession with the land of the giants forward line is predictable and dumb and why we cant score against good opposition. Even if we moved Petty back JVR and Fristch can be more than enough with smaller players around them.

I think JVR can be very good. Give him some space to operate in, we might actually look half decent

100%. I'm just worried about who we partner him with, because it's gonna be a struggle for a barely 20 year old copping the best defender every week - that's why I reckon we've seen him start to struggle after having a break out game and having Petty, Schache or Tmac next to him every week.

Would love to have a big unit stay at home forward, like a 25-29 year old next to him to shoulder that for a couple of years.

100%. I'm just worried about who we partner him with, because it's gonna be a struggle for a barely 20 year old copping the best defender every week - that's why I reckon we've seen him start to struggle after having a break out game and having Petty, Schache or Tmac next to him every week.

Would love to have a big unit stay at home forward, like a 25-29 year old next to him to shoulder that for a couple of years.

I think us crowding our own forward line with talls has been the main issue. JVR hasn't had the room to lead or fly for marks, as ive been saying, every game TMac has played next to him so far this year he has looked lost. When Petty is there leading up the ground he looks far more dangerous and a more than capable #1 target inside 50.

I'm not a massive fan of Petty forward tbh. I'm a fan of him, just not as a forward at this stage. Couldn't agree more about our spacing though.