Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

Which part are you unclear about?

Which one of Melk, Brown, Tmac and Schache are you expecting to go around next year, and why?

Brown will retire, Melksham likely to retire. TMac and Schache go around again.

We really taking JVR (20 years old) and Jefferson (19, 0 games) as our only key forward or ruck depth?

This is where people don't seem to understand list demographics. Everyone bangs on about "best 22" and "how many games will they play?" and the like, but you simply don't have 40 best 22 players, it's not how it works. Injury, form, suspension, management all these things mean you need multiple mature backups.

"We need the 4 list spots"? For whom? If you have some feasible options for mature key forward backup who will cost nothing in terms of trade and little in terms of contract cost then I'm all ears.

Dunstan, Hibberd, Jordon, Melksham, Moniz-Wakefield, D Smith, K Turner and Woey Jnr all OOC this year. Wouldn’t be in a rush to sign up any of them although I suspect the outcome would be Hibberd, K Turner and Woey Jnr all get at least one year extension. I doubt that any of the others will have a list spot next year.

We should look to make some moves on some of the 2024 contracted players too. Brown, Harmes, Laurie, McDonald, Schache and Tomlinson looks like a lot of clog on the list in 12 months time. Not saying that all will go but the dreamboat scenario would be getting Brown and T Mac off the books and securing trades for Harmes and Tomlinson.

I’d also think about trading Salem. Unlike some, I’m a fan but we might be able to extract some value for him and with Bowey, Brayshaw, Rivers and McVee - we have plenty of cover across half back for him.

Out of the players you mention, this is just my take...

Dunstan - Wouldn't be against keeping as Viney cover, reckon he'll move on though given he never gets a game
Hibberd - Retire, being managed A LOT this year
Jordon - Same as Dunstan
Melksham - Likely retire but never know
AMW - Delist
D.Smith - Delist
K Turner - Probs keep
Woey - Keep

From what I've seen, Farris-White and Schache are both OOC this year too, but that's different to the above info so dunno. Would keep both anyways at this stage.

Brown - retire. No doubt
TMac - Keep, need the depth
Harmes - 100% will request a trade IMO
Tomlinson - 100% will be gone, take it to the bank #ITK
Salem - 0% chance they trade him. Goody's whole plan revolves around everyone giving him the ball

That already gives us around about 8 list spots, which is more than enough this year IMO.

Times are tough if we need Tmac's broken down slow ass for depth. Could literally find a better KPF in any state league for pennies.
I'd rather play no tall forwards than resort to Tmac tbh.

Times are tough if we need Tmac's broken down slow ass for depth. Could literally find a better KPF in any state league for pennies.

Who then? Like, I get all the calls to ditch every single tall forward, but give some realistic options to replace them and also list how we get rid of those contracted players while still bringing in more players.

IDK but I can guarantee there are better KPFs playing state footy than Tmac. I dont go round looking for backup KPFs so no idea on names. There would be numerous Tim Smith level players out there who are more useful than Tmac.

I'd rather play no tall forwards than resort to Tmac tbh.

Yeah, come up with a different game plan that doesnt involve at least 3 KPFs/rucks in your F50 you dickhead.

IDK but I can guarantee there are better KPFs playing state footy than Tmac. I dont go round looking for backup KPFs so no idea on names. There would be numerous Tim Smith level players out there who are more useful than Tmac.

Come on mate. There's literally no way you can "guarantee" anything without actually saying who you're suggesting. Tim Smith, lol.

Tim Smith is better than Tmac is now. Anyone would can jog is. All Tmac does is stand there and get in the way and breakdown with injury

Brown will retire, Melksham likely to retire. TMac and Schache go around again.

We really taking JVR (20 years old) and Jefferson (19, 0 games) as our only key forward or ruck depth?

This is where people don't seem to understand list demographics. Everyone bangs on about "best 22" and "how many games will they play?" and the like, but you simply don't have 40 best 22 players, it's not how it works. Injury, form, suspension, management all these things mean you need multiple mature backups.

"We need the 4 list spots"? For whom? If you have some feasible options for mature key forward backup who will cost nothing in terms of trade and little in terms of contract cost then I'm all ears.

LOL at wanting Tmac and Schache to go around again.

You seem to be unaware there is a trade period, national draft, rookie draft, delisted free agent period and supplemental pre-season signing period before next season.

If you want to keep two absolutely cooked veteran back up talls around even though they are already not up to the job of filling in at AFL level, good luck to you.

I say move them on, get the best available experienced forward through trade, free agency or DFA to replace them. And take another key forward at the top of the draft.

If you do that, there’s no way you end up behind where we are now having Tmac and Schache.

Taken me all of 5 mins to find someone better, Tyler Keitel... 27 year old, lead the WAFL in goal kicking last year kicking 61

Exactly. And people forget Schache was literally a last minute ‘just grab anyone who’s over 194cm’ in case of emergency pick.
He’s added nothing, as expected, so why waste his time and ours keeping him around.

Exactly. And people forget Schache was literally a last minute ‘just grab anyone who’s over 194cm’ in case of emergency pick.
He’s added nothing, as expected, so why waste his time and ours keeping him around.

I only suggested we keep him because I assume he’s contracted and it’d be unprecedented to pay out 3 players still contracted in the same season.

LOL at wanting Tmac and Schache to go around again.

You seem to be unaware there is a trade period, national draft, rookie draft, delisted free agent period and supplemental pre-season signing period before next season.

If you want to keep two absolutely cooked veteran back up talls around even though they are already not up to the job of filling in at AFL level, good luck to you.

I say move them on, get the best available experienced forward through trade, free agency or DFA to replace them. And take another key forward at the top of the draft.

If you do that, there’s no way you end up behind where we are now having Tmac and Schache.

Ok cool so tell me exactly what the plan is to offload two contracted mature key forwards and exactly who we are replacing them with and how.

Cheers.

Taken me all of 5 mins to find someone better, Tyler Keitel... 27 year old, lead the WAFL in goal kicking last year kicking 61

This Tyler Keitel?

"The AFL dream is no longer on the 27-year-old's radar, having trained with West Coast and Fremantle in the 2022 pre-season with a view to being a Supplementary Selection Period signing."

From a family of Falcons: Milestone day looms for WAFL gun Keitel

Reading that full thing, 0 chance he moves from WA as well.

Weird, I keep reading there's literally hundreds of better options around though...

This Tyler Keitel?

"The AFL dream is no longer on the 27-year-old's radar, having trained with West Coast and Fremantle in the 2022 pre-season with a view to being a Supplementary Selection Period signing."

From a family of Falcons: Milestone day looms for WAFL gun Keitel

Reading that full thing, 0 chance he moves from WA as well.

The point was there are plenty of these types of players who are better than TMac. I'm not saying we should specifically target him. You asked me who was better and it took me all 5 mins to find someone better.

i reckon that they'll be happy enough if they can at least get one of Brown or Tmac to retire.
Schache will be around for one more year as they hope both Jefferson and Verrall can come on next year and then delist Schache then.
i'm guessing that they'll probably be keen to delist Melksham, Deakyn Smith, Moniz-Wakefield, and Dunstan, who are all out of contract, and also put a couple like Jordon, Harmes, and Tomlinson up for trade.
that would probably open up about 7 list spots. look to pick up two or three through trade/free agency and then draft about four kids.

The point was there are plenty of these types of players who are better than TMac. I'm not saying we should specifically target him. You asked me who was better and it took me all 5 mins to find someone better.

And it took me 30 seconds to find out he's given up on AFL.

I'll wait for the next options given there's so many. Who else you got? You guaranteed this remember.

I hope we trade our FF1 and 2023 Freo pick to take Caddy key forward and Curtain Key back.

Book ends for 12 years sorted and May replacement sorted. Old mate recruit Adams from last year isn’t setting the world on fire in VFL.

Use our pair of second rounders and other miscellaneous currency to try tempt Finn Callahan back to melb to play with his mate Howes and straight into the midfield.

Piss off Laurie, Tmac, Melksham, Tomlinson for a 4th rounder which we can use on Kynan Brown
I like this. Move on up to get Caddy, make a play for Callaghan. Bring in a couple of mid dtaft range forwards to replace Brown, Melk and Tmac. Although I do suspect one of those guys will be still on our list next year.

Personally I'd try and offload Gus. With his contract it won't be easy, but i think I'd rather keep Salem than Gus, and our list needs a shake up. New blood like Howes, Turner and Woey. Hopefully Jefferson pushes for selection next season. Still not convinced he'll make it, but it's early days.

Out of the players you mention, this is just my take...

Dunstan - Wouldn't be against keeping as Viney cover, reckon he'll move on though given he never gets a game
Hibberd - Retire, being managed A LOT this year
Jordon - Same as Dunstan
Melksham - Likely retire but never know
AMW - Delist
D.Smith - Delist
K Turner - Probs keep
Woey - Keep

From what I've seen, Farris-White and Schache are both OOC this year too, but that's different to the above info so dunno. Would keep both anyways at this stage.

Brown - retire. No doubt
TMac - Keep, need the depth
Harmes - 100% will request a trade IMO
Tomlinson - 100% will be gone, take it to the bank #ITK
Salem - 0% chance they trade him. Goody's whole plan revolves around everyone giving him the ball

That already gives us around about 8 list spots, which is more than enough this year IMO.

Highly doubt Brown walks away without taking his final years salary with him, would rather have him fill a list spot if we have to pay the ~$600k anyway.

We'll see. He doesn't strike me as the mercenary type, if he thinks his time is up he'll retire.

This is the same bloke who won't eat animals and shaved off his signature hair for charity.

Could we do a deal with Hungry Jacks to replace Brown's salary with a lifetime supply of Rebel Whoppers?