Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

The bloke appeared to be written off, got a weird gig as a sub one time, and now a contract extension.

You’d think Melbourne would wait to see how things play out with Grundy, Brown, etc. before extending a guy who would get zero offers elsewhere.

Maybe some deals and movements are already signed, sealed and delivered?
Probably already told Brown Tmac and Grundy to gtfo of the club

Even then, why keep around a guy who can’t get a game in a dead rubber when we are desperately short of someone who can ruck for 5 minutes a quarter and make a contest in the forward line.

He’s not gonna suddenly improve next year at his age

Even then, why keep around a guy who can’t get a game in a dead rubber when we are desperately short of someone who can ruck for 5 minutes a quarter and make a contest in the forward line.

He’s not gonna suddenly improve next year at his age
I mean I don't really care? Why do you? He's probably on bargain basement money and can play 10 games if Gawn goes down as forward ruck

Apparently Mabior Chol may be looking for a new home, so there's another option that won't cost the world. 44 goals last year and isn't too bad in the ruck. Still only 26, too.
Could be good FWD/2nd ruck option

Seriously, wouldn’t you at least wait until all the trading is done and see what delisted free agents are available before re-signing him? Not like another club is going to swoop in and poach him.

The bloke appeared to be written off, got a weird gig as a sub one time, and now a contract extension.

You’d think Melbourne would wait to see how things play out with Grundy, Brown, etc. before extending a guy who would get zero offers elsewhere.

Maybe some deals and movements are already signed, sealed and delivered?
What the actual *.
I thought people said he was already signed for next year? And that was literally the only reason people could come up with for keeping him.

Hope he’s playing for free.

Seems a sensible move IMO. Gives us backup/depth if we need to call on it. Minimum chips and a 1 year deal for a known quantity.

You never have 40 guns on your list.

Can't see the club paying Brown or TMac out

And cant see either of them walking away from their contracts

What the actual *.
I thought people said he was already signed for next year? And that was literally the only reason people could come up with for keeping him.

Hope he’s playing for free.

Can only assume we are keeping him around coz Brown and TMac are gone?

Edit: beaten to it by the best poster on the board. What a smart guy he is.

I mean I don't really care? Why do you? He's probably on bargain basement money and can play 10 games if Gawn goes down as forward ruck

Because there’s no point having someone on the list that isn’t good enough to play, and the spot could be filled by another speculative pick on bargain basement money who at least has some prospect of being an AFL standard player.

Can't see the club paying Brown or TMac out

And cant see either of them walking away from their contracts

This.

No-one’s walking away from AFL footy and AFL footy money unless you’re a Joel Selwood type. Not happening.

It’s either full payouts or they will be listed in 2024.

Seems a sensible move IMO. Gives us backup/depth if we need to call on it. Minimum chips and a 1 year deal for a known quantity.

You never have 40 guns on your list.

We need to call on it now and he’s still not even in consideration, so why would he be next year?

And the two choices aren’t “have 40 guns on your list” or you have to re-sign Josh Schache before player movement period even commences.

That’s like saying ah well you never have 40 guns on your list so might as well keep Harmes and Jordon for depth.

Because there’s no point having someone on the list that isn’t good enough to play, and the spot could be filled by another speculative pick on bargain basement money who at least has some prospect of being an AFL standard player.

If that was the case, wouldn't our list just be like 23 players? Injury cover/depth is vital when you're in a successful phase. How many "speculative picks" do you want? From a holistic perspective, you'd want more sensible known quantities in your depth than players who you can't trust.

Honestly don't know why people get so upset about these types of decisions.

Seriously, wouldn’t you at least wait until all the trading is done and see what delisted free agents are available before re-signing him? Not like another club is going to swoop in and poach him.

Maybe we are up against the cap next year? Particularly if we are moving on Grundy and have to pay out TMac and Brown

This.

No-one’s walking away from AFL footy and AFL footy money unless you’re a Joel Selwood type. Not happening.

It’s either full payouts or they will be listed in 2024.

I'll take the full payout option thanks.

We need to call on it now and he’s still not even in consideration, so why would he be next year?

And the two choices aren’t “have 40 guns on your list” or you have to re-sign Josh Schache before player movement period even commences.

That’s like saying ah well you never have 40 guns on your list so might as well keep Harmes and Jordon for depth.

No we don't. Both Gawn and Grundy are fit and that's the main reason he's there because our next option is Verrall. He doesn't have to be in regular consideration, that's entirely the point of depth and the reality of salary caps.

Harmes and Jordon are both wanted by the club but may leave for more opportunity so not sure exactly what your point is there tbh. I'm no huge fan of either, but again, that's how depth works.

I like the stage we're at with our list where we're not having 10 delistings and taking spud free agents who should have retired and using picks in the 60s.

If that was the case, wouldn't our list just be like 23 players? Injury cover/depth is vital when you're in a successful phase. How many "speculative picks" do you want? From a holistic perspective, you'd want more sensible known quantities in your depth than players who you can't trust.

Honestly don't know why people get so upset about these types of decisions.

No, why would you have only 23 players on a list. The point of a 40 man list is surely to fill spots 24-40 with the best possible back up and future talent you can get/afford.

I just don’t see how you can make a judgment Schache is the best possible back up when we already know he’s not AFL standard and we haven’t even waited to see who else is available in that role.

Maybe we are up against the cap next year? Particularly if we are moving on Grundy and have to pay out TMac and Brown

Probably are, but you can’t pay Schache less than the minimum which is the same you’d be paying a delisted free agent or rookie pick up. Just seems bizarre not to keep an extra spot available until those periods are done and then if nothing else presents sign Schache if he really is the only option left.

No, why would you have only 23 players on a list. The point of a 40 man list is surely to fill spots 24-40 with the best possible back up and future talent you can get/afford.

I just don’t see how you can make a judgment Schache is the best possible back up when we already know he’s not AFL standard and we haven’t even waited to see who else is available in that role.

You can't afford to fill a whole list with "best available", and nowhere did I say he's the "best possible backup".

"Best available" don't hang around if they can't get a game.

He doesn't have to be "AFL standard" as the expectation is he only gets a shot if injury dictates it.

Given Schache's position on the list, there's no reason we're not also looking to get a best 23 forward/ruck in.

People live in fantasy land this time of year and don't seem to get the reality of footy club lists.

Complete lack of respect being shown in here to future Norm Smith Medallist, Josh Schache.

No we don't. Both Gawn and Grundy are fit and that's the main reason he's there because our next option is Verrall. He doesn't have to be in regular consideration, that's entirely the point of depth and the reality of salary caps.

Harmes and Jordon are both wanted by the club but may leave for more opportunity so not sure exactly what your point is there tbh. I'm no huge fan of either, but again, that's how depth works.

I like the stage we're at with our list where we're not having 10 delistings and taking spud free agents who should have retired and using picks in the 60s.

Except Schache is quite literally the definition of a spud free agent who should have retired but instead we picked him up and then resigned him again.

Laughable that you see Schache as a back up to Gawn and Grundy. He has to hold down a forward role to get a game.

Harmes is wanted by the club next year is he? Better sign him up now then before someone else swoops in

Probably are, but you can’t pay Schache less than the minimum which is the same you’d be paying a delisted free agent or rookie pick up. Just seems bizarre not to keep an extra spot available until those periods are done and then if nothing else presents sign Schache if he really is the only option left.
Mate Schache can play AFL. He's not great but you're acting like he's never had a single disposal before. As a break glass emergency he's option you ain't finding much better

Josh Schache is a delisted free agent standard why flip him off for another random who's 99% chance of being crap. If we find someone good we can just play them in the senior team it's really not worth this much of a tanty

I’d keep Benny Brown. Still got some petrol tickets left I reckon. Or as Rocky Balboa would say, “still got some stuff in the basement”.

Mate there's no broccoli juice left to squeeze. 🗑️ Time

Except Schache is quite literally the definition of a spud free agent who should have retired but instead we picked him up and then resigned him again.

Laughable that you see Schache as a back up to Gawn and Grundy. He has to hold down a forward role to get a game.

Harmes is wanted by the club next year is he? Better sign him up now then before someone else swoops in

Again, you're trying to misrepresent what I said - Schache is there in case of emergency. If Grundy (who missed a lot of footy with injury last year) got injured while Gawn was out this year, who comes in to ruck the whole game? Verrall? Spargo? It's insurance. You may not need it, but sensible to have it.

Harmes is contracted next year.