Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

From SEN news app:
“Hawthorn, which has ample cap space to work with this off-season, had offered Ratugolea a contract worth around $5 million over seven years in a bid to boost its key defensive stocks.”

Wtf?

60 games, 8 touches/game, 4 marks/game, useless forward.

Are these recruiters genuinely scouting the country for talent in suburban and amateur comps? Reckon you could find 100 blokes who could eclipse those numbers without any difficulty. And pay them 25% of that Ratugolea figure. Ridiculous stuff.

From SEN news app:
“Hawthorn, which has ample cap space to work with this off-season, had offered Ratugolea a contract worth around $5 million over seven years in a bid to boost its key defensive stocks.”

Wtf?

Are these recruiters genuinely scouting the country for talent in suburban and amateur comps? Reckon you could find 100 blokes who could eclipse those numbers without any difficulty. And pay them 25% of that Ratugolea figure. Ridiculous stuff.
Ratugolea, Frosty, Jiath and Sicily in the same backline? It'll be entertaining, if nothing else.

They'll have some weeks where they look amazing, and others where they concede around 400 points due to each of them having collective brain melts

Ratugolea, Frosty, Jiath and Sicily in the same backline? It'll be entertaining, if nothing else.

They'll have some weeks where they look amazing, and others where they concede around 400 points due to each of them having collective brain melts

Frosty OOC IIRC

It's like you think we can't get any other key talls now. We can mate relax.

Na that’s not what I think. I just am reiterating the fact that signing Schache up now equals a pick that we can’t take at any of the drafts or the other signing periods. There was absolutely no downside to waiting until February to sign Schache, if he really is the best option available as a back up tall.

If you think that doesn’t matter enough to worry about, fair enough. But I think we have had enough struggles with forward depth that we should keep all options open to improve the list, and I’ve always been of the view that taking new talent is a percentages game - the more goes at it you have the more chances you get good players.

Na that’s not what I think. I just am reiterating the fact that signing Schache up now equals a pick that we can’t take at any of the drafts or the other signing periods. There was absolutely no downside to waiting until February to sign Schache, if he really is the best option available as a back up tall.

If you think that doesn’t matter enough to worry about, fair enough. But I think we have had enough struggles with forward depth that we should keep all options open to improve the list, and I’ve always been of the view that taking new talent is a percentages game - the more goes at it you have the more chances you get good players.

There's nothing stopping us taking 3 talls in the rookie draft if want, each one less chance the last to be even as good as Schache let alone better.

If we're targeting anyone higher up Schaches re-signing doesn't matter.

How this has even taking up more than one post is nuts to me

There's nothing stopping us taking 3 talls in the rookie draft if want, each one less chance the last to be even as good as Schache let alone better.

If we're targeting anyone higher up Schaches re-signing doesn't matter.

How this has even taking up more than one post is nuts to me

Yes there is, if we don’t have spots free by the time the rookie draft arrives. Which happens regularly to clubs.

You can’t act as if you can pick as many players as you want plus Schache. Any player you sign is one less you can pick via other avenues.

Anyway, thanks for responding. Happy to continue the discussion for as long as you’d like.

Would be keen on Chol. Solves a definite issue for us. Seems to play with a lack of intensity at times. But has the talent. 44 goals last year.

Schache, who plays with even less intensity, has a season best tally of 24 goals. Yet we re-signed him.

On that basis Chol should be a priority.

From SEN news app:

Wtf?

It feels like a retro move. The Grand Final winning Hawthorn of old had that big stay at home Fullback who just had to do one thing basically.

I hope that is a real offer and I hope he takes it (be mad not to take it) as it is massive overs for that role, it seems like it will be an albatross around their neck in regards to cap space in the future.

It feels like a retro move. The Grand Final winning Hawthorn of old had that big stay at home Fullback who just had to do one thing basically.

I hope that is a real offer and I hope he takes it (be mad not to take it) as it is massive overs for that role, it seems like it will be an albatross around their neck in regards to cap space in the future.
Problem is that deal—if true—will only raise the market value of Ben McKay, all but ensuring North get pick 3 compo

They’ll get the Pick 3 compo. I’ve written this in one of the Phantom draft threads but I’m sensing a pretty clear AFL ‘secret sauce’ formula brewing here.

Without ever using the words “priority pick” they will seek to engineer an outcome whereby both basket case clubs get two pointy end draft picks each.

North will be told they’ll get McKay compo (3) and academy approval for Sanders (approx pick 8) on condition they trade picks 2 & 3 to the Eagles for pick 1 (Reid).

Result:

Eagles get Curtin (2) & McKercher (3)
North get Reid (1) & Sanders (8)

Eagles get their WA boy & best pure midfielder in the draft.
North get Vic boy No.1 pick and a third or fourth choice of the best mids.

Would put money on the AFL ‘creatively’ making it pan out like this. Other clubs won’t like it but it’s the fairest & most equitable way to handle it.

Unfortunately it’s going to mean McKercher & Duursma (Hawthorn) are off the table before our first pick. We will be looking at Watson, O’Sullivan, Caddy, this next tier of kids at our pick. This won’t change even if we move up to obtain the GC Pick ‘4’.

1. Reid (North)
2. Walter (GC bid)
3. Curtin (WC)
4. McKercher (WC)
5. Duursma (Haw)
6. (Whoever gets GC pick)
7. Melbourne
8. Sanders (North academy)

This then begs the question - is it actually worth Melbourne’s while to trade up for GC pick ‘4’ if the absolute cream of the draft has already gone before that pick? We will have to trust Jason Taylor to make that assessment.

Maybe a combination of Nick Watson (6) and Conor O’Sullivan (7) is still worth it?

If north are shopping Thomas around they don’t deserve to get free access to Sanders IMO, getting rid of one of your best players and then sooking it up try to get a free hit a one of the most promising prospects in th year’s draft. I know Jordan is a free agent if he decides to go to Gold Coast maybe we can somehow deal with them for Chol and pick 4/5 as well.

If anything, Thomas leaving raises their chances of getting access to Sanders.

I don’t think it’ll matter and they’ll get Sanders approved anyway (see my previous post).

This is a business decision for the AFL. They can’t have basket case clubs repeatedly anchored to the bottom with %ages of 50-60. It ruins the whole competition and harms their product. From the AFL’s perspective North & WC need help to get competitive and get competitive as quickly as possible.