Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

Are Blake Howes and Daniel Turner good enough to be permanent fixtures of our backline next season?

We need cover for Hibberd, and someone else to step up so that we can have Rivers play exclusively in the middle.
Hibberd was a rare player. 185cm who before his body really started to fail him could play taller, play on smalls, could be an interceptor and also an attacker.

Not many teams are lucky enough to have a guy that flexible. He doesn’t need to be replaced with someone similar, Melbourne had plenty of chances to play a backline without him with his frequent absences.

If finding a Hibberd replacement is about releasing Rivers up the ground I think unless Melbourne can pull off a surprise trade for a ready made mid-back Rivers is consigned to being a defender for a while longer.

I really can’t think of any established and gettable types out there that Melbourne could target to release Rivers.

I’d be more inclined to push Brayshaw back again if that lessens his chance of concussions to create more midfield time for Rivers.

Hibberd was a rare player. 185cm who before his body really started to fail him could play taller, play on smalls, could be an interceptor and also an attacker.

Not many teams are lucky enough to have a guy that flexible. He doesn’t need to be replaced with someone similar, Melbourne had plenty of chances to play a backline without him with his frequent absences.

If finding a Hibberd replacement is about releasing Rivers up the ground I think unless Melbourne can pull off a surprise trade for a ready made mid-back Rivers is consigned to being a defender for a while longer.

I really can’t think of any established and gettable types out there that Melbourne could target to release Rivers.

I’d be more inclined to push Brayshaw back again if that lessens his chance of concussions to create more midfield time for Rivers.

Could McVee be that man? Same height as Hibberd.

If we draft O’Sullivan at pick 5 I wonder if he’s capable of playing as a mobile third tall in defence as soon as round 1. With an AFL pre-season under his belt he may just have the athleticism/talent to hold it down. This in turn would allow Lever to play his natural game as a pure intercepter. Rivers and McVee your ball carriers, Salem in his quarterback style role. I still like Salo and back him in for a return to form in 2024.

Not a fan of Gus in defence.

McVee May O’Sullivan

Rivers Lever Salem

Could McVee be that man? Same height as Hibberd.

Hibbo was listed at 94 kegs and I reckon he played heavier at times. McVee is listed at 76 kegs.

That was probably McVee’s drafted weight, I’d say he’s low 80s now.

That’s still a huge weight and strength difference to Hibberd. McVee would get killed playing on some mature mid to tall forwards. McVee doesn’t even look like he has the frame to get much bigger.

Rivers is a much closer size to Hibberd already and has a big frame.

Maybe Rivers should just stay back and Melbourne focus on building the midfield.

Bowey, McVee and Rivers are a very nice set of young guys who can play a similar role to Hibberd, but with Salem also coming towards the end I reckon the list could do with 1 more - particularly if the plan is for Rivers to be further up the ground.

I’ve suggested Luamon Lual who I like the look of, although he is a WB NGA kid so we’d need to take him in the top 40.

Bowey, McVee and Rivers are a very nice set of young guys who can play a similar role to Hibberd, but with Salem also coming towards the end I reckon the list could do with 1 more - particularly if the plan is for Rivers to be further up the ground.

I’ve suggested Luamon Lual who I like the look of, although he is a WB NGA kid so we’d need to take him in the top 40.

Salem is contracted until 2026. Not saying he’ll be a first choice defender by that final year but I think he’s still got some mileage left in the tank at senior level.

If we hypothetically have picks 10 & 13 to go with 5 I don’t mind the look of James Leake and Darcy Wilson from the highlights vids and descriptions I’ve read. Both pacy mids with good skills touted by Cal Twomey to go in that 10 - 20 range. Leake looks a beauty in particular.

How’d you be being a middle of the road side who’ve had little success in the past 12 - 20 years (St Kilda, Essendon, Freo) watching North stockpile this degree of top shelf talent? I’ve got no sympathy for Essendon and never will but the other two - can understand more now why they are so ropable.

Mid-ladder mediocrity (7th - 13th) is the death zone in the AFL.
Essendon and St Kilda have had woeful player development and get distracted by magic beans at the trade table. Jake Stringer, Dylan Shiel, Devon Smith and soon to add Ben McKay & Jade Gresham for the Dons. Saints gave up on their youth and got in Hannebery, Z Jones, B Crouch and Hill. Heaps of average players on big coin with decent draft picks surrendered.

If Reid has indicated to WCE that he is a flight risk - as is being repeatedly insinuated - then I think that North could offer 2 & another first round pick that isn't 3 to get it done. Hot on the heels of JHF and the Eagles need to start developing ASAP.

Essendon and St Kilda have had woeful player development and get distracted by magic beans at the trade table. Jake Stringer, Dylan Shiel, Devon Smith and soon to add Ben McKay & Jade Gresham for the Dons. Saints gave up on their youth and got in Hannebery, Z Jones, B Crouch and Hill. Heaps of average players on big coin with decent draft picks surrendered.

Clubs go down this path when coaches and admin begin to feel heat on their jobs. They might get a 2-3 year sugar hit out of it but it’s highly unlikely to get you much further than 5th - 8th and almost certain to send you back down the slippery slope into complete irrelevance. Feel for Saints fans in particular who watch a new group of snake oil salesman take over their club every 5 or so years with the same plan re-hashed in different packaging.

Salem is contracted until 2026. Not saying he’ll be a first choice defender by that final year but I think he’s still got some mileage left in the tank at senior level.

If we hypothetically have picks 10 & 13 to go with 5 I don’t mind the look of James Leake and Darcy Wilson from the highlights vids and descriptions I’ve read. Both pacy mids with good skills touted by Cal Twomey to go in that 10 - 20 range. Leake looks a beauty in particular.
Salem will definitely play more games, but I’m suggesting now is the time to bring in a kid to replace him.

Presuming that kid deserves a couple of years (+) on the list before becoming a solid AFL first 22 player.

I like Wilson and Leake too - Leake is going to end up very much in the zone for our current second pick.

What a waste of talent Stringer has been.

The fact that he’s probably on $600k, rolls up to pre-season with mud guts every year and no-one at the club has the stones to confront him about it and read him the riot act, says everything about the culture at Essendon. Not even a shadow of the club they once were.

Basically a better version of Colin Sylvia.

McVee is a beast and I love him, feel hes copped far too much shit for the final minute of the Carlton final (have heard people say he was shown up in finals, give me a break) , he was great for the rest of the game....but, hes no Hibbo. Not even close.

If we draft O’Sullivan at pick 5 I wonder if he’s capable of playing as a mobile third tall in defence as soon as round 1. With an AFL pre-season under his belt he may just have the athleticism/talent to hold it down. This in turn would allow Lever to play his natural game as a pure intercepter. Rivers and McVee your ball carriers, Salem in his quarterback style role. I still like Salo and back him in for a return to form in 2024.

Not a fan of Gus in defence.

McVee May O’Sullivan

Rivers Lever Salem

Would rather we played Turner as an interceptor and develop the stopping side of O'Sullivan's game in preparation for taking over from May, coz it needs work.

McVee is a beast and I love him, feel hes copped far too much s**t for the final minute of the Carlton final (have heard people say he was shown up in finals, give me a break) , he was great for the rest of the game....but, hes no Hibbo. Not even close.
Yeah that last 60s was a collective bedshit and some terrible decisions by much more experienced heads did us in. McVee was great otherwise and really impressive this season as a whole.

Agree.

The lack of composure from the senior heads on the night such as Viney, Oliver, Petracca and Gawn is what killed us really.

All of them could actually take a leaf out of McVee's around composure and just slowing things down at the right time.

Can't wait to see Him with another 70-100 games under his belt.

Mcvee had a horror end to the game basically costing us the last 2 goals.

But he's a kid, it happens. So many more others ****ed up the entire game. Clayton Oliver should be ashamed with the way he used the footy.

Mcvee had a horror end to the game basically costing us the last 2 goals.

But he's a kid, it happens. So many more others ****ed up the entire game. Clayton Oliver should be ashamed with the way he used the footy.

I blame the senior guys far more than McVee for the last goal. Pathetic. Nobody even turned around to see who was behind them. Lever in particular, hes paid to organise the defense and he did **** all. Not to excuse the rest of the ball watching idiots but Jake has to be that guy in that situation.

I blame the senior guys far more than McVee for the last goal. Pathetic. Nobody even turned around to see who was behind them. Lever in particular, hes paid to organise the defense and he did * all. Not to excuse the rest of the ball watching idiots but Jake has to be that guy in that situation.
Pretty much sums it up that we had Bayley Fritsch actually being on the last line of defence trying to defend the Acres mark with not even an actual defender in sight

Embarrassing.

McVee is a beast and I love him, feel hes copped far too much s**t for the final minute of the Carlton final (have heard people say he was shown up in finals, give me a break) , he was great for the rest of the game....but, hes no Hibbo. Not even close.
Hibbo was still running around at Frankston at McVee's age. I don't know if he'll ever hit 90kgs like Hibbo, but he certainly reminds me of Nev.

Daniel Ward for me. Far better attacking side of his game than Nev. Don't think he'll ever be as good as a defender as Nev, maybe he could, but it's a lot to ask.