Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

Contigency plan if we don't win the premiership next year. We don't need to trade for picks we can just relocate to Tasmania and get picks for free.
Honestly this sounds really good, I prefer watching footy on the couch anyway and I quite like visiting tassie. Sign us up!!

Idk if it was Tracs name being put up I expect we'd be shutting it down very quickly. We even shut down Tomlinson's request for a trade. I was sus yesterday but this story clearly has legs. Nothing may happen but there's too much smoke for there to be no fire.

My read of this thread is different. There are rumours but not a huge amount of detail around his behaviour, clearly tension between him and the club, people just assume drugs because the most obvious answer is usually the right one.

Don't get me wrong, not saying there's nothing to it - Just that every journo needs to add their own twist to it to keep their name out there, so in the space of a day the story has gotten way overcooked from what it actually is.

To clarify, Dees aren't 'offering him up'.

"Melbourne is not trying to push him out, but this story emanates from the fact that rival clubs believe that he is gettable for the right price."

Kinda funny the suggestion that Oliver may want to go to Adelaide to be reunited with Burgess, believing Griffith mishandled his hamstring. While McAdam wants to come to us, believing Burgess mishandled his hamstring.

I just love the idea that a player would uproot his entire life to go live in a different city because a conditioning coach that he likes works for a different team

Plenty of blokes have followed former coaches and assistants across to other clubs. The fitness guy would be a new one you'd think.

He's never even done a proper hammy, how would he know if old mate can fix it any better? Doesn't make sense

There's a fine line between "offering up" and "listening to offers" - we don't want to be seen as pushing him out the door and lowering his perceived value
It's why the Roos attitude of 'Everyone is tradable for the right price' is the correct one. Saying we're open to offers for Oliver but not for Petracca or Gawn immediately raises eyebrows.

Who says no

Bulldogs out: Bailey Smith, 10, 17
Bulldogs In: Oliver, 24

Hawks out: Pick 3
Hawks in: Bailey Smith

Demons out: Oliver, 24
Demons in: 3, 10, 17

Picks 5,10 for P1

F1 + 13 for Geelong Pick 7

Demons hold: P1 (Reid), P3 (Mckercher), P7 (O,Sullivan)

Who says no

Bulldogs out: Bailey Smith, 10, 17
Bulldogs In: Oliver, 24

Hawks out: Pick 3
Hawks in: Bailey Smith

Demons out: Oliver, 24
Demons in: 3, 10, 17
Hawthorn. Smith is nowhere near Pick 3 in terms of value.

Said to TK last night that I think Adelaide should probably be considered favs if he is moved, not really for the Burgo connection, just they have more reasonable picks to satisfy a trade than someone like Sydney and I doubt Oliver wants to go to the GC. Would want to likely go to a side on the way up at the very least.

When the Carolina Panthers cut my all time fav player Steve Smith and he torched us in his first game against us playing for Baltimore I did quietly enjoy the ass kicking we coped though must say. Never thought of changing teams, but was happy to see him make us pay in a weird way.

The trash talk on the sideline to the camera from Steve at the end of the game after the Ravens won still a highlight to this day "Panthers, take your ass back to Carolina and make sure you mow my lawn for me, keep it clean"
Cue your favourite player James Jordon to debut for Sydney round 1 2024 against the dee's. 30 touches 3 goals 5 assist 10 tackles. "Stick that up ya, Goodloss"

Said to TK last night that I think Adelaide should probably be considered favs if he is moved, not really for the Burgo connection, just they have more reasonable picks to satisfy a trade than someone like Sydney and I doubt Oliver wants to go to the GC. Would want to likely go to a side on the way up at the very least.
It'd be worth it for Adelaide purely for the fact that they wouldn't have to play against him anymore. Seems to always go God Mode against them for some reason (Sydney too)

Geelong another who would love him but would need to include a player.

I think you'd want a pick in the top 4 or a pathway that gets us there as part of it.

Hahaha this is so Melbourne, its like St Kilda and Melbourne aren't meant to have nice things without blowing it up

For years we cry that we never have elite midfielders, now we get one who is on pace to be having a HOF career and we are contemplating trading him out for unproven draft picks as he enters his prime?

I almost hope this happens just for the lol's. Spargo is a required player but Oliver isn't? wow....

Pretty concerning that we were happy to put a statement out saying Tonlinson was a required player but it's been 24 hours since this news broke and still nothing from the football club..