Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

He did give you a flag.
Remember 2021? 🏆

Do you think it might be a tad unrealistic to expect to win the premiership every year?

Great clubs hold on to their champions. Throw their arms around them when they (allegedly) go off the rails. I’m very uncomfortable about our coach’s inability to address this situation more than I am a 26yo Clayton’s alleged waywardness (if true).

Pendlebury and Sidebottom are 300+ game players at Collingwood who just waited 13 years and hundreds of games between drinks for their second flag.

Some of our supporters’ attitudes to tossing out a champion of the club when things get a bit hard is disheartening and disappointing. We lost a couple of finals by a combined total of 8 points ffs.
He didn't give me a flag.

It was a collective 22 players that gave me the flag.

He didn't give me a flag.

It was a collective 22 players that gave me the flag.

Of which Clayton was a major contributor.

First flag in our lifetime for most of us. Yeah let’s chuck out our best player two years later. Unbelievable Dazzle.

I guess it depends on how you view the bolded part. For me, 2024 is shaping up to be a bit of a reset year at the moment. Plenty has already come out about the club looking to 'play the kids' more next year, we're losing a bunch of depth and now potentially one of our best players.

I'm thinking that 2024 is shaping up to be a bit of a step back, but we could head into 2025 with a refreshed team that has a good mix of youth and experience, and likely a fair bit of cap space to play with to have a crack at one of the uncontracted KPFs.

I'd take that step back if it meant we mixed up our game style and gave players like Riv and Kozzy more exposure in the middle. The concern is obviously that we'd potentially waste the end of Gawn and May's careers, but as I've said before, if we don't make change, they'll be wasted anyway.
Yeah ok I can appreciate that perspective on it. Agree we're extremely unlikely to achieve much from here without a shift in game style but I don't think this shift should be contingent on if we have Oliver or not.

It just seems fanciful to me to think that moving one your best players out in his prime, while you should theoretically be in the window, could be the right move (particularly with key players like Gawn and May nearing the end as you mentioned).

This is why I think our subsequent moves will be super important if it goes through. If we can secure a good forward and some young mids that can instantly impact and gives us a more balanced mix it could end up a positive, but it seems like wishful thinking more than a likely scenario to me.

He did give you a flag.
Remember 2021? 🏆

Do you think it might be a tad unrealistic to expect to win the premiership every year?

Great clubs hold on to their champions. Throw their arms around them when they (allegedly) go off the rails. I’m very uncomfortable about our coach’s apparent inability to address this situation much more than I am a 26yo Clayton’s alleged waywardness (if true).

Pendlebury and Sidebottom are 300+ game players at Collingwood who just waited 13 years and hundreds of games between drinks for their second flag.

Some of our supporters’ attitudes to tossing out a champion of the club when things get a bit hard is disheartening and disappointing. We lost a couple of finals by a combined total of 8 points ffs. Get over it.
Sure, if you completely ignore the whole season and then all of 22 then yes everything's Rosey except the 2 finals we lost

First flag in our lifetime for most of us. Yeah let’s chick out our best player two years later. Unbelievable Dazzle.
And no flag side has ever backed up with the same 22 the next year. You don't just give those 22 blokes free passes for ever, every year you manoeuvre and work on your list to give yourself the best shot the next year. Or else you could just be the Bulldogs 2016 and eagles 2018 and celebrate one year achievements by playing the same old style with the same old blokes over and over

First flag in our lifetime for most of us. Yeah let’s chick out our best player two years later. Unbelievable Dazzle.

One player doesn't win you a flag champ. It's a team sport for a reason.

Tell him Trac: "don't support us then"

season 5 GIF

Dwayne Russel right now re Oliver

Flog talks about the same news, offers nothing knew except that he knew.

Hahaha this is so Melbourne, its like St Kilda and Melbourne aren't meant to have nice things without blowing it up

For years we cry that we never have elite midfielders, now we get one who is on pace to be having a HOF career and we are contemplating trading him out for unproven draft picks as he enters his prime?

I almost hope this happens just for the lol's. Spargo is a required player but Oliver isn't? wow....

Madness isn’t it.

Give Clarry all the credit for the flag, none of the blame for the first ever top 4 team to go out in straight sets B2B

Yep and damn Pendles and Sidebottom for not winning more flags at Collingwood. Losing GF’s, losing prelims. Pathetic.

Dont worry about the pathway, he would make the HOF if he retired tomorrow.

Dont think his prime has much to do with it, I wouldnt expect him to get any better than he is now, reckon its far more likely he gets worse if anything.

Why? Based on what?

Yep and damn Pendles and Sidebottom for not winning more flags at Collingwood. Losing GF’s, losing prelims. Pathetic.

Sorry, I missed the part where we are getting rid of everyone...Trac and Gawn out the door are they? All our champs must go!

Every player that played on the day was a major contributor.

You'll happily point the finger at Oliver being the major contributor in the grand final win but won't say boo that he's also been a part of 2 years of consecutive finals exit?

One player doesn't win you a flag champ. It's a team sport for a reason.

Tell him Trac: "don't support us then"

Good teams don’t turf a champion when the going gets tough.

Why are you ‘champing’ me and why are you quoting that Trac comment to me? Am I not allowed to express my disappointment or discontent?

Good teams don’t turf a champion when the going gets tough.

Why are ‘champing’ me and why are you quoting that Trac comment to me? Am I not allowed to express my disappointment or discontent?

You sound like you're on the way out over this. The club also know a lot more about the situation than you. You can choose to trust what they're doing or continue being mad about something that may or may not happen.

Sure, if you completely ignore the whole season and then all of 22 then yes everything's Rosey except the 2 finals we lost

By 6 and 2 points. With the corpse of TMac at FF, no Petty or Melk, Gus out in opening quarter of QF. Dogga gone from the side.

Let’s blame Clarry for the lot. Good rational thinking 🧐

Has he improved in the past two years? I think he's either maintained his level or got a bit worse.

So he’s gotten worse and won’t get better according to you. Is a drug addict according to TK. Yet for some reason you think other clubs’ footy departments won’t see things the same way and will throw two top five picks at us. Think things through ADP before you post.

I've come down from that yesterday, think a more realistic view would be 1 pick in the top 5 and 1 pick in the top 10.

By 6 and 2 points. With the corpse of TMac at FF, no Petty or Melk, Gus out in opening quarter of QF. Dogga gone from the side.

Let’s blame Clarry for the lot. Good rational thinking 🧐
Collingwood had no Daicos who's better than any of our players or do we only have excuses for us an no one else.

Mate you have a great ability to not read what we say then insert a bunch of rubbish that doesn't really relate to help your point.

I've come down from that yesterday, think a more realistic view would be 1 pick in the top 5 and 1 pick in the top 10.

Oh okay. Good luck with that on a player you think is getting worse who’s a apparently a meth addict.