Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

I guess two separate things mate.

We need to nail the picks to set us up for some sustained competitiveness, which I think is pretty important.

But for next year, we really need to keep Oliver and get in a key position forward.

Whatever we think about Petty up forward, he is a tonne better than Tommo down back.
I reckon Petty is a better forward than defender though, played better footy down back.

I just mean the picks available look like they'll get us a small forward and a later pick midfielder. That's not gonna do shit for next year. I hate the idea of us going for a key forward.

I guess two separate things mate.

We need to nail the picks to set us up for some sustained competitiveness, which I think is pretty important.

But for next year, we really need to keep Oliver and get in a key position forward.

Whatever we think about Petty up forward, he is a tonne better than Tommo down back.
We didnt lose any games this year because Tomo was back there. Petty must be kept forward at all costs IMO.

I reckon Petty is a better forward than defender though, played better footy down back.

I just mean the picks available look like they'll get us a small forward and a later pick midfielder. That's not gonna do s**t for next year. I hate the idea of us going for a key forward.
Just need a mature forward I reckon, don't care about a name - just need someone who can compete, take hits and bring the ball to ground to support JVR.

I genuinely think Petty can be our next full back after May.

Don't think Tomlinson is good enough to go with a number 1 or 2 forward.

Maybe Disco Turner coming on down back is the answer.

Just need a mature forward I reckon, don't care about a name - just need someone who can compete, take hits and bring the ball to ground to support JVR.

I genuinely think Petty can be our next full back after May.

Don't think Tomlinson is good enough to go with a number 1 or 2 forward.

Maybe Disco Turner coming on down back is the answer.
Agree with you but I think we need to be chasing a FB not a FF. Pettys got way more forward craft than anyone expected he can win a wrestle or hit the ball at his highest point. He needs to stay forward. We need a new defender.

Fair call mate.

I think we could draft a really good one this year, maybe O'Sullivan.

Happy about this. Good mature-aged option for ruck cover, and has a bit of forward craft too. Had a stretch in the VFL this year where he kicked 4, 5 and 6 goals within a four-week period.

Finally the big fish we've all been waiting for

You better get ready to pay up for Fullarton. I expect we'll demand a family pack size bag of twisties and you'll bargain us down to 2 regular sized bags (original, not chicken).

Happy about this. Good mature-aged option for ruck cover, and has a bit of forward craft too. Had a stretch in the VFL this year where he kicked 4, 5 and 6 goals within a four-week period.

We will be playing 8 KPFs in the 50 at Casey. Lets go. 🥳

You better get ready to pay up for Fullarton. I expect we'll demand a family pack size bag of twisties and you'll bargain us down to 2 regular sized bags (original, not chicken).
Just promise to never play that flog Mathieson again and I'll send you a 2nd rounder for Fullarton

Used to play in the NBL, so Trac already has a new best mate to replace Clarry :rolleyesv1:

Corey Maynard worked out well. Bradkte likewise. Farris White going gangbusters. Maybe we should look into a different sport on reflection. :sweatsmile:

I'd say Gaelic footy, but name me one example of it working in Melbourne history. Can't think of ANY

I think for now Petty forward is the best option. Petty looks way more confident as a forward, he looked a bit panicked as a defender, just shows how the game has changed a fair bit from 2021 with the ball coming in much quicker. Tomlinson isn't any better but is good enough to fill that gap. Our forward line has a massive gaping hole in it and Petty is our only option. We aren't going to get any forward in the draft to help with that. We also have Jefferson waiting in the wings, he's still a while away but hopefully will be an option in the future. Hopefully by the time May is done then we could swing Petty back if need be. We could also draft a backman now to fill that spot in the future. Sam De konning was a pick 19 in 2019 spent a few years in development but became an elite defender by 2022. Hopefully we could do something similar, pick up a gun defender now to cover May in a few years.

Straight up promise this right now. If we line up round 1 with Fullarton at FF and Gawn in the ruck with no other real changes I'm on GWS

Could be worse, could be TMac or Brown.