Analysis 2023 Draft Watch

I just want to give a thank you to all posters who have brought thoughtful observations, various reports, and considered opinions. I am personally very excited about this draft because I don't need to be excited about this draft. Instead of potential draftees needing to come in and fill a need from as early as possible, they will be value adding to what we already have. It's taken a while, but credit to LM, Coaches (including development coaches), footy department, and all at the Blues. Exciting days ahead!

Talk on SEN of Westcoast wanting to upgrade their pick 37 to get ahead of Freo at 34 and grab Collard. Think both would need higher picks then that.

We have picks before both (aside from WC pick 1) so can grab him 1st though at this rate I doubt he even gets to us.

Talk on SEN of Westcoast wanting to upgrade their pick 37 to get ahead of Freo at 34 and grab Collard. Think both would need higher picks then that.

We have picks before both (aside from WC pick 1) so can grab him 1st though at this rate I doubt he even gets to us.
Depends on how non-WA clubs view the flight risk.

My understanding is that the family is very close

On Pixel 7 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Just my opinion but I reckon WCE should look at fleecing NM for the 1 pick. They need a retool and taking Reid and Pick 23 isn’t as good for them as getting WA kids Curtin, Collard, Edwards say. So, 1/23 for 2/15/17 - minimum.

Is it locked in WC will take Reid?
Not locked in, no. But not sure any club will pay what they're asking to release pick 1.

Pick trading opened yesterday and runs for next few weeks, so let's see if anything happens.

Not locked in, no. But not sure any club will pay what they're asking to release pick 1.

Pick trading opened yesterday and runs for next few weeks, so let's see if anything happens.
what about the idea they take someone else with pick 1, was my suggestion?

Oh ok. Sure. Seems unlikely they'd take anyone else though. There was a time a few months back when pundits were rating Curtin as a possible 2nd pick, and if that was still the case, then maybe they'd go with him at 1. But he's drifted a bit (CT has him at 6).

For the sake of argument, say they rate McKercher higher than Reid. Do they pick him at 1? When it seems everyone else would pick Reid? It'd be a brave choice. If Reid goes on to fulfill his hype, the WC list manager would look an absolute fool. On the other hand, if he picks Reid and Reid fails, it's hardly a failure on his part when every other list manager would have done the same thing. So say he does rate McKercher higher - the sensible option would be to trade with Norf for pick 2. Let Norf take Reid. WC get McKercher and probably another couple of first round picks.

Whoever has pick 1 will take Harley Reid and WC still open to trading pick 1, North still keen
WC would be stupid to not turn 1 into 2 & 3 or even 2 & 15. The still get the player they want, they avoid a player who will request a trade back to Vic in a year or two and they get another first rounder.

I reckon it's the classic mexican standoff right now....WCE want to trade but don't want to show their hand, and North assuming that WCE want to trade but calling their bluff....let's see who blinks first.

7LPS.gif

I reckon it's the classic mexican standoff right now....WCE want to trade but don't want to show their hand, and North assuming that WCE want to trade but calling their bluff....let's see who blinks first.

7LPS.gif
It will come down to Clint Eastwood versus the goofy little kid. My money is on Clint Eastwood to blink first

Can't see it happening, especially for a kid that might struggle in an AFL environment, let even if he was to stay in WA
Yep, kid may turn out a star, but is yet to perform well in a quality contest. We must always factor in the quality, or lack of it, from the opposition. I don’t like coveting WA boys unless they perform at the championships or at league level.

Tholstrup been playing league all year. Edwards has two years of performing on interstate stage and champs. Zakostelsky showed a bit at champs, but his outstanding form has been at colts level. The fact it has been as an undersized ruck mitigates any go slow somewhat. Love Sanchez and O’Driscoll on what they showed at champs, looks like they are made for a higher level. Hardeman and Hall are queries at higher level for mine as is Livingstone. Curtin is a star. There are possibly some hidden gems, but the others around the fringes seem to be buyer beware.

Collard has “wheels” and his skill set could transfer to the higher level. The off field questions pretty much dictate he stays in WA. I don’t totally discount the hype and he may have eastern states suitors, but there are too many red flags for most recruiters.

Every off season this board jumps on to speculative types on the back of very little substance and I find it trying. Why do so many more casual observers gravitate as nauseum to flash and flavour of the month types? Many of the same posters offer go slows on Elijah Hollands whose under age career was light years ahead and has had some very decent moments at top level to date in largely unsuitable roles.

I thoroughly agree a little extra X factor would benefit the team, but in this era players have to build a base around the non negotiables of the game.

I am all over posters talking down our current small forward options. No superstars (yet Motlop and Durdin have time) but they mostly get the job done as a unit despite little continuity. People forget the poor skill set of multi premiership player Jason Castagna at the tigers. Workrate is key. I am actually looking forward to what Jordan Russell can do for structures. It was clear to me that Hansen was more about the bigger picture as senior assistant than refining the forward structures.

I would rather Gothard over Collard. Similar draft range (until the Collard hype started to build in the media), but much less risk.
There are plenty of small/medium forwards in this draft class.

Ranging from Watson up.
Delean is a star goal kicker with questions defensively
Collard has that X-factor and questions re stepping up a couple of levels and off field queries
Sanchez playing more mid than forward, but his forward craft is second to none from the championships. Has has injury issues over the last couple of years. Do they enhance his upside or create red flags regarding durability?
Gothard stands out for not standing out. Unobtrusive worker adding layers to his side. Not a lot of flash, but racks up the one percenters and goal assists while hitting the scoreboard when opportunity presents. Very solid team player.
Charleson has plenty of fans from his Coates league and school efforts. Lauded for his smarts and instincts.
O’Driscoll is a personal favourite and hopefully would be available should we use a third pick. More wingman, but screams forward and was very effective with multi goal efforts in the championships. Loves a tackle, quickest bloke in draft class from combine. Brother and sister both Freo players. Just see him as a pressure machine with more than adequate skills with ball in hand.
Callinan from Tassie also a hard nut type who hits the scoreboard and would be a decent throw at the stumps.

Adding Elijah Hollands who will surely spend more time forward than mid initially adds to our forward mix and is a good pressure type for his size. A small forward addition is not essential, but is one area we could possibly upgrade for the future.

There are plenty of small/medium forwards in this draft class.

Ranging from Watson up.
Delean is a star goal kicker with questions defensively
Collard has that X-factor and questions re stepping up a couple of levels and off field queries
Sanchez playing more mid than forward, but his forward craft is second to none from the championships. Has has injury issues over the last couple of years. Do they enhance his upside or create red flags regarding durability?
Gothard stands out for not standing out. Unobtrusive worker adding layers to his side. Not a lot of flash, but racks up the one percenters and goal assists while hitting the scoreboard when opportunity presents. Very solid team player.
Charleson has plenty of fans from his Coates league and school efforts. Lauded for his smarts and instincts.
O’Driscoll is a personal favourite and hopefully would be available should we use a third pick. More wingman, but screams forward and was very effective with multi goal efforts in the championships. Loves a tackle, quickest bloke in draft class from combine. Brother and sister both Freo players. Just see him as a pressure machine with more than adequate skills with ball in hand.
Callinan from Tassie also a hard nut type who hits the scoreboard and would be a decent throw at the stumps.

Adding Elijah Hollands who will surely spend more time forward than mid initially adds to our forward mix and is a good pressure type for his size. A small forward addition is not essential, but is one area we could possibly upgrade for the future.
Yeah, I'm with ya - I'm hoping we're looking at another creative small/medium forward.

Delean seems to be flying under the radar a bit - I've seen him as high as pick 15 and as low as pick 35 in various rankings.
Sanchez is the one I like a lot - dangerous and great goal sense.
Collard could be anything - you'd have to do a lot of homework on him though before you'd select him - ie go home factor
Gothard is a creative smaller forward who seems to pop up in the right place at the right time.
O'Driscoll I liked in the champs, but would have the others in front of him as natural forwards.

Also, I'm not convinced we're looking to trade out our future 1st to move up the board this year, given the AFL's review of drafting father/sons. We may need to hang onto our 2024 1st and 2nd round picks to acquire the Campo twins depending on the changes - so there's a fair chance we go into the 2023 draft with the picks we currently have.

Should our selection remain as say picks 22, 28 give or take a few slots, then pick 22 for most need, best quality tall KPD and I’d risk 28 /30s on Lance Collard, no question, Curly’s boy needs to loosen up a bit, just take a risk.