Analysis 2023 Draft Watch

I'm neither hot nor cold on C.Edwards, but at this stage i see him being available at our 1st pick, and maybe our second.
Majority on here seems to be on the C.Edwards bandwagon, but there are at least six players on our list that can play in the midfield, so where and when would he play?!! Not against him but is it just because he has that burst of speed from the packs that guys like Cripps lack or what.....just curious? I am in the blues camp that says we need another big kpd that can play the role that Jones did (before he was loath to get the jab!) with intercept marking and punching the ball away in the packs. I just see that lack of size in our backline as a weakness even though Gov does a good job down there, but he and Marchbank are just not strong enough to play on the big gorilla types like Lynch if Weiters missed through injury. If Young could step up that would make a big difference, but some on here say that he and Weiters do not get on too well......hard to believe....:rolleyes:

I just like his versatility for a mid and potential 'upside'. It's funny that you mention our need for a developing key backman as Jedd Busslinger was the one I wanted last year until the rumour came that we had told the Buss to Buzz off. It's not all about need until it is, apparently. The fact that Cripps isn't getting any younger and he's becoming less durable the older he gets. I think we peak about 2026 and we don't know if Cripps will be at the top of his game in three years.

There should only be two picks in between our 2 picks 22 and 28. GC's 24,26 and 27 get swallowed up. Leaving only WC and Geelong between our picks.

We'll have the last pick on Night1, and then should have the 3rd Pick on Night 2.
Suns might trade those picks back for more points though, so other clubs could take the picks.

Every AFL club’s clear list chasm — and the perfect draft targets who could fill them

CARLTON

Draft picks:
22, 28, 70, 78, 96

List chasm: It’s a good sign for the Blues that they don’t have any glaring list holes in need to addressing. They’ve once again bolstered their depth this off-season, bringing in Elijah Hollands from Gold Coast. It’s more about depth again at the draft and perhaps that is most needed in the forward half, where they have Charlie Curnow and Harry McKay but perhaps need bolstering a bit further up the ground. It’s why they were interested in Jade Gresham before ultimately cooling on him as Essendon pounced. They could also use a bit more outside polish, currently ranked 11th for ball movement and 12th for kick ratings.

Ideal draft prospects: Players like Zane Duursma or Nick Watson would be a dream for Carlton, but the interest in both means they won’t be around by the time the Blues pick first. Murray Bushrangers’ Darcy Wilson could be in the mix. A 185cm prospect, Wilson can not only run all day at high speed, but he‘s an excellent mark and has great goal sense. Others with traits the Blues might be after include Subiaco’s Koltyn Tholstrup, who has plenty of energy and can hit the logos. Clarence’s Jack Callinan is another option for later in the draft. Someone who could add some more dare to their forward half is Phoenix Gothard, with the Allies small forward able to have scoreboard impact as well as get up the ground as needed.

I just don't think we will be drafting for immediate impact.

Obviously great if it happens, but drafting a midfielder who won't play year 1 is fine

On Pixel 7 using BigFooty.com mobile app

So it seems the rumoured chatter about trading up for the Cats' first pick is centered around Caddy or Sanders, right?

If he's not already, Nick Watson should be in the first few picks of our draft board. Whoever gets him will have a verrrry good player on their hands for 10-12 years.

So it seems the rumoured chatter about trading up for the Cats' first pick is centered around Caddy or Sanders, right?

If he's not already, Nick Watson should be in the first few picks of our draft board. Whoever gets him will have a verrrry good player on their hands for 10-12 years.
North will take him.

Appears highly unlikely Sanders gets to pick 8 now. Caddy the one that could get there. Cats are reportedly keen on him or Darcy Wilson at that pick.

Looks like Watson very likely to go to the Hawks at 4. He will be a great little player.

Word is we are keen to use at least one of our 2 picks on a running defender. Luamon Lual has been linked as has Billy Wilson. Collard the only other player I have heard us linked to though unlikely he gets to our pick.

Running defender, eh? I'd have thought our depth there is great with ZW coming back.

Maybe looking at the next generation. Williams, Newman, Docherty, Saad all 29-32 next season. Boyd and Cincotta not super young so will be about 30 when those guys finish up if they even end up making it. Only really have Cowan who will be chased hard by the new Tassie team if he ends up being any good. Though I would have expected us to develop one if not both Irish lads as running defenders.

I don't think it is a massive need, but our list is pretty balanced so maybe we don't have any massive needs. Any explosive mid/fwd would be great but unlikely to find one where we are picking in the draft.

I just don't think we will be drafting for immediate impact.

Obviously great if it happens, but drafting a midfielder who won't play year 1 is fine

On Pixel 7 using BigFooty.com mobile app
Great to be back in a position where playing our draft picks from the prior year (especially first round picks) is no longer a given

Are we doing another Carlton board mock draft? I'm keen (shotgun drafting for North btw).

Yes plz, love these!!!

Jimmae

I actually prefer drafting in the later rounds, so keen on any of Bris/Freo/Rich.

If we stick to the 25-30 range with our two picks, I'd like to see us target the closest equivalent to Zac Bailey. Smaller, fast mid with good production, motor and goal nous. Is there one of these in the second round calcs?

Sounds like Gothard and/or Sanchez, but I’m only going off summaries, not my actual evaluations.

Agree, a Zac Bailey type is exactly what we need.

Players like Zac Bailey don’t grow on trees

Especially in the draft range we are in

Every AFL club’s clear list chasm — and the perfect draft targets who could fill them

CARLTON

Draft picks:
22, 28, 70, 78, 96

List chasm: It’s a good sign for the Blues that they don’t have any glaring list holes in need to addressing. They’ve once again bolstered their depth this off-season, bringing in Elijah Hollands from Gold Coast. It’s more about depth again at the draft and perhaps that is most needed in the forward half, where they have Charlie Curnow and Harry McKay but perhaps need bolstering a bit further up the ground. It’s why they were interested in Jade Gresham before ultimately cooling on him as Essendon pounced. They could also use a bit more outside polish, currently ranked 11th for ball movement and 12th for kick ratings.

Ideal draft prospects: Players like Zane Duursma or Nick Watson would be a dream for Carlton, but the interest in both means they won’t be around by the time the Blues pick first. Murray Bushrangers’ Darcy Wilson could be in the mix. A 185cm prospect, Wilson can not only run all day at high speed, but he‘s an excellent mark and has great goal sense. Others with traits the Blues might be after include Subiaco’s Koltyn Tholstrup, who has plenty of energy and can hit the logos. Clarence’s Jack Callinan is another option for later in the draft. Someone who could add some more dare to their forward half is Phoenix Gothard, with the Allies small forward able to have scoreboard impact as well as get up the ground as needed.
Not up with the "industry" lingo. What does "hit the logos" mean?

Sounds like Gothard and/or Sanchez, but I’m only going off summaries, not my actual evaluations.

Agree, a Zac Bailey type is exactly what we need.
I reckon by recruiting Fantasia, we appear to be showing our hand with the lack of firepower in the forward half.

I'm also hoping that we're looking to draft a mid size goalkicking forward. Sanchez is top of my list of those within our draft range, with Gothard as the next in line. Collard would be pretty handy, but you'd imagine North will grab him with one of their teen picks if he hasn't gone beforehand.

If we can keep him on the park, it's probably Fantasia. He'll be ready to slot straight in, he's got a bit of zip about him, can kick a goal on the run from 50m or with a snap or dribble from the contest. Not sure he's as good overhead as Bailey is, but you can't win them all.

If we're wanting to draft a player like that then it's almost certainly Sanchez. On exposed form, he's shown a greater capacity to push up the ground and win more of the ball.

Not exact likenesses, but if we're using the Brisbane smalls as a yardstick I'd compare Collard to Cameron, Sanchez to Bailey and Gothard to McCarthy. Collard is your electric, turn the game on it's head in a 15 minute patch small forward. Sanchez is a versatile forward/mid who ideally plays as a high forward and connects both lines. Gothard is predominantly a forward pocket with a few tricks, and while he'll bob up with an exhilarating piece of play here and there, he'll then disappear for a while.

Alternative options would be Moir as the Lincoln McCarthy type, but his drop in form from 2022 to 2023 is worrying, and DeLean as a forward pocket scoring option who has excelled at junior level but lacks the speed of the earlier candidates, raising some questions over how transferrable that form is to senior footy.