Analysis 2023 Draft Watch

Given the players in the range, I would love to hear “the General” has grown a centimetre or two to be close to key position height. Has top notch disposal and a defensive ethic second to none in this draft. Super disciplined and focussed, currently capable of playing on anyone in the draft class.
wasn't there a "general" poster round here at some stage? maybe "the general"?

Will that be our draft strategy as well
Sounds like he wants mid/Fwd depth, even after Hollands pick-up.

Trade up for Darcy Wilson.
Charlie Edwards may also need some manoeuvring, or De Mattia if they believe the hype (I don’t)
I personally like bull mid Cooper Simpson late, or Harvey Johnston as a smaller whispy option. Sanchez maybe.

Will that be our draft strategy as well
You would have to think so.
Half forward has been the biggest hole in our list for years, and I don't think it's coincidence that Martin and Cunners finally getting fit and into the team happened to match our turn around in form.
Ideally we can find a half forward/mid with genuine pace.

Given the players in the range, I would love to hear “the General” has grown a centimetre or two to be close to key position height. Has top notch disposal and a defensive ethic second to none in this draft. Super disciplined and focussed, currently capable of playing on anyone in the draft class.
Agree. Wil Dawson could be another good project.

You would have to think so.
Half forward has been the biggest hole in our list for years, and I don't think it's coincidence that Martin and Cunners finally getting fit and into the team happened to match our turn around in form.
Ideally we can find a half forward/mid with genuine pace.
I still don't trust they're durability. So it does need bolstering

Sounds like he wants mid/Fwd depth, even after Hollands pick-up.

Trade up for Darcy Wilson.
Charlie Edwards may also need some manoeuvring, or De Mattia if they believe the hype (I don’t)
I personally like bull mid Cooper Simpson late, or Harvey Johnston as a smaller whispy option. Sanchez maybe.
Yeah you'd think so

Would trading up to North's #15 be worthwhile?
(They have 15, 17 & 18)
Our 28 and F1 for their 15 and F3.

Upgrades 28 this year and optimizes next year a bit further.
For them collect a modest premium (~200pts) to push some current year value back to next.

* assuming North don't trade up to #1

Would trading up to North's #15 be worthwhile?
(They have 15, 17 & 18)
Our 28 and F1 for their 15 and F3.

Upgrades 28 this year and optimizes next year a bit further.
For them collect a modest premium (~200pts) to push some current year value back to next.

* assuming North don't trade up to #1
Don't see why they wouldn't - 15 and F1 effectively cancel out. So they'd be getting 28 this year for a F3.

As for us, perhaps we value our F1 lower due to the Campo twins. But just getting an F3 back really dents our points for next year. Is it worth it to just get to 15? Or would we then want to use 15 and 22 to get into the pointy end?

Don't mind it, but depends a bit on the situation with rule changes and points requirements.

Don't see why they wouldn't - 15 and F1 effectively cancel out. So they'd be getting 28 this year for a F3.

As for us, perhaps we value our F1 lower due to the Campo twins. But just getting an F3 back really dents our points for next year. Is it worth it to just get to 15? Or would we then want to use 15 and 22 to get into the pointy end?

Don't mind it, but depends a bit on the situation with rule changes and points requirements.
North traded us pick 25 (now 28) as part of the Fisher deal - not sure if we're able to trade it back to them under current AFL rules.

Otherwise it would be a good deal.

North traded us pick 25 (now 28) as part of the Fisher deal - not sure if we're able to trade it back to them under current AFL rules.

Otherwise it would be a good deal.
25 from north (became 26) we gave to GC and got 28 back in the Hollands trade.
Our 22 we did get from North (as 21 at the time)

25 from north (became 26) we gave to GC and got 28 back in the Hollands trade
I stand corrected - forgot about the GCS pick swap.

Come on Austin, start trading away!!! Our 28 and F1 for Norf's 15 and F3.

Reckon Norf would only do it on draft nite though depending on who's still on the board....I heard on one of the phantom draft pods that Clarkson is pretty keen on Collard with one of their picks in the teens, so it may be more like 28 and F1 for Norf's 18 and F3 after they've grabbed the players they're keen on.

I stand corrected - forgot about the GCS pick swap.

Come on Austin, start trading away!!! Our 28 and F1 for Norf's 15 and F3.

Reckon Norf would only do it on draft nite though depending on who's still on the board....I heard on one of the phantom draft pods that Clarkson is pretty keen on Collard with one of their picks in the teens, so it may be more like 28 and F1 for Norf's 18 and F3 after they've grabbed the players they're keen on.
Similarly only works for us if someone's there we don't think will last until 22

We've got Young and Durdin as back up KPD's. Young only 24 years old and about as good as you could ask for a back up after being pushed out for Kemp, Gov and Marchbank this year. Widely seen as B22 and comfortably good enough at the end of 2022 until he hit a form slump this year. Not too many teams in the league have a player as capable as Young sitting in the sheds.

Our small/med sized forwards remain our biggest list hole after addressing our wings last year. Other stuff like our midfield mix needing a touch more speed and finding our best mix of talls are all non issues in the grand scheme of things.

If i was picking our 5 weakest players from our 22 in 2023, 4 of them would probably be our small forwards. Kemp or Hollands would be the other one but both have shown heaps of signs of further improvement, Kemp especially has immense talent.
I respectfully disagree. We are fine across all lines except FB. If you take Weiters out of our side we don't have anyone to step up.
Young did a great job last time but he probably wont come back into the 22 while Weiters is still there and there's little chance he'll want to stay as depth. We need someone developing who can work in Tandem with Weiters and the sooner the better.

I respectfully disagree. We are fine across all lines except FB. If you take Weiters out of our side we don't have anyone to step up.
Young did a great job last time but he probably wont come back into the 22 while Weiters is still there and there's little chance he'll want to stay as depth. We need someone developing who can work in Tandem with Weiters and the sooner the better.
Any reason why Schoenmaker couldn’t play this role as he did a bit for Tassie down back.

My opinion this.

Owies, Durdin, Motlop, Fogarty and Cuningham all have major limitations as players and in comparison to the other top 8 teams they are a class below most of their small options.

Martin is our one small/med fwd that has a well rounded game and unfortunately he's usually injured. We saw this year how big of a difference Martin made to our fwd line when he came in and played some consistent footy.

Mots and Durds are still young so we'll wait and see on them.
Owies averaqed 1.5 goals a game.

That's doing your job as a small forward.

What's the Weiters and Young don't get on thing all about?

Owies averaqed 1.5 goals a game.

That's doing your job as a small forward.
Yes it is. But there's also a reason he was dropped in finals and it's because he wasn't able to create or find space with the increased pressure. He's limited in terms of his athleticism along with others in our mix.

We need to add points of difference to our forward group and Austin has also said as much