Prediction 2023 Ladder Prediction Thread

Gunston is slowing down. He struggled to get separation against the better defenders in 2022, but he should get it easier at Lions.

Still likely to be an upgrade on McStay, but he filled his boots against North and the Suns in 2022, and only kicked 11 goals against the top 8 for the year, so he’s a watch.
Gunston will get the 3rd best defender at the Lions I’m looking at Hipwood to have a massive breakout this year

He’s also going to have the likes of Neale, MCluggage, Bailey, Rayner, Zorko, Coleman and Rich kicking him the ball…very different to the likes of Connor Nash, Tom Mitchell, Jaeger O’Meara, James Worpel, Liam Shiels, Jiath and Finn Maginness..

Gunston will be massive for the Lions. Their forward line will be:

Gunston Daniher Bailey/Rayner

Cameron Hipwood McCarthy

That’s a top 3 forward line in the league.

Dunkley will also spend time down there.

He’s also going to have the likes of Neale, MCluggage, Bailey, Rayner, Zorko, Coleman and Rich kicking him the ball…very different to the likes of Connor Nash, Tom Mitchell, Jaeger O’Meara, James Worpel, Liam Shiels, Jiath and Finn Maginness..

Gunston will be massive for the Lions. Their forward line will be:

Gunston Daniher Bailey/Rayner

Cameron Hipwood McCarthy

That’s a top 3 forward line in the league.

Dunkley will also spend time down there.
Add Zorko to that list

Fair call but I can see him being used more across half back. He played a bit more there in the back half of 2022..kiddy Coleman was awesome last season and reckon they will use him more up the ground. With his foot skills their forwards will be kicking their lips!

Zorko came into round 1 with an achillies problem so they played him off half back the first 6 rounds
From round 7 on he was back into the Fwd/Mid role
However, he still carried an achillies issue for the remainder on the year. Also, hammy issues for a few rounds when subbed out
Because of these issues his total TOG was down 10% last year to only 71.9%. Also, his overall form dropped off.
Our halfbacks were Rich, Coleman and Answerth. We now have added McKenna
Zorko reportedly over his achillies and hammy issues.
However, he is 34 years old in February, so will be interesting to see how he holds up

You may end up being correct, and he finds himself off half back.

What?

Coleman is superb kick.

Bailey & Rayner are damaging by foot too.
An ageing Rich still has one of the best left foot kicks in the league.

Zorko and McCluggage are very good field kicks as well.

What a terrible analysis.

WLD%
1.Brisbane Lions2030123.6%
2.Geelong1850129.7%
3.Melbourne1760120.1%
4.Sydney1760113.1%
5.Richmond1670114.6%
6.Carlton1670111.4%
7.Western Bulldogs1580114.5%
8.Fremantle1580110.6%
9.Collingwood1490107.2%
10.Essendon12110105.8%
11.Gold Coast12110103.6%
12.Port Adelaide1013096.6%
13.St Kilda716089.9%
14.Adelaide518082.9%
15.West Coast518081.5%
16.GWS419079.4%
17.Hawthorn221074.3%
18.North Melbourne221070.2%

I'm more interested in what vast changes to their list are improving them? Dunkley out is a bigger loss than anything coming in IMO
Not at all ! Just means Bontempelli will play more midfield minutes as he won’t have to go forward and play as a tall. Bont will have a huge season this year - compare his midfield minutes to Cripps last season! Beverage loves diversity but our forward structure this season will allow Bont to thrive in the midfield.

WLD%
1.Brisbane Lions2030123.6%
2.Geelong1850129.7%
3.Melbourne1760120.1%
4.Sydney1760113.1%
5.Richmond1670114.6%
6.Carlton1670111.4%
7.Western Bulldogs1580114.5%
8.Fremantle1580110.6%
9.Collingwood1490107.2%
10.Essendon12110105.8%
11.Gold Coast12110103.6%
12.Port Adelaide1013096.6%
13.St Kilda716089.9%
14.Adelaide518082.9%
15.West Coast518081.5%
16.GWS419079.4%
17.Hawthorn221074.3%
18.North Melbourne221070.2%
Cats with highest %

Noted

Top 4 should be

Brisbane

Could throw Sydney in the mix too, Collingwood to fall just short of a double chance.

I have 3 groups

In no specific order

(1-3)
Brisbane

(4-12)
Freo
Port
Dogs
Suns

(13-18)
GWS
North

Throw darts as to who finishes (4-8) from the 2nd group. Will come down to injuries and who plays who and when they play them. Lots of luck involved. Fixture is a joke.

Melbourne to bite back hard this year and win it.

Pies and Swans to take a step back and Blues and Suns to be the biggest jumpers.

My mob will need plenty of luck to make the 8. Not out of the question though.

Top 4 should be

Brisbane

Could throw Sydney in the mix too, Collingwood to fall just short of a double chance.
Key words there are 'should be'. For almost the last 10 straight seasons, at least one team who missed finals made the top 4 the following year. Laugh at me all you want, but Carlton will finish in the top 4 this year.

In my opinion Dogs have one of the better lists in the competition

Should be challenging
This seems a common opinion, but I think it's clear that the Bulldogs are entering 2023 with a less impressive list than 2022.

• Josh Dunkley is a seriously good footballer and drew a great deal of balance toward their midfielder. He attacked, defended, was versatile, kicked goals and gave players like Bont and Macrae the chance to play more outside. His departure I believe could result in more restrictive football for the big guns, with there being one less good midfielder to watch.
  • on top of Dunkley's departure, they replaced him with nobody. Maybe McLean or West can step up and fill a gap but otherwise, the club has little to no emerging midfield talent.
  • we're yet to see where Jones is after 12 months out of top football. Is he that much an upgrade on the likes of Keath and Gardner if at all?
  • Rory Lobb is an incredibly polarising footballer and I would not back him to build goal kicking consistency so late in his career. At 29 years old he has only just delivered his first 30+ goal season, and it's rare to see such late breakouts result in long-term consistency. Though he delivers on occasion, he's a frustrating player and I'm not convinced he improves the Bulldogs' structure forward of the ball. The one thing about Lobb is that he's a good chop out ruck for English.

Their back group looks every bit as average as it did last year, with only better KPD depth looking to be the difference. The likes of Duryea, Willims, Gardner, Keath etc haven't been enough before and I doubt they will be now. Their midfield is simply not as good without Dunkley and his output will be hard to fine elsewhere. Their forward line is arguably improved but they need that second clever goal kicking small and hopefully for them Charlie Clarke will be the one to pair with Weightman. Perhaps Lobb gives JUH greater freedom to impact the scoresheet.

The wildcard is Sam Darcy who is clearly brilliant and can be developed anywhere. I'd be looking to grow him at centre half-back.

Personally I'll be very surprised if they can crack top six. The fringe of the eight I believe is their best shot.

This seems a common opinion, but I think it's clear that the Bulldogs are entering 2023 with a less impressive list than 2022.

• Josh Dunkley is a seriously good footballer and drew a great deal of balance toward their midfielder. He attacked, defended, was versatile, kicked goals and gave players like Bont and Macrae the chance to play more outside. His departure I believe could result in more restrictive football for the big guns, with there being one less good midfielder to watch.
  • on top of Dunkley's departure, they replaced him with nobody. Maybe McLean or West can step up and fill a gap but otherwise, the club has little to no emerging midfield talent.
  • we're yet to see where Jones is after 12 months out of top football. Is he that much an upgrade on the likes of Keath and Gardner if at all?
  • Rory Lobb is an incredibly polarising footballer and I would not back him to build goal kicking consistency so late in his career. At 29 years old he has only just delivered his first 30+ goal season, and it's rare to see such late breakouts result in long-term consistency. Though he delivers on occasion, he's a frustrating player and I'm not convinced he improves the Bulldogs' structure forward of the ball. The one thing about Lobb is that he's a good chop out ruck for English.

Their back group looks every bit as average as it did last year, with only better KPD depth looking to be the difference. The likes of Duryea, Willims, Gardner, Keath etc haven't been enough before and I doubt they will be now. Their midfield is simply not as good without Dunkley and his output will be hard to fine elsewhere. Their forward line is arguably improved but they need that second clever goal kicking small and hopefully for them Charlie Clarke will be the one to pair with Weightman. Perhaps Lobb gives JUH greater freedom to impact the scoresheet.

The wildcard is Sam Darcy who is clearly brilliant and can be developed anywhere. I'd be looking to grow him at centre half-back.

Personally I'll be very surprised if they can crack top six. The fringe of the eight I believe is their best shot.

1. Didn't need to replace J. Dunkley, for the vast majority of last two years we've been playing mids completely out of position just to have them play, Treloar was thrown all over the park last season, forward, back, wing, he can now cement a midfield spot. McLean and West can step in and help fill holes, West has alot of development to do but McLean showed in his one AFL game last season that he will be a welcome addition back into the midfield.

2. Jones plays number one KPD on the gorillas, Gardner second and Keath back to being third/intercept type. It gives us options.

3. The chop out from Lobb cannot be understated, whenever we'd lose moment during games in 2022 was when English came off and we'd have Zaine/Buku/Bruce/??? go into ruck, we now have a key chop-out ruck who has just come off his best season as a forward. Might not be the savior we all want but the ability to chop out for English is massive.

4. The same back group in 2022 that was rated 17th in the comp for all stats, was the same back group that was floating between 1 and 2 during 2021. I put alot of it down to coaching, and some mental scars from the GF the year before, losing two key assistant coaches didn't help as well.

Alot remains to be seen, but I'm confident top 6+ is possible with this group.

1. Didn't need to replace J. Dunkley, for the vast majority of last two years we've been playing mids completely out of position just to have them play, Treloar was thrown all over the park last season, forward, back, wing, he can now cement a midfield spot. McLean and West can step in and help fill holes, West has alot of development to do but McLean showed in his one AFL game last season that he will be a welcome addition back into the midfield.

2. Jones plays number one KPD on the gorillas, Gardner second and Keath back to being third/intercept type. It gives us options.

3. The chop out from Lobb cannot be understated, whenever we'd lose moment during games in 2022 was when English came off and we'd have Zaine/Buku/Bruce/??? go into ruck, we now have a key chop-out ruck who has just come off his best season as a forward. Might not be the savior we all want but the ability to chop out for English is massive.

4. The same back group in 2022 that was rated 17th in the comp for all stats, was the same back group that was floating between 1 and 2 during 2021. I put alot of it down to coaching, and some mental scars from the GF the year before, losing two key assistant coaches didn't help as well.

Alot remains to be seen, but I'm confident top 6+ is possible with this group.
That’s fair on Dunkley, and obviously your midfield would still be one of the league’s better but I don’t think you’ve got the cattle to replace his importance. Treloar might play more inside which is really all he can play these days, but I’m not convinced he or McLean can consistently play good footy in the guts anymore.

I don’t hate Jones but I don’t particularly rate him that highly. He’ll find life a little tougher playing first fiddle to Gardner and fast aging Keath than Weitering. He wins one on ones but makes a lot of fluff errors too.

One thing I look forward to seeing at the Bulldogs is their young forward depth make improvement. I’m very bullish on the freshly drafted Clarke, and I like what I’ve seen so far of Bedendo and Garcia. Id like to see these boys get a very good run at things. Then obviously there’s Jamarra too and possibly Sam Darcy. Your forward six structure will be interesting to see

Pretty obvious top 6 with the premier coming from this group of teams.

Any two of Freo, Pies, Suns or Dogs to round out the top 8 but not good enough to win the competition.

Bombers, Port and Saints just middle of the road but could sneak into the 8 with everything going right for them.

Final 5 vying for the spoon with the Hawks more than likely at this stage. Injuries for this lot will determine who finishes last.

1. Lions
2. Tigers
3. Dees
4. Blues
5. Cats
6. Swans
7. Freo
8. Pies
9. Suns
10. Dogs
11. Bombers
12. Port
13. Saints
14. Crows
15. Giants
16. Roos
17. Eagles
18. Hawks
Very close to what i have as well mate. Although I have tigs at 5th instead and switched freo with suns.
Cats will take the minor again until teams figure out how to beat them at the thinner ground. Lions for the flag.

1. Cats
2. Lions
3. Dees
4. Blues
5. Tigers
6. Swans
7. Suns
8. Pies
9. Freo
10. Dogs
11. Bombers
12. Port