List Mgmt. 2023 List Management thread

Mod notice after Mr Bob did a lot of annoying work in moving days of posts out of here. As we are heading into offseason, this thread is for 2023 list management only. Getting upset on previous trades can be taken to the vent thread. Lets keep this thread on track in the part of the year it's actually relevant

Nah, I've got my eye on Dow for West Coast. I think he plays his best footy as the player hunting the ball off the ruck contest and then either breaking out the front of the stoppage or passing it the better users on the outside.

I think he will make Tim Kelly look like a brownlow medalist and they are missing that player while Ginbey develops.
Did you announce that appointment yet? Or just doing your homework for when it happens? Seriously couldn’t be worse than their current one.

I think what certain posters have established (an opinion I agree with) is that five list changes IS minimal list turnover.

Anything less is a historical low for the last decade.

Thinking we'll technically be at 6-7 once we downgrade a player or two to the rookie list but doubt JL is referring to these 'list changes'.

I'd still be shocked if Hamling stays on the list

I thought the opposite when he is starting with the ball outside forward fifty. Actually, I think our forwards kick the ball the best into the forward fifty. There was a couple of beauties to the advantage of the forward kicked by Treacy and Sturt.
Ive said this plenty times before. Ít's because actual forwards are better at doing actual forward things. They turn and go quicker, while there's still space for other actual forwards to lead into. And then they actually look for the space and actually lead into it or kick to it. As opposed to an ''Áthlete'' like cough TABS cough who could run around heaps and clunk marks but also do heaps of dumb shit.

That’s 1x rookie list spot for Reidy. Treacy and Banfield are already on the main list, even if they weren’t transferring them between lists doesn’t free up more spots.

The list is full currently (38 main, 4 rookie, 2 B rookie) so to bring in a new player, 1x player has to be delisted, not transferred from main to rookie or vice versa.
The rookie list barely gets used these days and what a lot of the selections are involve clubs moving players from primary list to rookie list.

So yes 1 live selection and 2 players added from primary list. I don’t see prob myself.

I’d rather have 4 selections in main draft. If Hamling is cut or had enough then we have 2 live selections.

I also suggested that whilst Reidy could be cut that we get him back to train along with some other mature age rucks and pass on one of our rookie selections to have an SSP ruck selection which may end up being Reidy.

Harsh on Reidy I agree but when Darcy gets injured we need without hesitation to bring in another ruck to support LJ. Hamling has come straight in for Cox. Ready to go ruck around the age of mid to late 20’s would be ideal. If no one is better than Reidy or he trains the house down then he goes back on as a rookie and gets some game time in pre-season. For whatever reason they have declined to play him (prob because he isn’t ready for AFL) and instead went for Corbett who from my opinion was not playing that well at Peel.

I think you'd actually find it very hard to find an example of a team passing a third round selection at the National Draft. The second pick in the fourth round would be exactly the same.

Those picks will come in 5-10 spots when all the bids are matched. With Carlton's third rounder we're probably talking about passing a selection in the 40s - that doesn't happen.
I’m sure we’ll take 4 picks in ND. At the very least (and in my opinion unlikely) we take 3. As per my post above I feel we’ll prob only take 1-2 live picks in RD and one of those we may hold back for SSP or MSD.

I think he’s been mentioned a few times here a there but Ben Miller from Rich should be a hard target.
Plays Key back or Ruck at a serviceable level.
Helps solve the issue of keeping Hammer or Reidy.
Is local, is 24 & ooc
Gibcus is back next year so probably falls out of the 22.
Should be gettable

I think he’s been mentioned a few times here a there but Ben Miller from Rich should be a hard target.
Plays Key back or Ruck at a serviceable level.
Helps solve the issue of keeping Hammer or Reidy.
Is local, is 24 & ooc
Gibcus is back next year so probably falls out of the 22.
Should be gettable
I've been rather unimpressed by his painfully slow development. I'd rather we look at alternatives.

I’m sure we’ll take 4 picks in ND. At the very least (and in my opinion unlikely) we take 3. As per my post above I feel we’ll prob only take 1-2 live picks in RD and one of those we may hold back for SSP or MSD.

I can actually see it being as little as three in the National Draft, one in the Rookie Draft if Liam Henry ends up staying at the club.

We’d have to delist and rookie list one player to stay at the 36,6,2 we’re running with atm.

That’d technically make it either 5 or 6 changes to the list, which what would be defined as ‘minimal list changes’.

I can actually see it being as little as three in the National Draft, one in the Rookie Draft if Liam Henry ends up staying at the club.

We’d have to delist and rookie list one player to stay at the 36,6,2 we’re running with atm.

That’d technically make it either 5 or 6 changes to the list, which what would be defined as ‘minimal list changes’.
If Henry stays I agree we’ll only take 3 ND selections.

on Gettable today Twomey listed off a heap of clubs that could be in the running for gold coasts first pick in a pick swap.

We were not one of them 🙃

The scenario discussed on here where we swap our F1 and something for pick 5 was not on Twomeys radar. He must have named 8 or 9 other clubs vying for it however

on Gettable today Twomey listed off a heap of clubs that could be in the running for gold coasts first pick in a pick swap.

The scenario discussed on here where we swap our F1 and something for pick 5 was not on Twomeys radar. He must have named 8 or 9 other clubs vying for it however
My early tip is West Coast or Sydney They are the two clubs best positioned to get together a package of picks.

Suns would have no interest in a player and future picks aren't going to help with their match bids on 3 1st Round bids.

We're out of this I'm afraid. Would be a different story if we'd had a better off season last year, but those decisions were always coming back to kick us in the teeth at some stage.

It sounded like he was just spitballing rather than drawing upon inside info though. Not that I am necessarily advocating trading our F1.

I’ve noticed he has very little insight into the list management team at freo. I reckon every other list manager in the league has been on his pod over the years but I’ve never heard David Walls on there. Maybe Peter bell did a couple of trade radio interviews but that’s about it

He usually has good intel on clubs and to be honest there are a number of clubs that will be able to trump any offer we come up with.

My opinion only and after running the numbers GCS need a decent late teens or very early second round pick and two would really help their cause. I don’t reckon a F1 will be high on their hit list but you never know.

As much as it would be nice I’d prefer we hang onto F1 and do some deals to improve our position in the second round.

He usually has good intel on clubs and to be honest there are a number of clubs that will be able to trump any offer we come up with.

I don't think Cal has ever known about something at Freo happening behind the scenes before it rushes into the news, the Brodie and #19 story wasn't one that turned around overnight but Brodie wasn't linked to Freo before as far as I know.

Apparently shelling out 800,000 a year to a B graders is a coup..?
Right? This guy is mid. If some dumbass team is offering that much for a guy like this you let them do it and rob them of the draft picks.

I don't think Cal has ever known about something at Freo happening behind the scenes before it rushes into the news, the Brodie and #19 story wasn't one that turned around overnight but Brodie wasn't linked to Freo before as far as I know.
Brodie was linked to freo for a while, I remember seeing an article about it in the West.

Himmelberg to stay with GWS. Reckon this will make the Swans go even harder for Naughton.

Agree, I spitballed on here somewhere about a year ago that Naughton to the Swans would be on the radar when Buddy retires.
They’ve always chased a big name forward that gets people through the turnstiles, sort of need that in a non-AFL state. A face for the club who the average non AFL follower can get behind and who can light up a game.
Naughton fits the bill more than any other player I can think of at the moment, I reckon they’ll go hard for him. (can we convince them on Tabs??🤣)