List Mgmt. 2023 List Management thread

Mod notice after Mr Bob did a lot of annoying work in moving days of posts out of here. As we are heading into offseason, this thread is for 2023 list management only. Getting upset on previous trades can be taken to the vent thread. Lets keep this thread on track in the part of the year it's actually relevant

I really really want the pick traded to watch some heads explode

Your point is sound that the choice of elite player or multiple draft picks being the same when the elite player is Luke Jackson or Harley Reid.

If you're not comfortable trading bulk good picks for Jackson because you prefer multiple high picks then you must be comfortable trading pick #1 (Reid) for multiple high picks.

The hyperbole around the best players in the draft going on to be generational talents over the last five to ten years has blunted by expectations of any of them doing that. Arguably two of them are currently on our list, Jackson and Amiss drafted at pick #3 and #8.

The melt down that would come from trading Harley Reid would be quite a show.

Just to add he’s injury proned and gives away heaps of free kicks. Heads out of the sand please.

Just to back you up on the free kicks.

Sean Darcy averages 1.3 frees against this season, which ranks him as the 21st worst offender of all the players in the AFL listed as rucks. So there is almost a whole team of players listed as rucks who are averaging worse results per game, without a threshold of games played.

He has 1.3 frees for this season too, ranking him 19th for all rucks.

But score involvements averages?

Luke Jackson is ranked #1, Sean Darcy is #2
Score launches, Sean Darcy is #1
Goal assists, Darcy is =#3 (by 0.1)

Yeo without the injury history could be the Brian Lake move. With them it feels more like Bryce Gibbs.

Edit: Brett Delidio a better example.

Sean Darcy averages 1.3 frees against this season, which ranks him as the 21st worst offender of all the players in the AFL listed as rucks. So there is almost a whole team of players listed as rucks who are averaging worse results per game, without a threshold of games played.

How about other seasons. To me he’s always giving them away.

It's a meaningless point tbh... It's a season like no other.
I don’t think it’s a meaningless point at all mattis117

My argument was that he wouldn’t want to “badly” play for Freo as Dayts suggested, given we too are a below average side.

As freo_leo29 pointed out, he’s not going to burn bridges with a club renown for looking after its players post retirement to join the cross town rival. Which never happens btw.

I could definitely see him exploring his options elsewhere though ie Carlton, Port, Brisbane etc - where the teams window aligns with his age profile.

I remember Sandilands often being top for both stats. It's just what bigger rucks do tbh.

Got to take the good with the bad in that scenario.

Think your heads in the sand. Darcy will be top 5 in the BnF till he got injured. Jackson has only beaten Williams, fort and Stanley hardly high quality ruckman. No way freo should be looking to trade him.
After Serong, Darcy was easily our best player before he got hurt. Would've been comfortably second in our b&f. Very short memories on here. Jackson's best game of the year (imo) came when Darcy was playing as the number 1 ruck vs Hawthorn.

Your point is sound that the choice of elite player or multiple draft picks being the same when the elite player is Luke Jackson or Harley Reid.

If you're not comfortable trading bulk good picks for Jackson because you prefer multiple high picks then you must be comfortable trading pick #1 (Reid) for multiple high picks.

The hyperbole around the best players in the draft going on to be generational talents over the last five to ten years has blunted by expectations of any of them doing that. Arguably two of them are currently on our list, Jackson and Amiss drafted at pick #3 and #8.

The melt down that would come from trading Harley Reid would be quite a show.
Plus I literally saw them say they would not be comfortable with 1 for 3, 5 and Sharp and there is no way someone offers something that good for him. It's insane. It would be a double melt of trading the guy they had basically already decided was an Eagle and getting a lot less than they thought they'd get

Darcy must stay!

Darcy/Jackson, two headed monster, set to star in the "Return of The Killer Rucks" !
Whereas
Biggest box office flop for 24-25 "Death of The Ruckman"

Yokai!

Any Seer's here that can predict how long it will take Conrad Williams to reach where Henry is at now. Watching him on Saturday it didn't look like it would be that far off. Just needs to bulk up a bit. I noticed the coach gave him the open wing and Stanley and NOD took the other when Williams was on the ground.

Get that. A fit Elliot Yeo is a Brian Lake move. Risk/reward is huge.

I’ve like what I’ve seen of him off half back the last few weeks.

Word is North are into him big time. Yeo has been told his contract <> his performance and there will be need to be some readjustments if he wants to remain at WCE.

Any Seer's here that can predict how long it will take Conrad Williams to reach where Henry is at now. Watching him on Saturday it didn't look like it would be that far off. Just needs to bulk up a bit. I noticed the coach gave him the open wing and Stanley and NOD took the other when Williams was on the ground.
Haven't watched him at Peel but in the training photos he looks about 15kg off (he's quite tall).

Feels like a real slow burn which is fine if he can stay Cat B for the first few years. I reckon 2 more seasons before he seriously impacts at Peel. Could go from WAFL standard to AFL standard really fast given his traits though.

Haven't watched him at Peel but in the training photos he looks about 15kg off (he's quite tall).

Feels like a real slow burn which is fine if he can stay Cat B for the first few years. I reckon 2 more seasons before he seriously impacts at Peel. Could go from WAFL standard to AFL standard really fast given his traits though.
I've seen plenty of players look 5-10kg underweight for AFL level but still make quite an impact. Our former skipper is certainly one that comes to mind.

If he improves his footy at the rate he currently is it might be much sooner than we think.

Between Aish, NOD, Stanley and various other players we could pull from other positions he might need to be quite good to get an opportunity. That's if Henry leaves too.