List Mgmt. 2023 List Management thread

Mod notice after Mr Bob did a lot of annoying work in moving days of posts out of here. As we are heading into offseason, this thread is for 2023 list management only. Getting upset on previous trades can be taken to the vent thread. Lets keep this thread on track in the part of the year it's actually relevant

I'd prefer no salary dump and they'd pay whatever required to bring his payments down to his actual value. Any dead contract we take on is a Schultz level player we lose down the track

I appreciate that and there may be an open door to facilitate that previously disallowed St Kilda/Essendon situation:

Essendon want to swap Gresham for Shiel, St Kilda want to swap Gresham and Billings for Henry and Shiel, Fremantle want to swap Henry for pick #13 and Billings.

Essendon pay Gresham what Shiel is paid to trigger the band one, St Kilda take on Shiel's salary.
Fremantle take on Billings but Fremantle also throw in a pick so St Kilda pay him $200,000 a year for the next two.
Fremantle trade Henry for the compensation pick for Gresham, Essendon trade Shiel for the existing St Kilda pick.

Net result is:
Essendon: Gresham, pick #12 comes in. Shiel goes out.
St Kilda: Henry, Shiel, F2 come in. Pick #12 and $200,000 for two years goes out
Fremantle: Billings (+2x $200k), #13 comes in. F2 and Henry goes out.

[I'm not including St Kilda losing pick #13 because the AFL inject that currency]

I still don't really see what Essendon get out of it, similar to the current talk of the deal with those two clubs, but if the compensation pick for Gresham doesn't end up with Essendon then the AFL has zero problem with it and we kind of want that pick.

I keep going to the AFL site looking for trade news and it's filled with Brisbane and Collingwood **** that nobody cares about. Is there a game on this week?

With the exception of Henry, IMO the less trade news we are involved in the better at this point.

I appreciate that and there may be an open door to facilitate that previously disallowed St Kilda/Essendon situation:

Essendon want to swap Gresham for Shiel, St Kilda want to swap Gresham and Billings for Henry and Shiel, Fremantle want to swap Henry for pick #13 and Billings.

Essendon pay Gresham what Shiel is paid to trigger the band one, St Kilda take on Shiel's salary.
Fremantle take on Billings but Fremantle also throw in a pick so St Kilda pay him $200,000 a year for the next two.
Fremantle trade Henry for the compensation pick for Gresham, Essendon trade Shiel for the existing St Kilda pick.

Net result is:
Essendon: Gresham, pick #12 comes in. Shiel goes out.
St Kilda: Henry, Shiel, F2 come in. Pick #12 and $200,000 for two years goes out
Fremantle: Billings (+2x $200k), #13 comes in. F2 and Henry goes out.

[I'm not including St Kilda losing pick #13 because the AFL inject that currency]

I still don't really see what Essendon get out of it, similar to the current talk of the deal with those two clubs, but if the compensation pick for Gresham doesn't end up with Essendon then the AFL has zero problem with it and we kind of want that pick.
Tangent but that whole Gresham/Shiel thing seems bizarre and until someone with a brain reports on it, I'm just going to be confused. I see absolutely no reason for Essendon to generate pick 13 for either St Kilda or for St Kilda to give back to them. Whoever doesnt get the pick gets dudded.

I'll hold hope the pick is coming to us for Henry with 22 because that at least make a bit more sense to me

Talking about Ruscoe for a few pages is the equivalent of popping into Coles and finding the black and gold version of your favourite soup roughly 17c cheaper.

I mean times are tough and 17c could allow you to purchase that paper bag because you forgot to bring your own bag for the 183rd time BUT there’s no denying it… the soup is horrible. No one wants the soup. Why are we even considering the soup.

Ruscoe is the type of soup that sits in your pantry for 12 years.

With the exception of Henry, IMO the less trade news we are involved in the better at this point.
Nah that's boring. Bring on the totally unexpected!

Darcy and maybe Schultz are the only ones I feel vulnerable on and with Darcy, the offer would have to be ridiculous for us to even look at it - i.e. won't happen.

Personally, I think Tabs is worth a 1st to Melbourne and no, I am not living in fantasy land.

Talking about Ruscoe for a few pages is the equivalent of popping into Coles and finding the black and gold version of your favourite soup roughly 17c cheaper.

I mean times are tough and 17c could allow you to purchase that paper bag because you forgot to bring your own bag for the 183rd time BUT there’s no denying it… the soup is horrible. No one wants the soup. Why are we even considering the soup.

Happens every year. So and so gets delisted what about him… Ruscoe will be delisted. He was selected at 57 in his draft and has barely played over the past few years and from what I’ve seen hasn’t exactly set the world on fire in the VFL.

The only black and gold or coles brand I consider buying these days is white rice. Ruscoe isn’t even white rice and I can’t stand cheap and nasty soup and I’m sure Walls hates it as well. Former first round draft picks that he missed out on like Brodie, Clark, Jackson and others from the first round, but a player selected in the fourth or fifth round and barely played a handful of games over the past 2-3 years … no thanks

The only black and gold or coles brand I consider buying these days is white rice. Ruscoe isn’t even white rice and I can’t stand cheap and nasty soup

gary coleman wtf GIF

Please expand.
I thought the talks about Essendon helping generate pick 13 for Gresham would be because we can give 22 and make it all work and (mostly) make sense as follows:

Saints
In: Henry, Shiel
Out: Gresham

Freo
In: 13
Out: Henry, 22

In: Gresham, 22
Out: Shiel, Extra money

But apparently SOS is just going to be turning Gresham into Shiel and helping his mate Dodo for shits and giggles

Saints
In: Shiel on lower salary

In: Gresham, 13
Out: Shiel, lots of money

I thought the talks about Essendon helping generate pick 13 for Gresham would be because we can give 22 and make it all work and (mostly) make sense as follows:

Saints
In: Henry, Shiel

Freo
In: 13
Out: Henry, 22

In: Gresham, 22
Out: Shiel, Extra money

But apparently SOS is just going to be turning Gresham into Shiel and helping his mate Dodo for shits and giggles

Saints
In: Shiel on lower salary

In: Gresham, 13
Out: Shiel, lots of money
Oh I see. Was the deal including Henry ever touted by the clubs or was this just some creative accounting by BF nuffies?

I'd be fine with getting Ruscoe if he's essentially a free hit, I don't see any downside to taking him on as depth if we pay **** all for him.

Cal had a nice little dig at Clarko's bullshit hypocrisy on gettable today

I had a listen to this. Honestly can’t see Essendon being stupid enough to pay such premium dollar that they would get band 1. Basically zero chance. The best they could hope for is band 2 which will be around pick 21 location. Even then Essendon really have to throw a heap of cash at Gresham to get that deal.

Band 3 is most likely and Cal was even talking band 4 (end of second round). A pick in the 30’s or 40’s isn’t really going to get anyone excited.

I reckon we will be well down the discussion path with saints. Apparently the clubs were having a get together for pre- trade discussions. I’d expect Freo maintain position on St Kilda getting themselves into 20-25 range (after all the compo movements).

I'd be fine with getting Ruscoe if he's essentially a free hit, I don't see any downside to taking him on as depth if we pay * all for him.
We are super tight for list spots. We add Ruscoe and should we get a pick in the 20’s for Henry we will be basically passing on our pick in the early 40’s in the ND.

I had a listen to this. Honestly can’t see Essendon being stupid enough to pay such premium dollar that they would get band 1. Basically zero chance. The best they could hope for is band 2 which will be around pick 21 location. Even then Essendon really have to throw a heap of cash at Gresham to get that deal.

Band 3 is most likely and Cal was even talking band 4 (end of second round). A pick in the 30’s or 40’s isn’t really going to get anyone excited.

I reckon we will be well down the discussion path with saints. Apparently the clubs were having a get together for pre- trade discussions. I’d expect Freo maintain position on St Kilda getting themselves into 20-25 range (after all the compo movements).
I've settled on Gresham being worth band 2 in the FA market. I'd match if I was the Saints and it was band 3 and get Essendons 2nd instead. He's still a 26 year old 18 touch, 1+ goal a game player with history of playing well above that.

Morris or Edmund associated Henry with it briefly
Ah ok. I recall the Tradies podcast where Mitch Cleary and Sam McClure jousted about Henrys pick value. One suggested a pick around 20 that he expected was gonna get called out for being too generous, and then the other said he reckoned pick 12 was appropriate. But neither mentioned any connection to the Shiel/Gresham trade.