Preview 2023 Rd 1 - GWS Giants v Adelaide Crows, 1.10 pm Sunday 19 March @ Giants Stadium

The GIANTS kick start their 2023 season under new coach Adam Kingsley against the Crows at GIANTS Stadium on Sunday.

MATCH DETAILS

GIANTS v Crows
Sunday, March 19 at 1:10pm
Wangal Country | GIANTS Stadium

Gates open at 12:10pm

MEMBERSHIP AND TICKETING

General Public Tickets

GIANTS fans who wish to get tickets to Sunday's match can purchase directly through Ticketmaster, click here to secure your seats now.

Don’t forget kids go free in '23*! That's right, kids aged 15 and under go free with a ticket to every GIANTS home game in 2023, when accompanied by a paying adult. Plus, we've frozen ticket prices for the third consecutive year, so adult tickets start at just $25!

*Visit gwsgiants.info/tcs for full terms and conditions.

Members Access

If you're a member, getting into the game is easy!

If you have a physical members card, simply have this ready for scanning on arrival at GIANTS Stadium. If you hold a digital ticket, download the GIANTS App and select 'My Tickets' in the menu at bottom on your screen! Then select ‘Rd 1: GWS GIANTS v Adelaide Crows’. From here you'll be able to save your ticket to your wallet.

For more instructions on mobile ticketing, or if you need any assistance, visit the online Members Hub or our membership team outside the main gate at GIANTS Stadium.

If you’re not a member already - Be bigger in orange in 2023 by becoming one! Perks are bigger in orange, game day is bigger in orange and footy is bigger in orange in 2023. Being a GIANTS member is so much more than just entry to the game.

Jump on board and join the big big sound to get the most out of your footy experience! Join now.

Member of the Match

The GIANTS are rewarding a lucky member each week for simply coming to the game!

Keep an eye on the big screen for the announcement of our Member of the Match and to find out how to collect your prize.

Members Bar

The Members Bar is back in 2023, located on the concourse within the Members Stand. All members can access this space both pre-game and during the match. Members receive 10 per cent off selected food and drink in the Members Bar.

GAME DAY ACTIVITIES

Sneaky Sound System

Get the party started with Sneaky Sound System performing at GIANTS Stadium pre-match and during half-time!

Activations

Visit the Harvey Norman team chill out zone in the precinct and join in all of the fun and games with table tennis, GIANT Connect 4 and giveaways!

Quarter-Time

Dare to be Loud with Harvey Norman and JBL! Get up on your feet during the quarter-time break and show off your best dance moves during Harvey Norman Dance Cam for your chance to win a $100 Harvey Norman Gift Card!

Fan Zone

• The GIANTS Fan Zone is back in action throughout the season and will be filled with loads of fun and FREE activities for all ages!
  • We’ve got the GIANTS Big Kick and Netball inflatables - test your kicking and netball skills at our GIANTS inflatables.
  • We’ve also got face painting and airbrush tattoos available for free in the Fan Zone so make sure you deck yourself out in as much orange as possible to support your GIANTS.

$2 Hot Chips

Feed the family and enjoy a footy favourite with $2 hot chips all season long! (While stock lasts, limit of two per transaction, visit gwsgiants.info/tcs for full terms and conditions)

GETTING TO GIANTS STADIUM

Trains run regularly to Olympic Park and the Stadium is a short walk from the station.

You'll need to use an Opal card or contactless payment card/device. Register your details online at Opal or via the app ahead of time.

Plan your trip here.

If you’re driving, consider pre-booking your parking online, available until 11:59pm the night before the game. The best parking for GIANTS Stadium is the P1 and P6 car parks.

POST-MATCH FUNCTION

Following our clash against the Crows, we’re inviting you to come back to the home of the GIANTS, the VALO Community Centre, to meet the players and visit the GIANTS Shop!

MERCHANDISE

The GIANTS Shop at GIANTS Stadium is located inside Gate D. Member discounts and GIANTS Shop vouchers can be redeemed at outlets at the Stadium or at the GIANTS Shop at the VALO Community Centre.

MOST VALUABLE GIANT, PRESENTED BY TOYO TIRES

Vote for your Most Valuable GIANT! After our game on Sunday, GIANTS fans will be able to vote for their most valuable player in a 3, 2, 1 voting style. Vote via our Instagram story or on the GIANTS app - Click here to download it now. The overall winner of the Most Valuable GIANT - as chosen by you - will be awarded the trophy at this year’s Kevin Sheedy Medal.

TEAM SELECTION

The GIANTS will name a 26-man squad at 6:20pm on Thursday before naming the final team at 5pm on Friday at gwsgiants.com.au.

sorry for the intrusion, but this is wrong I think. You guys have towelled us up the last few times we have played and with your new coach and how your side played last week, we are going to have to be right on our game to make it a good contest

Where we are more bullish is that we can see more young quality in the side and Rankine could be anything but if somehow we get the win, it will have been hard earned as I see your side making a big spike up the ladder this year

Rankine is an absolute GUN ! And I am a big Rochelle fan (is that how you spell it)

The form in the practice matches was great even without Tex.

Best of luck for the season mate. Should have plenty to cheer about at the crows

I like Aleers development so far. One thing I’d like to see improve is his ability to stay on his feet… I feel he loses his feet too often and is then out of the play/contest.

Hey GP. You know the thing I get confused at with Aleer. He is built like a brick S@&! House and from the instagram posts he can bench press almost as much as anyone in the club. But he gets ragdolled so easily by opponents.

I guess it will come with time, but I just thought he would be a bit stronger out there

Hey GP. You know the thing I get confused at with Aleer. He is built like a brick S@&! House and from the instagram posts he can bench press almost as much as anyone in the club. But he gets ragdolled so easily by opponents.

I guess it will come with time, but I just thought he would be a bit stronger out there

Usually that means poor balance - you can be as big as a brick s**t house but if you get knocked off your line or your positioning you're not light enough on your feet.

The comparisons of talent on each line are useless. It’s the way you play with that talent

Imo we should win on Sunday comfortably. And if we don’t….. we’ll it’s going to be a long old season cos there are a lot of teams better than the crows out there

I see it differently. Big biceps… skinny waist, bum and legs. I think he might be a bit easy to move around.

I like Aleer and see good qualities in him. At the least, he has a great leap, good positioning, and great reach to pluck the ball out of the air. At the least, he'll take the third tall - intercepting role - from Nick Haynes. (Possibly sooner rather than later if Nick can't get his form back.)

But whether he can be a second tall comes down to exactly this conversation around being too easily moved off his man by strong forwards. It may be correctable, with more training, specialist advice, and added weight and muscle. If not, he'll be limited to the third tall role. That's not necessarily terrible for GWS - Buckley is still an option for that second tall role, and we could look to Himmelberg too, and Wade Derksen is an option to consider converting from KPF as well.

Usually that means poor balance - you can be as big as a brick s**t house but if you get knocked off your line or your positioning you're not light enough on your feet.
I'm not sure it's an issue with balance but more an issue with his technique when defending 1 one 1's, poor technique and technical skills will allow him to quickly be put in posiitons he doesn't want to be in and lose the leverage battle between him and his opponent making him look a lot less physicall able. Think it's a refinement of technique that is required, making sure he's using his hands and body properly to position himself relative to his defender to ensure that he's not easily manipulated in the contest.

Here's the afl.com.au take on Adam Kingsley's media interview today (see the coaching thread for that video):

Personally, I don't think that we'll run a hard tag on Rory Laird - at least to start with. Just that the mids will need to be accountable. If he starts getting off the leash, though, I can see us tightening up with Perryman the most likely to move into a hard tagging role.

they asked his if they will tag him, and he said they'll have to pay attention to him. It was a reactionary comment. I dont think we need to read too much into it. I suspect, like most good players, they will take note of where he is.

The comments about Phil being a chance to play are interesting.

Haynes came off the ground looking very sore in the preseason game.

If Taylor goes to Fog...do we think Leek or Haynes could handle a very physical Tex Walker?

I can see a world where we decide we need a bigger unit out there. And if so we need to probably drop Haynes or Leek.

The comments about Phil being a chance to play are interesting.

Haynes came off the ground looking very sore in the preseason game.

If Taylor goes to Fog...do we think Leek or Haynes could handle a very physical Tex Walker?

I can see a world where we decide we need a bigger unit out there. And if so we need to probably drop Haynes or Leek.
Not sure why Taylor wouldn't go to Tex, he's the number 1 key defender he needs to be prepared taking every teams best, we're not blessed with a super quality number 2 where we can put him on there number 1 because it's suits us better from a match up perspective. Taylors one of the best in the comp I'd be backing him 100% to take Tex, our back 6 performed super strongly last time we played them which was pre Fogarty breakout and before they had Rankine but got no issues with Taylor on Tex. Idun on someone like Fogarty is pretty simular size wise, Haynes on one of their smaller options who won't be too much of a marking threat. Not just you but there still seems to be a hesitancy on this board to trust Taylor with the really tough match ups, but he's one of the 2 or 3 best KPD in the entire league he needs to be trusted to take on pretty much any match up, they're not all going to be perfect match ups that he can take on physically, he's a big boy he's going to have to take on the bigger bodied forwards and we have no reason to think he won't do well. Taylor is really freaking good!!!.

Taylor usually plays the deepest forward which will be Fogarty, Tex works up the field more, I suspect tat Taylor will take Fogarty and Haynes on Tex

On second thought maybe that works out alright, thought we'd be giving up too much height with a non Taylor defender on Tex but he's listed at 194 which Haynes should be able to compete with in the air but genuine 1 on 1s I think he could struggle if that's what they go with, interested to see how they lineup

Kingsley seems to have (almost!) settled on our squad for the Adelaide match.
“We played 26 (against Gold Coast); we’ll probably have Brent Daniels back. I presume that will be roughly the squad, give or take,” Kingsley said.”

Kingsley seems to have (almost!) settled on our squad for the Adelaide match.
“We played 26 (against Gold Coast); we’ll probably have Brent Daniels back. I presume that will be roughly the squad, give or take,” Kingsley said.”

Although he also mentioned about Buckley and Davis being possibles - and neither of them was in the top squad for the GCS game.

Key defenders Phil Davis (hamstring) and Jack Buckley (knee) were both in the selection frame as the Giants prepared for a tall Crows forward line featuring Taylor Walker, Darcy Fogarty and Elliot Himmelberg, Kingsley said. If named, the 25-year-old Buckley will play his first game since his ACL injury 618 days ago in round 16, 2021 against Melbourne. The pair will be jostling with Leek Aleer for a spot in the backline after the 21-year-old played against Gold Coast.

“Phil is certainly in contention for round 1 … we’re pleased with his progression in returning from injury and there’s every chance he’ll play,” he said. “(Buckley) certainly could play – we’ll have a discussion around him; he’s on the cusp of the team at the moment. He got through the practice match at VFL level last week … strong, competitive, quick are all his attributes, so he’ll be in discussions.”

Although he also mentioned about Buckley and Davis being possibles - and neither of them was in the top squad for the GCS game.

Key defenders Phil Davis (hamstring) and Jack Buckley (knee) were both in the selection frame as the Giants prepared for a tall Crows forward line featuring Taylor Walker, Darcy Fogarty and Elliot Himmelberg, Kingsley said. If named, the 25-year-old Buckley will play his first game since his ACL injury 618 days ago in round 16, 2021 against Melbourne. The pair will be jostling with Leek Aleer for a spot in the backline after the 21-year-old played against Gold Coast.

“Phil is certainly in contention for round 1 … we’re pleased with his progression in returning from injury and there’s every chance he’ll play,” he said. “(Buckley) certainly could play – we’ll have a discussion around him; he’s on the cusp of the team at the moment. He got through the practice match at VFL level last week … strong, competitive, quick are all his attributes, so he’ll be in discussions.”
Again, he was answering direct questions about them, he is obviously positive on them. But wouldn't read too much into it.
He is unlikely to say. Yeah. That guy is mile away, no chance he'll get a run any time soon.

Again, he was answering direct questions about them, he is obviously positive on them. But wouldn't read too much into it.
He is unlikely to say. Yeah. That guy is mile away, no chance he'll get a run any time soon.
Yes, that’s how I read it too. Essentially Adam was stating the team chosen for the Gold Coast preseason match would be the team against Adelaide, with Daniels the only possible change to the squad. Then when asked about Davis and Buckley, he said they too were in the mix - note he did not volunteer their possible inclusion initially in the team until then.

That would be very surprising (at least to me!). Although with no VFL, there's no loss of game time, but still a bit stomach churning to have him sit watching the game.
Yeah I don't reckon we do that.
Ya want him to get the whole experience.
And it would be stupid to sub off one of our big forwards to get him out there.
Only way I see it happening is if Haynes goes out, Himmel goes back and send him forward but that's way too disruptive.

Just give the vest to Peatling