List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part I

Re the contract/ out of contract discussion: IIRC this is due to the uncertainty around the salary cap rise at the end of the year?
Speculation around +5% but AFL has not confirmed.
That’s probably the reason, besides most clubs have a rotation of around one third of the list coming out of contract at the end of each year.
Due to average contract length being around three years.
I don’t think having the number of uncontracted players this year as being particularly unusual, nor who they are.

It was strange to me that one year they decided we need lots of speed in the forward line but then not long after that they decided we didn’t need any. I was all for it at the time but like you said why did we recruit them all in the first place, real head scratcher.
Think it maybe recruiters making the call on good and cheap players with 4 picks after pick 50.. but Ratts and the coaching group didn’t know how to use these players… For example, Hind at HB should be more than serviceable but we played him as a small forward, Parker and Young could have worked better if we had a functional forward setup rather than the bomb it on King’s head master plan. Wilkie is the only one that worked out. Interesting that 3 out of the 4 are from SA, so you know this came from Toce’s intel at the time as interstate talent scout.

I have no idea about Andrew McGrath’s contract status but….
Would you?
Why would you?
Very unimpressive for a #1 draft pick.
Might end up being only a GOP .

You'd say that anyone not playing is potentially on the chopping block and we have to delist around 6 but reckon he's too good to throw away myself. I'd probably suggest that Leo is up against it to sign on again. DMac might be cooked I reckon. Campbell if they take the bounce away, Jones could be unlucky to be injured at the wrong time. I think they are keen to off load Gresham just to free up cap space personally. Sharman is the end of next year as is Allison and nearly every other player we'd like to keep apart from King and a good portion of the kids.

We have heaps out of contract at the end of the year, I reckon Gags left a bit of a mess for SOS to clean up.

H Clark- pay rise or trade
Higgins- pay rise
DMac- delist or drop
Bytel- delist
Peris- probably delist
Gresham- trade or slight rise
Webster- probably 1 year on similar money
Connolly- delist most likely
Stocker- pay rise
Wood-pay rise
Coff- similar wage or drop. Potentially trade/delist
Byrnes- pay rise
Ross- pay rise
Campbell- delist or similar pay
Highmore- delist or similar
Jones- delist or drop

And apparently we haven't got as much room as you'd expect for where we are at. That's a lot of work for SOS to get done. Heaps will want a bigger pay day. Even guys like Ross got lowballed so will want reward for longevity and output.
Where have you heard we don't have much room?

That would be disappointing if true. Hill is the only player in 800k or more.

Carlton currently have 5 on over 800k

Won't write them off, but I definitely wouldnt stop recruiting forwards because we have Sharman and Allison on the list.

Need to plan in case they don't make it

Need to take an opportunistic approach.
If a suitable forward is thereabouts, fine, just no turning down gun mids for "maybe" key forwards.

Would you?
Why would you?

Does he play more HBF than midfield? I don't mind him but I think we have two currently (and future) better options in Sincs and Nas. Would be an expensive get.

Apparently we are paying Ross unders after the last contract. Bytel is on the precipice. I hope he goes again but if he can't break through he's on his last chance. SAME WITH PERIS IMO.

Not sure what you are saying is unlikely on Gresham, clubs will offer big coin, we either let him walk or pay more or force a trade. Higgins will be asking for a raise for sure.
Ross and Gresh have had their pay days already. They won't get another at the Saints.

Starting to warm to the idea of Darcy Parish to be honest.

He's playing some amazing footy. Much better footballer than he gets credit for.

Starting to warm to the idea of Darcy Parish to be honest.

He's playing some amazing footy. Much better footballer than he gets credit for.

If we had a player putting up the numbers he does we’d be wetting ourselves but because he plays for another team we can only focus on the negative. Strange one.

Would you?
Why would you?
Manlet

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Would you?
Why would you?
By industry standards we have a good looking playing group. You drop old mate Quagmire in there and we're instantly bottom 3rd in the league.
No.

Would you?
Why would you?
This post gave me gonorrhoea