List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part II

Hear me out…

With Hawks keen on Gresh and looking to potentially offload Grainger-Barras, could we.

Match whatever bid comes for Gresh and trade him to Hawks for DGB (obviously other picks and stuff involved)

Then we offload Howard to Essendon for their pick 27.

Then package up 12, 27 & 31 to Gold Coast for pick 4 and a future 2nd round pick?

Use that future 2nd to bring in Liam Henry.

Lose - Gresh, Howard, pick 12, pick 31
Gain - DGB, Henry, pick 4
Not sure GC would do that deal.
Essentially a swap of 2nd rounders and it ends up being 4 for 12 and 31. Not a great deal

Hear me out…

With Hawks keen on Gresh and looking to potentially offload Grainger-Barras, could we.

Match whatever bid comes for Gresh and trade him to Hawks for DGB (obviously other picks and stuff involved)

Then we offload Howard to Essendon for their pick 27.

Then package up 12, 27 & 31 to Gold Coast for pick 4 and a future 2nd round pick?

Use that future 2nd to bring in Liam Henry.

Lose - Gresh, Howard, pick 12, pick 31
Gain - DGB, Henry, pick 4
DGB is a very ordinary footballer. The rest sounds OK. Getting pick 4 is what we should be attempting.

Not sure GC would do that deal.
Essentially a swap of 2nd rounders and it ends up being 4 for 12 and 31. Not a great deal
They need points this year though.

Walter will go pick 2 they have another academy kid who’s likely to go in the 8-15 range.

They could use essentially use 27,28,31,32,42 & 47 on the 2 academy kids and keep pick 12 for another draftee. Or trade pick 12 onto another club for future picks

I’m stating it hasn’t worked out for Billing’s at the Saints, but I’m not going accept that he hasn’t had a some good seasons. 17 he was A grade all year 60 shots at goal at 23 disposals a game as HF is top shelf, and showed his true potential..

I think we ruined Billings... seemingly had him working on perceived weaknesses and not developing his strengths.
He works back more, tackles and spoils but has less influence going forward.
He should of been our Robbie Grey or Isac Heeney at this point but instead became a vanilla cog in the possession chain.
I'm sad at how boring of a player he became.

They need points this year though.

Walter will go pick 2 they have another academy kid who’s likely to go in the 8-15 range.

They could use essentially use 27,28,31,32,42 & 47 on the 2 academy kids and keep pick 12 for another draftee. Or trade pick 12 onto another club for future picks
They're pretty good on points. They'll trade the pick out for a mix of future picks and picks this year, likely 2 firsts.
They'd much rather get fair value for the pick than undersell it for points

Not sure the majority of supporters will cop going backwards after they've tasted finals again, it would need to be a very good sell.
If there was an obvious younger side that had a lot of potential up side I would be happy.

As much as I hate saying this because I can’t stand them, but have a look at Norfs list. If I was a Norf supporter I would be in a happy place now.

I was onboard with Tomlinson until tonight. Dead set clogger and way too old.

Trade Membrey to the Dees for Pick 5 and go from there I rekon...

Look, this is just a very small observation of Heath, and one that I had very soon after his selection. So he was very young and raw.
In that context: he had the ball in a pack, bent over and in that split second before being tackled, he leaned into the tackle with his shoulder.
I saw that and immediately knew that he had a sense of the game.
Whether he has the ability to play, I have now seen enough to say yes.
Good mark, can kick and kick goals, plays a little like Roma in that he will follow up his ruck work with tackles.
The question remains at what level.
That’s the essence of the current debate.
I bumped into Kosi at the pub after the Freo game early in the season, and we were chatting about rucks.
Kosi work with him in the ruck and he says Heath is a ruck animal and will be our next ruck. He has nothing but praise for his ruck work and says that Heath is the only one that smashes the ruck bag harder than anyone else.
I know they purposely left him in Sandy last year to work on his forward craft, so IMO he will be a starting forward (sometime next year) with some ruck time while Roma has a spell.

I have always loved Blake Acres and I was sad to see him go, to me he was our most misunderstood player. But watching him kick two match winners in a row for a Carlton team that was 15th in round 15 has me convinced we are living in a simulation

so happy to see him goating it up, still miss him :*(

What am I missing here? Multiple clubs desperate to get a KP back. This tells me they are thin on the ground.
We have Howard and as seen v GWS no real replacement.
But we are going to trade this supposedly rare commodity without someone who can fill the void?
Are we relying on Van Es or Cordy? Please tell me this is not the case.
We were totally exposed v GWS, not just Cordy but apart from Battle, the whole backline.
This is a very high risk strategy. Howard is not great, we all know that, but with him in the backline our structure is superior to when he is not.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Agreed. I don't see the point of losing Howard, FB's don't grow on trees and I think he gets a bad wrap (and he's only 27). He has dumb moments once or twice a game but what key back doesn't?

We are already small down back and Cordy got his ass handed to him by GWS who don't exactly have the most intimidating forwards in the league

Doesn’t sound like anyone will offer him good coin. Reckon he stays
I reckon we are waiting to see where the market sits with him. Obviously we don’t want to continue to pay his current over priced contract.

Body definitely let him down but also needs to have a red hot crack. Better than what he's shown which probably means the real problem is between the ears.
He had back surgery at the end of last year and barely had a pre-season before getting his leg broken and missing another two months.

Its all well and good to go on about "between the ears" but I dont think many here actually understand just how hampered he actually has been by substantial injuries the last several years.

If another team is willing to give him a chance for a late first round pick then it may be a good move, but anything less then that is absolutely not worth it when he has a genuine opportunity to regain form if his body stays fit and he can actually train over the pre-season.

Where do we play Clark?

He can’t spread. He can’t gut run defensively.

Beautiful kick and good hands. Good decision maker. But his mobility is a major deficiency.

I’m darned if I know where we put him.

Think his future is at half back, his evasiveness and decision making shines through there. Can take Windy's spot when he goes full time mid

I’m stating it hasn’t worked out for Billing’s at the Saints, but I’m not going accept that he hasn’t had a some good seasons. 17 he was A grade all year 60 shots at goal at 23 disposals a game as HF is top shelf, and showed his true potential..

Yup that was it
6 years ago

Now it isn’t and we move on

Will prob get an injury somehow in preseason and that’ll be that all done and dusted

But he has never been AA or made squad

His best wasn’t great it was good

If he was great and electric other clubs would be wanting him

Jack is GOP nice player

I reckon he's an almost player. He's got class and skill but has fragile mentality. Part of that was having to try to be the man when he was a boy and laying in loser sides. If Lyon could get that bit right by giving him very defined roles he could be anything still.

That year was 2017
Lyon doesn’t seem to think he is worth trying under Lyon

To be fair though, he came off no fitness base which Lyon demands before getting games and he hasn't seen much of him so going off Gubby and Lethean etc who were the types of idiots that sold GOAT for free. His advisers are borderline morons.

My Richmond mate rated Billings and I watched with his eyes and he's definitely a class player. He's never going to win a Brownlow but he could be a very nice 10th best player on the list type. Throwing him away because we hoped he'd be star isn't a systematic approach. If he goes somewhere and becomes a good player and we pay his wage I'll go nuts.

I’m not saying he’s in the same league but leg speed doesn’t make a player. Oliver. Wines, Cripps, Steele, Pendlebury etc are all slow. If Clark can find the footy 25+ times as a mid and use it at a good rate then he’s a player. Big question marks over whether he can do that though.
He needs to build a tank that allows him to be a 2 way player…at present he’s only having about 70% game time, not fit enough!