List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part II

Jesus Christ, talking about Pelchan, Summers, Luke Ball, Archie Frasier and other ancient history topics.

Amazed nobody still crying about Lindsay Fox as President.

Good to see we are going through the trash cans of the VFL for midfielders. Should keep many in here happy when we are midfield again next season.

Just filling time Joff

At least Hill, Petracca & Bont haven’t been mentioned for a day.

We need him instead of Campbell

I reckon you'd want to be promising senior footy. He's too good to be playing VFL at the moment. Probably not right for us but there will be clubs coming for him.

What year do the Tasmanian concessions kick-in to the National Draft?
Don’t think they know yet but one thing I’m pretty sure they did say is that it won’t be like when Gold Coast and GWS came in. They’ll have a couple of early picks but not all of them. Crippled too many teams last time.

I rekon Tassie will get a free agency war chest.

Something along the lines of $1million extra in the cap for a few years + all FAs they sign will be considered "unrestricted" and thus the current clubs cannot match, letting the Devils sign whoever they want.

Gold Coast would ask for a first rounder though.

Hollands? Probably not, I don't think he's got a great deal of value now and wants out for opportunity. GC don't need picks and they obviously don't rate him. I reckon a late 2nd rounder would get him.

GC had a fair bit of talent running around today…Holland and Chol likely departing…loved Joel Jeffrey’s game too!

Jeffreys was actually quite good. Hasn't done much recently but he looked good today.

Gubby doesn’t appear to have achieved anything of note since being at the Saints , even though he may well have tried. Time to move him on. Why can’t we get a Callaghan to want to return to the bayside. We don’t need broken down rejects , we need game changers. (Unless it’s a Bowes type deal with great pick)

Yep, Callaghan or Noah Anderson types would be nice. I think we were a bit unlucky with Flanders. If they'd held on to Dew until the end of the season I reckon we would have got him cheap and he looks like he has that type of potential. Sniffing around under utilised kids at other clubs should be a priority.

Carlton losing Dow and Fisher is bad in a way because I think Binns is another that will be a star that is on the outer. He should be closer to playing seniors if they lose some depth.

I rekon Tassie will get a free agency war chest.

Something along the lines of $1million extra in the cap for a few years + all FAs they sign will be considered "unrestricted" and thus the current clubs cannot match, letting the Devils sign whoever they want.

The AFL are reluctantly giving them a licence and don't care as much. They aren't a priority market. Port pretty much started with the SANFL squad with some extras and hit the ground running. GC should have been Southport and they probably would have had a similar impact. The AFL should let them trawl the state leagues and then draft hard over the top of it. I reckon I could put together a competitive list that way.

Don’t think they know yet but one thing I’m pretty sure they did say is that it won’t be like when Gold Coast and GWS came in. They’ll have a couple of early picks but not all of them. Crippled too many teams last time.

I wouldn’t trust the AFL to avoid the mistakes they have made in the past. The AFL will want Tasmania to be competitive from the beginning.

It would be prudent to try and get stuck in to the next few drafts, assuming the depth of talent is there. Which means brave and bold decisions.

I reckon you'd want to be promising senior footy. He's too good to be playing VFL at the moment. Probably not right for us but there will be clubs coming for him.
Gold Coast won't let him go as Witts is 31 and Moyle is the only other pure ruck on their list at the moment, and you're right he'd only leave to be #1 somewhere else.

Hollands? Probably not, I don't think he's got a great deal of value now and wants out for opportunity. GC don't need picks and they obviously don't rate him. I reckon a late 2nd rounder would get him.

An early draftee from a only few years ago and he’s contracted. A pick in the low 30 (late second) is bargain basement.

Presumably there will be interest among clubs. That in itself will push up the trade value.

We have been getting it right lately why start taking stupid risks again? I complain because of their incompetence and decision making.
I no don’t get this
IF we do the Shiel/Gresham thing we get a 1st round pick
Toce already has delivered…we have form
You’ve said it yourself…
It’s obvious we need to go lateral to improve this list
I think Gresham is absolutely coverable

I heard a whisper that we’re strongly interested in acquiring the draft rights to Bailey Rice - likely a future 2nd to Carlton, you would think.

Take it with a grain of salt, though.

I think Matt did a phenomenal job in the circumstances.

We can afford to spend more on the footy dept now because of his work.

Dunno about splitting Heads of Footy unless it was a List Management side (Gags) and a Footy Dept side (Rath).

Anyway, Bassat’s deeper involvement has changed the course of the club… now he can step back & let the people he put in charge go to work.

No we can afford to spend more because the AFL now funds it better.