List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part II

Is there any possibility that Billings gets somehow involved in this.
Shiel salary dump to Saints Saints salary dump to Ess.

Ess get younger player 250k cheaper than Shiel, both who have upside if they can get their bodies right. Also provides breathing space for both players and clubs.

Some of the 250k is added to Gresh free agency getting us pick 13.

Ess get a player they have interest in, we move on a player that is not part of our future sadly.

Is that not better than going to the draft as they have plenty of young developing players.

Just a thought

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Let’s trade their trash for our trash you reckon? Bold strategy!

Is he really saying Essendon wind up with Pick 13 and Gresham in exchange for Shiel?
Ralph turn in ypur gun and your badge.
This kind of garbage is just tiresome. The thing that annoys me is that even as ridiculous as it is it shifts perception than any deal should be more in Essendon's favour than it actually should be. All the deal needs to be to be fair is they take Gresham at a high enough salary to give us a first round pick and flick them a late pick to take on Shiel. Don't see why it would ever be some silly deal where Essendon gets everything.

Think this is probably closer to what’s being worked out than what Ralph is reporting.

Essendon offer Gresham band 1 money.
We get pick 13.

2 weeks later

We trade pick 12 for Shiel and pick 8 which in essence means Essendon dump shiels contract for a 4 pick downgrade and get Gresham in.
Would make more sense. If we have 12 and 8 we may be able to get further up the draft, have a player in Sheil where we are weakest at, and Essendon get Gresham and 13.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

“However, given Shiel's inability to play more than 19 games in each of the past four seasons, Essendon may need to send a sweetener if they wish to move Shiel off their books”

And round and round we go

Good on him for saying something. What a joke this has become.

Is there any possibility that Billings gets somehow involved in this.
Shiel salary dump to Saints Saints salary dump to Ess.

Ess get younger player 250k cheaper than Shiel, both who have upside if they can get their bodies right. Also provides breathing space for both players and clubs.

Some of the 250k is added to Gresh free agency getting us pick 13.

Ess get a player they have interest in, we move on a player that is not part of our future sadly.

Is that not better than going to the draft as they have plenty of young developing players.

Just a thought

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Gresh and Billo trades to Ess.
Gresh for $950k Billo for $250k.
Saints get Shiel pick 8.
Ess get Gresh Billo first band comp.
Gresh pays Billo $150k/year.

I also come in peace.

Do we just skip all this nonsense about Shiel, and you guys just take the band 2 compo and be done with it?
End of first round pick - 19 for you guys and away we go.

FWIW I also laugh at the thought of you guys giving us 13 in any deal for Shiel, I think it’s shocking for you. But Gresham also isn’t worth anywhere near band 1.
Handy player but even band 2 is pushing it.

I know you’ll argue “we’ll just keep him and you get nothing” but there’s too much noise, and reported too many places about you guys wanting him out and happy to let him go.
Just because Ross went on 360 and said “they told us not to make an offer, we want to keep him” doesn’t make it so, what else was he gonna say?
“Oh nah we’re pushing him out the door” no worries here’s your band 3 from us at best then [emoji23] it would be bad practice from you guys to state that publicly and not get yourselves a good deal. Band 2 is a good deal, you take 19 and go to the draft or use it in a trade however you see fit.
No one else is paying him band 1 without getting something good back in return so your not gonna go to another club and try get it there, he’s just not worth it.
But a handy player, I’ll happily have him for a fair price.
Anyway, enjoy the day.
We would be happy with band 2
But how then does your team solve the cap issue of Shiel..?
How don’t you not understand the pick 12 is a salary dump incentive to take Shiel off your books..?

* me. Now he is arguing a third view point

We all need to realise that these journo's hears something and then for contents sake rehash it in a million different ways.

Tomorrow it will be Saints get pick 13 and 8, Essendon get Gresham and Howard or some other out there variation.

The forum will go into the usual frenzy and and Jodie Arnol or Damien Kitschke will be brought up as proof positive that we will get screwed.

"At the end of the day, whether or not those people are comfortable with how you're living your life doesn't matter. What matters is whether you're comfortable with it."
- Dr Phil
We doing fave quotes?

The modern conservative is engaged in one of man's oldest exercises in moral philosophy; that is, the search for a superior moral justification for selfishness.

John Kenneth Galbraith

We all need to realise that these journo's hears something and then for contents sake rehash it in a million different ways.

Tomorrow it will be Saints get pick 13 and 8, Essendon get Gresham and Howard or some other out there variation.

The forum will go into the usual frenzy and and Jodie Arnol or Damien Kitschke will be brought up as proof positive that we will get screwed.
It's an opinions based business.

I've never got this argument. You'd think we were the worst organisation in footy, good players are good players. Bont went to the 4th worst side in the AFL, Melbourne were probably worse than us when Petracca went there. Freo were rebuilding when they got Serong and he's helped pull them back up. Nothing to guarantee that we would have made a good choice and taken them though. Talent tends to rise though.

Paddy was great for a couple of seasons but I think Marshall was held back as much as he was helped. He was better as a solo ruck before and afterwards. Howard has been fine but paid too much for a fringe tall, more about buying up a level of developed talent that makes you more competitive instantly but means you have much less scope for improvement and doomed to plateau mid table unless a miracle happens.

List builds really need someone who can work out where you are sitting in the cycle. Sitting in the bottom 6 lists ... you have to go hard at the top end of the draft for a few years. Once you have a bedrock of good young talent like we do with Owens, Windhager, King, Phillipou etc, you then decorate with a few really targeted hole fillers to plug holes for players who were drafted that didn't come on through FA and trades.

You hit a surge up the ladder and attract good players wanting in and get some cream and cherries for your cake. Brisbane did it a second time after an initial stuff-up era and and built a consistent competitive side and probably have a flag at the end of it.

The way we are doing it a bit like having the ingredients list but none of the method instructions for making the cake. Hopefully we throw things in a bowl and it all works out but it's messy and experimental instead of structured.
Any player whether they be pick 1 or the last rookie selection ability to fulfil their potential is help by how well they fit at a club that's not to say that when it doesn't work out the clubs organisation is bad it just wasn't the right for them. Some players will of course be stars no matter where they ended up but If this wasn't the case then all top 10 draft picks each year would be guns. For every Petracca there is will be a few Toumpas's.
I agree with the bedrock of good young talent, though I'm guessing we thought we had that in 2019 with Billings and Gresham playing their best footy, Clark showing potential, Coffield looking likely, Steele being Steele and Marshall having a standout year with a raw King just being drafted and is why we did what we did.
We also need to be aware that we are a hard sell for high quality FA with our lack of success its why we had to overpaid for Hannebery and got shafted in the Hill trade and the on FA we have gotten is Crouch. We are a double edged sword can't get top end talent with out success and can't get success without that top end talent.

the-it-crowd-moss-the-it-crowd.gif

The pick is almost irrelevant cause unless we are getting something of value, in a draft that is slated to go almost 50 picks max giving us something around there or even later is pointless. Yeah we get his salary off the books but he only has 1 year left anyway and then it’s off.
And you guys get 13?
Way favoured to you.
Gresham is a free agent and I personally think you almost pushing him out/happy to let him go as much as you guys don’t “publicly state that”
Here’s your band 2 compo 19 and it’s done as easy as that. (His fair value by the way)
We don’t overpay another free agent again and maybe try work a deal with someone else.
Personally think Shiel would be perfect on the dees, if he can get himself fit he would be a point of difference in their midfield and could provide some line breaking speed. If people know he’s available they may start asking the question now.
Us fans will obviously struggle to agree on the fair trade, I’m not deluded though. 13 for Shiel is a bad deal for you, but then you wouldn’t have 13 without us paying band 1 so becomes a moot point if we pay band 2 and just accept the compo.
You are forgetting, other teams are interested in him and that stkilda can match the offer.
So if it is band 2 contract offer saints can match and keep him (cos that’s what he is worth).
Also hawks are ready to swoop who are much better to deal with than dildo.
So thaw cards are with saints and the bombers risk being left holding their dicks

Sam Edmund on the Dylan Shiel/Gresham swap

“The details are very hazy, some clubs think they have a piece of information, but not all of it. It is going around the industry right now”

Sam Edmund on Tim Membrey -

“Ross couldn’t say whether Tim Membrey would play next year”

It's an opinions based business.

Sure is and goes to the heart of Raplph's premis, that it is a heist of some kind. His opinion is that Gresham isn't worth band 1 compo (which is the prevailing opinion)

If it is an opinion business, Essendon can opine that Gresham is worth 750k. Opinions in essence can't be wrong, they are an opinion.

So in all our warped opinions Gres is worth 750k, we get band 1. Finished.

Trade period starts we trade pick 12 to Essendon for pick 8 and Sheil which in the opinion of both clubs is fair.

Sure is and goes to the heart of Raplph's premis, that it is a heist of some kind. His opinion is that Gresham isn't worth band 1 compo (which is the prevailing opinion)

If it is an opinion business, Essendon can opine that Gresham is worth 750k. Opinions in essence can't be wrong, they are an opinion.

So in all our warped opinions Gres is worth 750k, we get band 1. Finished.

Trade period starts we trade pick 12 to Essendon for pick 8 and Sheil which in the opinion of both clubs is fair.
Is this out there by a journo?

I also come in peace.

Do we just skip all this nonsense about Shiel, and you guys just take the band 2 compo and be done with it?
End of first round pick - 19 for you guys and away we go.

FWIW I also laugh at the thought of you guys giving us 13 in any deal for Shiel, I think it’s shocking for you. But Gresham also isn’t worth anywhere near band 1.
Handy player but even band 2 is pushing it.

I know you’ll argue “we’ll just keep him and you get nothing” but there’s too much noise, and reported too many places about you guys wanting him out and happy to let him go.
Just because Ross went on 360 and said “they told us not to make an offer, we want to keep him” doesn’t make it so, what else was he gonna say?
“Oh nah we’re pushing him out the door” no worries here’s your band 3 from us at best then [emoji23] it would be bad practice from you guys to state that publicly and not get yourselves a good deal. Band 2 is a good deal, you take 19 and go to the draft or use it in a trade however you see fit.
No one else is paying him band 1 without getting something good back in return so your not gonna go to another club and try get it there, he’s just not worth it.
But a handy player, I’ll happily have him for a fair price.
Anyway, enjoy the day.
Works for me tbh. Which is why this “get 13 and trade for Shiel” nonsense is so wild. Only way it happens is if it actually benefits both clubs.

Is this out there by a journo?

Nah I am doing a Ralph and making stuff up. Probably soon will be as they ghost this forum.

Eseendon get Gresham, Sheil off their books, a 4 dp downgrade

Saints get a 4 place upgrade, Gresham off the books, pick 13 and Shiel.

It is not a bad scenario but just as unlikely as any other about.

Should we hit the afl up for compensation if Members can’t play again?
That will be #1 pick Paddy, Bulldogs Stevens, Jack Steven, Members all top talent prematurely lost to issues beyond our control.
Definitely worth the ask.

Sam Edmund on Tim Membrey -

“Ross couldn’t say whether Tim Membrey would play next year”
Sam was pushing Lyons buttons and asked if membrey was going to play next year. He said to respect his privacy.

Sam had already asked about membrey and Ross has already told him he couldn’t speak about it but of course sam had to ask again. It was quite rude to be honest.

And Roberton too 😔
Forgot about Robo.
Well they’re handing out compensation picks to North on paper plates who have had much more success than us it’s time to hit them up.
If it’s self inflicted **** ups that count well they only need to read the last 50 pages of this thread and we’ll be getting picks one and two next year.
57 years is ****en ridiculous.

The other thing Edmund said of interest re Dylan Shiel.

Essendon NEED to clear his salary.

So I would say Ralph is reporting honestly.

But he is only reporting part of the deal. Clearly more to it.

I said a few days ago a variation I heard had us with pick 8