List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part II

Dunno mate.

But they wanted him as much as we did when he nominated us.

Still keen now. With massive KPD holes on their list.

Let’s see
I really think we should try to use our Gresh compo pick and Howard to get North's McKay compo pick.

They grab McKercher at 2, we grab Sanders at 3 or the reverse, they get Howard to replace McKay and still have a first round pick, everyone is happy.

Getting rid of Howard is a bit risky for us though, we're not exactly flush with mobile tall backmen. I'd be happy if he stayed, but if he gets us the gun mid we're crying out for, so be it and we'll have to cross our fingers Cordy can hold the fort and Van Es comes on well.

I really think we should try to use our Gresh compo pick and Howard to get North's McKay compo pick.

They grab McKercher at 2, we grab Sanders at 3 or the reverse, they get Howard to replace McKay and still have a first round pick, everyone is happy.

Getting rid of Howard is a bit risky for us though, we're not exactly flush with mobile tall backmen. I'd be happy if he stayed, but if he gets us the gun mid we're crying out for, so be it and we'll have to cross our fingers Cordy can hold the fort and Van Es comes on well.
Can't see North trading pick 3 for Howard and pick 13. But if they did you would take it and run.

You talk as though tha AFL isn't orchestrating the entire thing.
hahaha, I'm starting to se it. AFL grants Tassie a license on the proviso that they build a new stadium, ends up Tassie can't build the stadium because of politics so the AFL come half way and say "look, we'll give you North Melbourne and you can just fix up one of the stadiums you already have, that'll be fine", meanwhile, North are told, if you want real assistance, move down south boys

Our backs are pretty good. Personally I want to keep Howard because I'm not convinced there's anything better out there. If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

Mids, mids, mids. We've sounded like a broken record for over a decade but we need star power. We've lacked it since the glory 2009/10 years. We get absolutely killed on the spread from clearances and when the opposition play slingshot footy. The giants final was the perfect blueprint into our weaknesses (and some, our defence unfortunately had just about their worst day of the year).

Totally agree. See no value in moving Howard on. He gets pasted in here but he is capable of a job most weeks.

Mids...we have been screaming it for years - since 2013 when 95% of supporters were chanting Petracca's name.

I think Dow and Henry are good pick ups for us. Henry goes with Hill, Wood, Sinclair and NWM to be attacking outside players and adds real pace and line breaking ability. I back RTB to jump Henry to the next level.

Dow may not be a world beater but upgrade on Bytel and adds depth.

I'm not believing the Shiel stuff. IMHO that will all end in a puff of smoke and the Gresham deal will be straight band 2 compo. Having said that, if Shiel did come for next to nothing, he is a class player, he would add further depth.

Club still needs to find a way to get a young, A grade mid to the team. Could/should they consider 12 and a future 1st to get 4?

I don't mind taking Shiel on to move up 7 spaces. But trading a first or second round pick for him? Absolutely no way. In that case we are absolutely better off just getting pick 19/20 and keeping the other pick too.
But don’t forget Essendon (presumably) are paying Gresham more so that the pick is better in the first place. That’s what we would be paying them something for.

Club still needs to find a way to get a young, A grade mid to the team. Could/should they consider 12 and a future 1st to get 4?
Good mids can come on quick from the draft, especially compared to KPP's and Rucks. I'd just go to the draft on it.

I also don't think we should trade our futures, because we are a good chance of needing to go backwards to go forwards.

Take a lambo bush bashing?
if it's this one
4wd-tractors-mach-250-vrt-lamborghini(1).jpg

Interesting from Gil on 360 last night. North they have picks from next year that can be taken away from them if they start to perform well, but can be traded this year. Why wouldn't you trade those?
Almost certainly will. But I assume they can lump them together and they don’t need to be for players (ie can go to GC for pick 4, amongst other things.

Interesting from Gil on 360 last night. North they have picks from next year that can be taken away from them if they start to perform well, but can be traded this year. Why wouldn't you trade those?

They are meant to be traded.

AFL didn't want to impose a "You must trade them" rule because then teams know North are over a barrel to get rid of them. This way the perception is North aren't being forced and so they can be picky about who to trade with.

AFLHQ are about as subtle as a brick to the head...

Good mids can come on quick from the draft, especially compared to KPP's and Rucks. I'd just go to the draft on it.

I also don't think we should trade our futures, because we are a good chance of needing to go backwards to go forwards.

Yeah, it is hard to tell where we are. Feels like we are two good players away from being a top 4 contender or 2 bad injuries away from being bottom 8.

I don't like trading future 1st either but in this draft anyway, 12 seems to be in no man's land.

Not nailed at all.

So much written about this, but it's really very simple.

Essendon offer more to gresh to trigger band one as a favor to us.

As a return favor, we pick up shiels contract for a token pick so their cap is freed up.

Why would they give up another first round pick for us taking shiel and bump up Greshams salary? Makes no sense for them.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

thats not what i am saying... the reports were we gave essendon the first round pick we just received for gresham....

why in the **** would we do that?

But don’t forget Essendon (presumably) are paying Gresham more so that the pick is better in the first place. That’s what we would be paying them something for.
Their favour to us is paying gresham to get him from band 2 to band 1. Our favour to them is taking Shiel off their books. If they want more than that we are better off taking the band 2 and running imo.If Gresham doesn't even arract band 2 there is no point in letting him go to begin with.

It really sounds like the Shiel Deal is just Dildo putting the story out to the journos hoping that the Saints make it a reality.

I wonder if Gresham's manager is asking more than they want to pay?

Not really.

It’s a thinly veiled threat to the club.

Get better…. Quickly, or lose them.

I.e trade them

Norf interested in Coffield and Clark and have a bunch of AFL handouts. Give us some ya muuuuuttttttttts.

Particular given next year is meant to be a strong midfield draft, the club could move one or both for North's end of first round picks next year or this.

They're basically telling them to use them now.

"Never mind, we'll give you more next year." nudge, nudge, wink, wink.

Yes I tend to agree. The pick 13 compo was only worthwhile if we could leverage it to get into top 5.
If that was viable we take a bite of the s.hit sandwich that is Sheil and do it. You are correct could take a younger players spot, however we are weak in the mids, and injuries really tests our depth.
Anyway don't think band 1 flies, do we keep Gres or just take an end of first round and do what you suggest.
We may be able to get a frdp from trading Howard or someone.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

If compensation is band 2 then we match Essendon’s offer. The compensation pick will end up being in the mid 20s. Gresham is worth more than that.