Play Nice 2024 AFL and State League Attendance

North need to relocate to Canberra, the gap just gets wider and wider for them each year and being in the doldrums this long only makes it worse. They also don't have a natural region to grow into in Victoria and given time Canberra would embrace them as their own. 9 Canberra, 2 marvel (plus Vic away games).
No - been there and done that. We in Canberra don’t want them, and I’m pretty sure North also don’t want to relocate anywhere.

My family live in the region and everyone they are all GWS members and many people in the region seem to support the Giants according to them.
They also reckon the Giants do some amazing work in the area
Absolutely. The Giants are also Canberra’s AFL team, and this is indicated by the sold out games we have had so far at Manuka.

Be very interesting to see what sort of crowd North can draw in Hobart this week against Adelaide.

Be pushing for 5K I reckon. That is what they got in 2022.
called it.

i don't think the ANZAC Day "long" weekend has helped, unlike some other matches—perhaps more Crows from Adelaide than normal but that is just about it.

It is hard to understate how bad North are and how much effort it takes to get to Blundstone. There is no incentive to pay money to watch them, especially if you are neutral. You probably get a better game in the TSL.

2nd lowest crowd Adelaide has played in front of. The lowest ever is 4,603 V Brisbane bears 1992.

What an embarrassment for the AFL and footy in general!

That has to be one of the worst AFL crowds in a supposed Australian Football heartland on a fine day in a very long time = time to get North out of the Tassie and put the millions they get from the Tassie Govt/Taxpayers towards the coming Tassie team as the Tasmanian football public clearly are not interested in North anymore.

And as for North they are becoming a big problem for the AFL and even with Clarkson as coach and help from the AFL don't seem to improving and are now an embarrassment and it is hard to see them winning a game this season!
Who cares if there is 3k less there in the last few dieing north tassie games

Just leaving this here…

View attachment 1972710
you will notice a pattern since 2020.... (the highest is 8.5K, and that was still a quite empty in the Boon stand IIRC)

The matches scheduled have been terrible. That is mostly on North and how bad they have been.

THe GA was alright today. Could be better, but it is just a place on a hill. The issue is the seated seats in the Boon Stand. The TCA Members didnt really turn up either.

The seats, with the sun setting and in your eyes, cost you $50...To watch North Melbourne.... $40 are the cheapest seated tickets.

This is the reason why Hobart needs a new stadium

1714206296228.png

Great crowd. Also perfect evidence as to why Kardinia Park should never host finals or the "Big 4" clubs.
It’s quite funny, cats supporters get up in arms when they have to play host to the Pies at the ‘G but let’s see what they say about playing the Blues tonight. Not sure they’ll complain as they won & produced a record

The 2nd highest Geelong H & A game ever, only behind Coll/Geel in 2010 (88,115).

Also the Blues' 7th highest crowd ever and best against a non Big 4 team.

There's been 254,259 people go to the MCG from the 3 games so far. This is a record for any 3 games in one round at the G. Haw/Syd needs to get 37,215 on Sunday to grab the overall record attendance at the G for a single round.

There's already been 312k through the gates so far this round. Only 2 rounds ever have reached 400k - can this one be the third?