Play Nice 2024 AFL and State League Attendance

They do manage to pack in 45k for finals so there had to be ~5k spare seats scattered around.

The Gold Coast / Richmond game is down to the last 100-200 seats. It's been a really good effort this week with this game as there were a lot of seats available a few days ago.
As another Sydney poster said a lot of people watch the Swans matches at the SCG from bars and corporate boxes and that is why there were a few vacant seats around the ground.

Don’t underestimate impact a Thursday night slot has on the Club reserved seat members turning up / using seats. If they have 15K season seat holders, 20% not showing would be likely. Thats ~3K in itself.Young families in some cases would’ve watched on TV as a school night. That’s the main reason for the shortfall. Has to be.

The 2017 round #1 record of 400,401 could be easily broken next week.

I’d have that outcome as slightly more likely than not.

Even a pretty conservative prediction of:

85k Carl/Rich
80k Coll/Syd
60k Ess/Haw
40k Melb/WB
35k Port/WC
35k Freo/Bris
35k Gee/StK
12k GC/Adel
8k GWS/Nth

gets you to 390k. Most of those games are more likely to go 5k higher than 5k lower.

85k Carl/Rich
80k Coll/Syd
60k Ess/Haw
40k Melb/WB
35k Port/WC
35k Freo/Bris
35k Gee/StK
12k GC/Adel
8k GWS/Nth

gets you to 390k. Most of those games are more likely to go 5k higher than 5k lower.
Weather permitting, ESS v Haw should reach 70k minimum.

85k Carl/Rich
80k Coll/Syd
60k Ess/Haw
40k Melb/WB
35k Port/WC
35k Freo/Bris
35k Gee/StK
12k GC/Adel
8k GWS/Nth

Essendon Vs Hawthorn will draw 70K in decent weather. Pre sales are pretty solid for this type of fixture. Remember, the MCC will be 75-80% full. EFC reserved seat show rate will be pretty strong given first round.

85k Carl/Rich
80k Coll/Syd
60k Ess/Haw
40k Melb/WB
35k Port/WC
35k Freo/Bris
35k Gee/StK
12k GC/Adel
8k GWS/Nth

I can see Tigs/Blues coming in at 90k weather permitting.
Pies might hit it too with a flag unveiling and all
Bombers can hit 70 for the hawks game.

Dees could hit 50k. Could.

Giants will be interesting. They are doing some 2 for 1 offers and things in the lead up, plus promoting a Phil Davis tribute

Plans have already been put in place to turn the Kangaroos game into a spectacle with 2-for-1 ticket promotions across social media and a tribute for inaugural captain Phil Davis.

85k Carl/Rich
80k Coll/Syd
60k Ess/Haw
40k Melb/WB
35k Port/WC
35k Freo/Bris
35k Gee/StK
12k GC/Adel
8k GWS/Nth

I think those three matches at the G will get more than that weather permitting and I think you have some of the other matches quite low as well.
IE: Geelong with the new stand open should get close to 40,000 and the Melb V Bulldogs at the MCG should get at least 50,000 and if GC beat Richmond today you would expect more than 12,000 to turn up on the back off the hype that would generate.

85k Carl/Rich = 94,000
80k Coll/Syd = 90,000
60k Ess/Haw = 75,000

The Suns 22,086 is their highest ever home crowd against Richmond.

And interestingly, this is the first time the Suns have set a record home crowd against an opponent since 2014 (not counting the Freo “home” game played at Optus in 2018).

IMG_8992.jpeg

And looking ahead for the rest of the year, the Suns home games against Adelaide, West Coast, Essendon, Port and Melbourne would all be live chances of having record crowds too. We could go from 0 record home crowds for 10 years to 2-5 in a single year.

Essendon Vs Hawthorn will draw 70K in decent weather. Pre sales are pretty solid for this type of fixture. Remember, the MCC will be 75-80% full. EFC reserved seat show rate will be pretty strong given first round.
Essendon home games also draw higher than normal on Friday nights and Saturday afternoons.

I'd expect at least 73K.

21,235 fans tonight at Engie Stadium for the Giants match was also a great crowd and lets hope that with continuing success the GWS can keep on getting that sort of crowd on a regular basis.

As an aside that was more than the Storm who have been very successful on the field with 4 x premierships over the last 26 seasons had at AAMI last night against the reigning Premiers Penrith.

21,235 fans tonight at Engie Stadium for the Giants match was also a great crowd and lets hope that with continuing success the GWS can keep on getting that sort of crowd on a regular basis.

As an aside that was more than the Storm who have been very successful on the field with 4 x premierships over the last 26 seasons had at AAMI last night against the reigning Premiers Penrith.
you can't say GWS haven't been successful.

Great crowds, no doubt. Nothing better than full stadiums and a great atmosphere to get people to come back.

But, I don't know if that is good enough to have an opening round again. You used Collingwood, Richmond and Carlton and the first match of the season to achieve that. They have played a lot of cards which might be better used later in the season. You might have also lost a lot of interest in the "opening" match of the season, Carlton v Richmond.

That is the beauty of the first round of the season. Most fans and clubs have hope. 4 clubs hope have taken a dent this week, of which one took a large hit

Living in Penrith atm, decided to head down to Olympic for the game last night and the atmosphere was pretty great. Would definitely say Pies fans outnumbered around a 60/40 split but the Giants are definitely growing in the Western Sydney region.

A crowd of last night though does make me wonder how much an effect covid had on them following their 2016-19 era

Living in Penrith atm, decided to head down to Olympic for the game last night and the atmosphere was pretty great. Would definitely say Pies fans outnumbered around a 60/40 split but the Giants are definitely growing in the Western Sydney region.

A crowd of last night though does make me wonder how much an effect covid had on them following their 2016-19 era
Fair call. They never really got to leverage making the 2019 GF and had to play the best part of the following 2 seasons behind closed doors before slipping back down the ladder.

Credit to them, Adam Kingsley looks to be instilling a great culture and they're playing an attractive brand of footy. So if they can go all the way, I'd be wrapped for them (along as it's not against us)

On another note, flew up from Melbourne.for the game last night. Slow train trip from Central and some congestion at the gate aside, Giants Stadium is a seriously good place to watch a game at. I mean it's no MCG (but then again what is). Some of the behaviour of some fellow Pies fans sooking up on Twitter is just deadset embarrassing (looking at you Turtle).

Booked in to see the Pies at the Gabba on Easter Thursday and hoping to see them again later this year at SCG and Cararra to tick off the remaining major stadiums (might have to settle for AFLW at GMHBA)

Essendon home games also draw higher than normal on Friday nights and Saturday afternoons.

I'd expect at least 73K.
It’s Sunday arvo. Lots of families will go, an afternoon MCG home game always draws well for Essendon as the supporters bring their kids to one of the games they can access.

Weather permitting though. Should draw well.

It’s Sunday arvo. Lots of families will go, an afternoon MCG home game always draws well for Essendon as the supporters bring their kids to one of the games they can access.

Weather permitting though. Should draw well.

Don't you mean Saturday?

I’m not a fan of locked-in fixtures but there is a push to make the Ess v Haw a annual fixture (if it means one less Marvel game, that's great)

It will definately be round 1, 2025, which will be Hawthorn’s VFL/AFL centenary game (the third in a row and 5th in 8 years)

What would be the pass / fail for a regular fixture, 75,000?

subscriber-breach-pixel

Essendon and Hawthorn pushing for new blockbuster round 1 AFL fixture​

Essendon and Hawthorn want a blockbuster rivalry clash locked in to start each season amid expectations at least 80,000 fans will flock to the MCG for their round 1 showdown.

Before 2017 this was almost always a mid-season Friday night game at Marvel. With Essendon renegotiating their Marvel contract and Hawthorn returning from Tasmania, will be interesting to see what the draw looks like post 2025/26

Don't you mean Saturday?

I’m not a fan of locked-in fixtures but there is a push to make the Ess v Haw a annual fixture (if it means one less Marvel game, that's great)

It will definately be round 1, 2025, which will be Hawthorn’s VFL/AFL centenary game (the third in a row and 5th in 8 years)

What would be the pass / fail for a regular fixture, 75,000?

View attachment 1924257

Essendon and Hawthorn pushing for new blockbuster round 1 AFL fixture​

Essendon and Hawthorn want a blockbuster rivalry clash locked in to start each season amid expectations at least 80,000 fans will flock to the MCG for their round 1 showdown.

Before 2017 this was almost always a mid-season Friday night game at Marvel. With Essendon renegotiating their Marvel contract and Hawthorn returning from Tasmania, will be interesting to see what the draw looks like post 2025/26
Saturday, correct.
I’d say pass mark is 70K in good weather. It drew 69K last year, Hawks home game so it could be expected to outdraw that.

If I said 7-8 years ago Ess / Haw pass would be 70K I’d be instructed to have my head read.

I think it will draw low 70’s. Building it up to 75K certainly the aim. However, that would make it the 3rd biggest crowd h/a between the two clubs.

Saturday, correct.
I’d say pass mark is 70K in good weather. It drew 69K last year, Hawks home game so it could be expected to outdraw that.

If I said 7-8 years ago Ess / Haw pass would be 70K I’d be instructed to have my head read.

I think it will draw low 70’s. Building it up to 75K certainly the aim. However, that would make it the 3rd biggest crowd h/a between the two clubs.

Less than 16 years ago the biggest was 55,000!

That said, in the 10 MCG home and away games since that match (2007) the average is 64,802.

Less than 16 years ago the biggest was 55,000!

That said, in the 10 MCG home and away games since that match (2007) the average is 64,802.
Correct, and there hasn’t been many games in those years that meant anything in terms of finals standoffs. 2009 comes to mind. Just shows you the strength of the rivalry.

BTW, good to have you back contributing for another year. You always support arguments with facts and rationale.

Play Nice 2024 AFL and State League Attendance