Purple Pills
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Fremantle
Strong draft no doubt. Injuries holding a few back. Will be very interesting in 5-6 years time and in their prime!

LIVE: St Kilda v Hawthorn - Rd 12 - 7:30PM Thu
Squiggle tips Hawks at 66% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists » -- All Rd 12 Games
Comfortably gapping the field?
He’s the #3 ranked player from this draft, this season.
He was 2nd last year in those rankings. FOS is leading the 20 year old rankings this year.3rd this year, and he finish 4th or 5th last year in those ratings, right?
Strong draft no doubt. Injuries holding a few back. Will be very interesting in 5-6 years time and in their prime!
im excited to see Smilie and Hotton once they get on the park. Still reckon they will be really special players
See those laugh reactions? You earnt those bud!Comfortably gapping the field?
He’s the #3 ranked player from this draft, this season.
See those laugh reactions? You earnt those bud!
Thigh made out of glass. Had a hammy early but for the past 18 months a thigh injury has kept him out.Smillie might not ever play a game. Body is reportedly made of glass and rumours aplenty about his commitment, standards & professionalism.
Could all be bullshit though. Did hear it from a bloke at a pub haha.
Smillie might not ever play a game. Body is reportedly made of glass and rumours aplenty about his commitment, standards & professionalism.
Could all be bullshit though. Did hear it from a bloke at a pub haha.
Good thing games aren't decided on paper then palThanks “bud”
All it proves is those posters generally lack basic logic and probably watch 1 game a week.
In no possible metric is Reid “comfortably gapping” this draft class.
In fact, the top 4-5 midfielders are extremely even this year.
He definitely gets the most media attention, maybe that’s why you have formed that opinion.
Good thing games aren't decided on paper then pal
I've personally spoken extremely highly of Reid since that game against Geelong last year. He was the second player I selected in SuperCoach classic this year after Jagga. I've rated him highly and will continue to rate him highly.
To be fair to you, I am interested in understanding who you believe is ahead of him, in what metrics, and why that is important.
I think it's an interesting talking point that he's universally rated higher in general opinion despite all the stats you reference. Is it a case of being in a better team and therefore being relegated to the flank a lot more than the other names? Is it a case of stats not being able to capture his creativity because the ball use one in particular strikes me as a quirky stat. His ball use is about the best overall I've ever seen at Freo but I suppose sometimes he does get a bit TOO creative and he will almost never take the long bomb to a contest that artificially boosts disposal efficiency.Where did I say anyone was ahead of him?
I was commenting on the “comfortably gapping” comment.
He gets the ball 2.5 times a game more than FOS.
Lalor and Langford kick twice as many goals as him and he only hits the scoreboard at the exact same rate as FOS.
All of FOS, Lalor, Langford and Smith have higher CP ratios.
Lalor, Langford and FOS are ranked well ahead of him in terms of ball use measurements. With FOS and Lalor getting those numbers in more contested situations.
FOS and Smith are twice as good as him around stoppage.
Hes equal with Lalor for goal assists and leads the 5 of them for score involvements per game. Which is a stat somewhat dictated by the strength of the team you play in.
He’s the worst defensive player of the 5.
My point here is other than a few stats it’s all very even across the 5 best midfielders, they all have their strengths. He’s hardly Nick Daicos.
In player ratings, he’s rated #3 of those 5 this season.
He plays off of half forward and the others do not, I don't actually think anything Sphynx has said is unfair or incorrect but it's a difference in opinion as to how we are interpreting each players influence and ability.I think it's an interesting talking point that he's universally rated higher in general opinion despite all the stats you reference. Is it a case of being in a better team and therefore being relegated to the flank a lot more than the other names? Is it a case of stats not being able to capture his creativity because the ball use one in particular strikes me as a quirky stat. His ball use is about the best overall I've ever seen at Freo but I suppose sometimes he does get a bit TOO creative and he will almost never take the long bomb to a contest that artificially boosts disposal efficiency.
We are getting some positive press but we are hardly a broadway team known for our players being overhyped (though Twomey does LOVE him some Reid).
I think it's an interesting talking point that he's universally rated higher in general opinion despite all the stats you reference. Is it a case of being in a better team and therefore being relegated to the flank a lot more than the other names? Is it a case of stats not being able to capture his creativity because the ball use one in particular strikes me as a quirky stat. His ball use is about the best overall I've ever seen at Freo but I suppose sometimes he does get a bit TOO creative and he will almost never take the long bomb to a contest that artificially boosts disposal efficiency.
We are getting some positive press but we are hardly a broadway team known for our players being overhyped (though Twomey does LOVE him some Reid).
He plays off of half forward and the others do not, I don't actually think anything Sphynx has said is unfair or incorrect but it's a difference in opinion as to how we are interpreting each players influence and ability.
For mine, I think it is his creativity and ability to put players into the right positions that sets him apart. He seems to have this nous as to when to release, he almost always gets it right (doesn't hold it too long, doesn't get rid of it too quickly) he has amazing game sense (demonstrated last year when he didn't rush a behind when most players would and fought desperately to keep it in) and looks like a 200-gamer out there.
The other kids might actually be every bit as good as him or better eventually, but for mine personally I think Reid is a ways ahead right now and I believe most punters would agree.
Oh yeah, not disagreeing, more so an interesting talking about with regards to stats because I think generally AFL stats are getting better and better and tell most of the story but they clearly dont with Reid. Despite the stats Sphynx mentioned, the general consensus is that he's gapping the field with afl.com.au even having him in the top 25 players in the comp and he's basically a top 5 player in the team with the best record in the comp as it stands.He plays off of half forward and the others do not, I don't actually think anything Sphynx has said is unfair or incorrect but it's a difference in opinion as to how we are interpreting each players influence and ability.
For mine, I think it is his creativity and ability to put players into the right positions that sets him apart. He seems to have this nous as to when to release, he almost always gets it right (doesn't hold it too long, doesn't get rid of it too quickly) he has amazing game sense (demonstrated last year when he didn't rush a behind when most players would and fought desperately to keep it in) and looks like a 200-gamer out there.
The other kids might actually be every bit as good as him or better eventually, but for mine personally I think Reid is a ways ahead right now and I believe most punters would agree.
Oh yeah, not disagreeing, more so an interesting talking about with regards to stats because I think generally AFL stats are getting better and better and tell most of the story but they clearly dont with Reid. Despite the stats Sphynx mentioned, the general consensus is that he's gapping the field with afl.com.au even having him in the top 25 players in the comp and he's basically a top 5 player in the team with the best record in the comp as it stands.
You would need to compare that to his year average because if that was a high for the year then getting the chance to spend more time on ball with Freo missing two key mids just highlights what he could be doing if he spent that much time on the ball every week given he was BOGThe stats don’t back that up.
Also, he attended 40% of Fremantle center bounces on the weekend.
Langford 0, off the wing.
He’s not a half forward.
Yeah but cleary general opinion doesnt agree with those rankings, why do you think that isChampion Data which feeds AFL ratings have him at about #70.
FOS is 45th and Lalor in the high 50’s.
You would need to compare that to his year average because if that was a high for the year then getting the chance to spend more time on ball with Freo missing two key mids just highlights what he could be doing if he spent that much time on the ball every week given he was BOG
I cant speak for the other players but Reid is the most creative and arguably best all round user of the footy I have ever seen play for Freo. I can only assume sometimes trying to be too creative for his team mates thinking is hurting his ranking. Possibly his poor goal accuracy this year isnt helping eitherI wasn’t referencing disposal efficiency.
It’s CD’s equity ratings. Which is a measure of decision making and execution.
I.E how difficult is the disposal and what % of that persons disposals result in their team retaining the ball and then how damaging is that disposal to the next chain of disposals (i.e how does it open up the game)
Disposals efficiency and turnovers are flawed, you can over hit a kick that is borderline unmarkable at finger finger tips, but still lodge an effective disposal, despite it being through the corridor that results in a goal and turnover because it was 2 possessions later because of the heat you put your team mate under
The statistics do support that he is a half-forward, given the AFL's very own positional classifications are fed in by CD and he (Murphy Reid) is classed as a forward.The stats don’t back that up.
Also, he attended 40% of Fremantle center bounces on the weekend.
Langford 0, off the wing.
He’s not a half forward.
It’s your personal opinion, but the impartial guys view Lalor, Langford and FOS as more damaging users/decision makers per possession.
Stat's don't always paint the full picture.
You have to watch Reid to understand.
I cant speak for the other players but Reid is the most creative and arguably best all round user of the footy I have ever seen play for Freo. I can only assume sometimes trying to be too creative for his team mates thinking is hurting his ranking. Possibly his poor goal accuracy this year isnt helping either