Autopsy 2024 Elimination Final Blues blown away in first half. Never looked likely.

Who played well for the Blues in the Elimination final vs the Lions?

Totally and a good run in.

Personally
Think we need a top line small forward
Another key defender
A kick out plan other than going long to a contest
Maybe some speed/point of difference in the mids

Other than that I'm happy with the blues. Were close l
that's actually a lot. Hopefully we get all that for christmas.

So our focus ALL year was to be a hard team to play against and we weren’t.

What does that tell us?

For me, it says more spin... more them telling us what they think we want to hear...

There's nowhere to hide when you turn up to an elimination final with pressure rating at around 160 and the scoreboard reads 60 - 0 almost an hour in...

When you have your coach and leaders in Cripps, Weiters, Walsh, Doc all coming out saying how motivated and fired up they are for the game then produce that rubbish, it's pretty clear to me they're under a directive to spin this nonsense to try and get the supporters fired up... but in reality, they don't buy in to what they're saying...

Some people think we're a few tweaks away... lol I've heard that before... years ago too I might add...

If the tweaks haven't been made in a couple of years, they never will be... if they have been, they're not working...

I consider Russell gone a big change. But we're still going to have to make a few more ruthless calls imo to put this group on notice.

Support coaches, I reckon Russell as forwards coach isn't working. Hamill as back line coach... I mean its baffling... you have a guy who played forward pretty much his whole career coaching the back line and you have a mid coaching the forwards... no wonder tactically we look lost at sea...

Clarke has been here for a while (this is his second stint)... mid coach from 2015-2017, went to GC as forwards coach and now he's been back as mid coach 2022-2024... this playing group have mostly had this bloke as mid coach... he's got to go imo. So I'd be looking at getting rid of Clarke and Russell from our coaching team and bringing in some fresh people (not forgetting that Russell was at the club as a player when we were rubbish).

We need assistant coaches with ideas on how to fix our dreadful setups at d50 stoppages...

We need the coach to grow a pair and start dropping players who don't perform instead of playing favourites week in week out regardless of their output. Give the kids more of a go when they are performing in the two's... Binns, Wilson, Lord all deserved call ups at various stages... not doing so breeds complacency...

Totally and a good run in.

Personally
Think we need a top line small forward
Another key defender
A kick out plan other than going long to a contest
Maybe some speed/point of difference in the mids

Other than that I'm happy with the blues. Were close l

I'm not as confident as you are on that...

The midfield is our biggest problem...

The mix is just not working and it's not going to magically work.

We need to make some big moves this off season, shop either Walsh, Kennedy, Hewett or Cerra around... people talking about Owies, mate, for a limited footballer, Owies has done quite well and the least of our problems... if North want to pay a 2nd rounder for him though, fine. Cerra could potentially get us a decent draft pick... Walsh could get us a very good draft pick... nobody wants to do that though, can't get rid of our Cadbury favourites...

No goal kicking mids, too much reliance on Cripps, not getting enough from Walsh, Cerra can't get on the park, Kennedy can't hit an i50 target, Hewett a solid contributor... We literally need TDK rucking because he plays as an extra mid to get our engine room cracking... it was quite evident when he's not there... it's nowhere near good enough unless taking on the worst sides in the comp...

So whatever we do, imo me MUST address our midfield as top priority... they lack pace, foot skills and are generally all similar types. At the very least, shake up what we have... Walsh on the wing, rotate Cowan in there, give Lord more opportunity, put Elijah on a program to get him ready for more mid time (I reckon he lacks fitness which is why he burned out toward the end of the season) just do something different... if we plan on rolling with Cripps, Cerra, Walsh, Kennedy and Hewett next year then expect a similar season where we win about 11-13 games... and that's a big IF Cripps can keep his Brownlow form going...

He left his one day old baby to fly up to Brisbane and was subbed out ahead of players who were performing much worse.
Not to mention he's also one of the very few positionally versatile players on the team.

TDK as sub and subbing Kennedy off were baffling decisions.
It seems they saw the decision as one ‘second ruck’ for another, without Kennedy considered in a different position…that and maybe it would have made us even more slower.

it was harsh regardless of reason.

That sort of stuff is for feel good kids sport movies, not real life elite professional sports leagues. Comical.
Voss really pissed me off in the presser, he put Doch before the club and everyone that supports it.
The worst thing is he still thinks he is right in doing it.
Really gone off him after that, he looks like a real boys club twat kinda guy tbh.

So much emotions of the negative variety here. To go from looking like we were heading for a top two nevermind top four finish at the of June, to then only beat the Roos and Eagles and scrape into a finals spot by sheer fluke, and to then crash out of the finals at the first hurdle after being sixty points to nothing down at one point is pretty depressing and demoralising

When that game was there to be won we quite simply just weren't at the races. Anything that happened after that was just mere window dressing, by that point the damage was done and the game was gone from us. For a year with so much promise and potential to end like that is just devastating.

Was this a blip or a start of a more long term malaise and decline in this group? A small part of me does fear that our window of opportunity is about to pass us by soon enough. We need to have a strong year in 2025 to put these doubts at ease.

So much emotions of the negative variety here. To go from looking like we were heading for a top two nevermind top four finish at the of June, to then only beat the Roos and Eagles and scrape into a finals spot by sheer fluke, and to then crash out of the finals at the first hurdle after being sixty points to nothing down at one point is pretty depressing and demoralising

When that game was there to be won we just weren't at the races. For a year with so much promise and potential to end like that is just devastating.

Was this a blip or a start of a more long term malaise and decline in this group? A small part of me does fear that our window of opportunity is about to pass us by soon enough. We need to have a strong year in 2025 to put these doubts at ease.
Just a few re jigs of the puzzle required . We will now release players like Martin and Marchbank , trade players who want to head back to WA if thats what they want , and trade heavily for what is currently missing. A turnover of 6 or so into the senior team could be enough to invigorate the list. Primarily its the constantly injured players that are first to be addressed at their exit meetings in my opinion. They are demoralising the squad

It seems they saw the decision as one ‘second ruck’ for another, without Kennedy considered in a different position…that and maybe it would have made us even more slower.

it was harsh regardless of reason.
It was just limited thinking. Kennedy is better than Durdin and Mots. He is also flexible. Tougher, stronger and way more skilled.

Dumb decision. One of many.

I cam't remember exactly, but when we were flying last year, we were unbeatable at stoppage. I remember starting with First Crack, we were talked up as the toughest team around. Then some stats came up about our perceived weakness in another area...the running quarter back type thing other teams were doing...they said we need to get better at that.

So, like the time worn adage about the man his son and their donkey, we started tweaking to please others. Over summer we somehow lost our biggest advantage.

My advice Carlton
Form a gameplan that suits us best. Make bringing out the best in each and every player our highest priority.

Get talented line coaches from recent winning teams with a great culture.
Bring on the kids. Let go of Fantasia, Durds and a bunch of injury prone. I'd include Guv in that much as I love him.

Keep it simple and give talented players room to play with flair and brilliance. This will help our team become exciting and enthusiastic.
We have to get some pace in! We are playing old fashioned footy.

Get some innovation! That will not come from Voss and Hansen.

It was just limited thinking. Kennedy is better than Durdin and Mots. He is also flexible. Tougher, stronger and way more skilled.

Dumb decision. One of many.

I cam't remember exactly, but when we were flying last year, we were unbeatable at stoppage. I remember starting with First Crack, we were talked up as the toughest team around. Then some stats came up about our perceived weakness in another area...the running quarter back type thing other teams were doing...they said we need to get better at that.

So, like the time worn adage about the man his son and their donkey, we started tweaking to please others. Over summer we somehow lost our biggest advantage.

My advice Carlton
Form a gameplan that suits us best. Make bringing out the best in each and every player our highest priority.

Get talented line coaches from recent winning teams with a great culture.
Bring on the kids. Let go of Fantasia, Durds and a bunch of injury prone. I'd include Guv in that much as I love him.

Keep it simple and give talented players room to play with flair and brilliance. This will help our team become exciting and enthusiastic.
We have to get some pace in! We are playing old fashioned footy.

Get some innovation! That will not come from Voss and Hansen.

Unfortunately the bolded at the end, negates the bolded at the beginning.

He, along with Hewett mid-year, are victims of the overall balance of our midfield group. It's not his fault, he is a very good footballer, as is Hewett. Other sides worked out and started to take away our strength from last year (that you mentioned). We are then forced to adjust accordingly, or we get run off our feet on the outside. We just literally do not have the players on our list to bring in to fix the issue though.

It gets bemoaned ad nauseum on here every time Kennedy or Hewett get left out, or made sub, or subbed off. Rightly or wrongly, every time we have all of Cripps, Walsh and Cerra available, one of the 2 will inevitably be the "victim". Voss, and presumably the MC as a whole, have done this repeatedly, so I don't think it is surprising and also don't think it will change given the way the game is currently played.

If a Billy Wilson was coming into the team and bursting away from stoppages like a Chad Warner, we'd all be rapt with the treatment of Kennedy (or Hewett when he had his turn). The current list balance, along with the age and development status of a Wilson, means we are really just shuffling deckchairs to no great advantage.

The MC know the balance is wrong, it is up to Austin to find genuine alternatives. Preferably ASAP.

We have become emotionally reactive again.

Happened mid season last year, then subsided, until the last 6-8 weeks

There will be some minor tweaks, and that's how it should play out, unless people were purposely neglect in their role
I am not sure thats the case.

For some yes, emotionally reactive, for others , the discussion around...

Austin
Lloyd
Voss
Russell
Etc

Has been constant whether win or lose.

It dies down when winning because in bigfooty world, any posts / analysis expressing concern or an alternate view get howled down...

But... you are correct in off season predictions.

Coach and Assistants are locked away, so that wont change.
Austin/Lloyd unlikely to change.
Russell moved on, thats something.

6-8 delistings / trade etc. Predictable names here...

Sent from my SM-N981B using Tapatalk

Website has a PG rated piece on our loss yesterday
A Bot interview, which for the most part had me confused as I thought we may have won
At least Doc was not happy when they interviewed him
Fathers have been leaving their day old babies for centuries to get back to work. Having a day old baby doesnt excuse a terrible performance from him.
Mots was so much better
Kennedy should never have been dragged
I have no idea about being a coach and I can still see it, terrible move that one. Voss and MC should apologise to MK

I am not sure thats the case.

For some yes, emotionally reactive, for others , the discussion around...
For some? I'd say a large section of the supporter base, let's use a more realistic starting point

Austin
Lloyd
Voss
Russell
Etc

Has been constant whether win or lose.

It dies down when winning because in bigfooty world, any posts / analysis expressing concern or an alternate view get howled down...
Not sure people are being howled down, but people don't control how or when a poster wants to share their thoughts

If people are less critical after a win and more active after a loss, that's their choice

But... you are correct in off season predictions.

Coach and Assistants are locked away, so that wont change.
We might see a change, moreso in line responsibility

Austin/Lloyd unlikely to change.
Not to say they won't be scrutiny

Russell moved on, thats something.
As long as the injury prone follow, otherwise I doubt we see that much progress

6-8 delistings / trade etc. Predictable names here...

Sent from my SM-N981B using Tapatalk

Agreed

Support coaches, I reckon Russell as forwards coach isn't working. Hamill as back line coach... I mean its baffling... you have a guy who played forward pretty much his whole career coaching the back line and you have a mid coaching the forwards... no wonder tactically we look lost at sea...

Clarke has been here for a while (this is his second stint)... mid coach from 2015-2017, went to GC as forwards coach and now he's been back as mid coach 2022-2024... this playing group have mostly had this bloke as mid coach... he's got to go imo. So I'd be looking at getting rid of Clarke and Russell from our coaching team and bringing in some fresh people (not forgetting that Russell was at the club as a player when we were rubbish).

We need assistant coaches with ideas on how to fix our dreadful setups at d50 stoppages...

Assistant coaches are required to be informed by August 1st if they're to be sacked or retained.

Unless we've kept it very under the radar we'll have the same group again next year.

Unfortunately the bolded at the end, negates the bolded at the beginning.

He, along with Hewett mid-year, are victims of the overall balance of our midfield group. It's not his fault, he is a very good footballer, as is Hewett. Other sides worked out and started to take away our strength from last year (that you mentioned). We are then forced to adjust accordingly, or we get run off our feet on the outside. We just literally do not have the players on our list to bring in to fix the issue though.

It gets bemoaned ad nauseum on here every time Kennedy or Hewett get left out, or made sub, or subbed off. Rightly or wrongly, every time we have all of Cripps, Walsh and Cerra available, one of the 2 will inevitably be the "victim". Voss, and presumably the MC as a whole, have done this repeatedly, so I don't think it is surprising and also don't think it will change given the way the game is currently played.

If a Billy Wilson was coming into the team and bursting away from stoppages like a Chad Warner, we'd all be rapt with the treatment of Kennedy (or Hewett when he had his turn). The current list balance, along with the age and development status of a Wilson, means we are really just shuffling deckchairs to no great advantage.

The MC know the balance is wrong, it is up to Austin to find genuine alternatives. Preferably ASAP.
Well, yes. But they weren't! 🙂
Ps
Can you get us Warner for Christmas?😉

Autopsy 2024 Elimination Final Blues blown away in first half. Never looked likely.