List Mgmt. 2024 List Management discussion

Prediction- Who is delisted this year(not retirements).

• Berry

• McCluggage

• Lyons

• McCarthy

• Answerth

• Lane

• Prior

• Madden

• Lester

• Joyce

• Zorko

• Michael

• Brain

• Reville

Results are only viewable after voting.

Bit harsh on someone that has played 130 plus games for the club. Also don’t forget no one wanted to stay at the club a few years ago and when the go home five left berry was the first one that signed. Everyone else followed. Don’t discount the affect that he has had n the culture of the club over the last few years. Certainly doesn’t need to be mocked on hear by key board warriors.
Harsh? I was thinking more for his career. Fagans pets of which Berry is a member are being scrutinised and if we are bottom 8 halfway through the year I’d suspect these pets will finally be made accountable. He’s not skilled, limited football brain but a great athlete. He can play a role but when you have youth that are performing well enough for a call up you have to ask questions. Is Berry doing enough to warrant a spot? At this stage he probably is but you get 1 good game every 4 with him.

Let him walk to a club on the up and I think he will have potential to have a longer career at another club than Lions. Suns could do with a hard at it winger for a few years whilst they develop youth. IMO

Regarding changes to the academy bidding in future drafts.

I would hope any changes would be effective in future years in which future draft picks have not already been exchanged as there are a bounty of trades that have already occurred which I’m sure clubs made in line with the existing draft structure.

Though the AFL is full of surprises.

Regarding changes to the academy bidding in future drafts.

I would hope any changes would be effective in future years in which future draft picks have not already been exchanged as there are a bounty of trades that have already occurred which I’m sure clubs made in line with the existing draft structure.

Though the AFL is full of surprises.
There won’t be any changes brought in to effect this draft.

However, before the trade period starts this year, the AFL will announce what changes they will introduce, effective 2025.

That way clubs can plan their trade and draft period for this year and next, knowing the requirements for next year.

p.s I am expecting such changes to be announced 1 to 3 days before the trade period begins, so we have next to no chance of adequately plan a two year draft and trade strategy.

There won’t be any changes brought in to effect this draft.

However, before the trade period starts this year, the AFL will announce what changes they will introduce, effective 2025.

That way clubs can plan their trade and draft period for this year and next, knowing the requirements for next year.

p.s I am expecting such changes to be announced 1 to 3 days before the trade period begins, so we have next to no chance of adequately plan a two year draft and trade strategy.
Although the clubs will know well before we do.

Berry was a great signing when he extended early and it was exciting with the potential and work ethic he seemed to possess but things change. He hasn’t delivered on that promise, he’s stagnated. Unfortunately he isn’t the only one and to me, that shines a spotlight on coaching yet again.
Whilst I don't disagree that a lot of our players haven't come on as well as we would've liked, I do think a lot of the issues with regards to Berry's development simply comes back to his shoulders being rooted. He showed how he could perform in the midfield with that epic semifinal against Melbourne. Unfortunately, it seems his body won't allow him to play that role consistently, probably for his whole career.

Whilst I don't disagree that a lot of our players haven't come on as well as we would've liked, I do think a lot of the issues with regards to Berry's development simply comes back to his shoulders being rooted. He showed how he could perform in the midfield with that epic semifinal against Melbourne, unfortunately it seems his body won't allow him to play that role consistently, probably for his whole career.
I agree massively with this. He looked very good in his early days in the middle as our big mid. At some point he was performing better than Clugg as well as being talked up as such a solid leader and potential captain. Injuries killed that off so much potential for him. He honestly has done well to change himself to play a different role for so long and get the most out of what his body can do

This team of ours already has enough show ponies in it. There are enough players with talent oozing out of every orifice yet choosing to show it sporadically at best - not every team member has to be the greatest player in the competition.

Berry (and too few others) commits 100% every time he takes the field. Yes he definitely has some poor disposal at times - usually after running 150m for the ball or making a tackle. Yes he may have stagnated, and yes maybe his body does limit him.

But lack of effort or team work or ethics or leading by example are things that cannot be argued. He's the sort of player that makes others look good.

He's the work horse type player - and frankly at this point in time where too few others do far too little far too often the idea we would trade him blows my mind.

If we're too reliant on Neale in the middle and need another ball winner, is it worth looking at a mature age midfielder like Boyd Woodcock in the mid season draft?

We need a tall big-body mids. 190+. Our midfield is too one dimensional in terms of size. There is not enough speed either, players that can burst out of center whom we can send as a change up to center bounce attendances.

We have enough mid-tier ones already - WAshrcoft (182) and Fletcher (183) added recently along with Levi (179) and Marshall (185) arriving soon.

We need a tall mids. 190+. Our midfield is too one dimensional in terms of size. There is not enough speed either, players that can burst out of center whom we can send as a change up to center bounce attendances.

We have enough mid-tier ones already - WAshrcoft (182) and Fletcher (183) added recently along with Levi (179) and Marshall (185) arriving soon.
We've certainly had chances to draft them. Matthew Johnson was there for the taking.

This team of ours already has enough show ponies in it. There are enough players with talent oozing out of every orifice yet choosing to show it sporadically at best - not every team member has to be the greatest player in the competition.

Berry (and too few others) commits 100% every time he takes the field. Yes he definitely has some poor disposal at times - usually after running 150m for the ball or making a tackle. Yes he may have stagnated, and yes maybe his body does limit him.

But lack of effort or team work or ethics or leading by example are things that cannot be argued. He's the sort of player that makes others look good.

He's the work horse type player - and frankly at this point in time where too few others do far too little far too often the idea we would trade him blows my mind.
Went to the marathon for mum, heaps of other past and present players there to support him, seems to be a leader around the club and if he was traded or not offered a decent contract would do untold damage to the club reckon. You don’t let good people go

Too slow, another lions and he can’t get a game

You got me curious so did a bit of search in pre-draft threads and in Geelong board now.

It appears he ran 6:37 in the 2km time trial in the combine while carrying a 100kg frame + coming off a ACL in 2022. Caleb Windsor who's playing in wing for Demons now ran 6:28.

I think George ticks an important box for us which is finding footy inside the contest and releasing our runners. We don't have any mids at the moment doing this work apart from Neale. Our next best clearance player is our ruckman Oscar. So yeah, having George would've been a good addition to our midfield stocks.

Geelong list is pretty mature and they bat deep in midfield too - Blicavs, Atkins, Duncan, Bruhn, Parfitt, Holmes, Jhye Clark along with Danger and CGuthrie to come back from injury. Stevens won't be needed short term.

You got me curious so did a bit of search in pre-draft threads and in Geelong board now.

It appears he ran 6:37 in the 2km time trial in the combine while carrying a 100kg frame + coming off a ACL in 2022. Caleb Windsor who's playing in wing for Demons now ran 6:28.

I think George ticks an important box for us which is finding footy inside the contest and releasing our runners. We don't have any mids at the moment doing this work apart from Neale. Our next best clearance player is our ruckman Oscar. So yeah, having George would've been a good addition to our midfield stocks.

Geelong list is pretty mature and they bat deep in midfield too - Blicavs, Atkins, Duncan, Bruhn, Parfitt, Holmes, Jhye Clark along with Danger and CGuthrie to come back from injury. Stevens won't be needed short term.
I’d like be to know what his 20 metre sprint was, didn’t question his endurance

Couldn't find it so far. Don't need him for burst speed like Petracca, just need to win first possession at stoppage.

Geelong supporters are bullish since all his results were achieved at his peak weight of 100kg, if he manages to drop even 10 and you'll certainly see improvement.

We've certainly had chances to draft them. Matthew Johnson was there for the taking.

I think Jakess DE-registered from BF in protest because we did not draft Johnson when we had the opportunity. In hindsight he'd be ideal now for our midfield. The other I believe we should have drafting when we had the chance was Owens.

Do we actually have any picks in this year's mid-season draft?
Will have one from Coleman and possibly another with Doedee (he hasn’t been ruled out for the season yet but most likely will be).

Quite a few midseason draft prospects in this game today at 12.40 pm ACDT which i think is 12.10pm Brisbane time.
No VFL Smithy's games this round so recruiters can have a look while all teams in Adelaide.
Watch via the link below.

AAMI STATE GAME SQUADS

SANFL

#NAMESURNAMEDOBHTCLUB
1FrankSzekely13-08-99177North Adelaide
2WillSnelling06-08-97175Sturt
3HarryGrant03-07-01173Central District
6CaseyVoss14-09-00182Sturt
7RileyKnight27-03-95181Eagles
8CoreyLyons31-05-98182Glenelg
9DarcyBailey20-06-94176Glenelg
10JosephSinor16-03-94180Eagles