Strategy 2024 Planning Thread

McLean delisted by the Dogs. Surely the Eagles could do with a mid. I reckon he's still got something to give.
I know i wasnt involved much this year, but i feel i at least contributed early on.
During the pre season feeding frenzy i think my exact words were...

" my first look in here for 2023 and all i see is Toby F$#%#$en McLean ...WTF WTF WTF"
and
" i cant believe anyone would even consider that flog "

I even had to spell it out for several contemplating self harm..." that $%#$#%# fraud McLean will hurt you bad"

I tried. Give me that at least.

Could be a bench option next year if he is $123k he hasn't played a game since 2020

House of Footy understands Richmond will pick up Sam Naismith as a delisted free agent, replacing Ivan Soldo who departed for Port Adelaide.

Naismith was smashed by injury during his time at the Swans, managing just 30 games since his debut in 2014, and only two games since 2017.

After being delisted by Sydney in 2022, the 31-year-old has played for in the VFL for Port Melbourne, but has been recalled to AFL level and will don the yellow and black in season 2024.
Naismith has been prolific for the Borough, averaging 37 hitouts and almost 15 disposals over his 14 games this season.
Seems like just the other day when Naismith and Nank were competing for a starting 22 slot. Cruel.
No idea how the knees are, but i'm already onboard for R3 if he's fit. CAN score. A 30/31yo ruck pick is primetime.
Good stuff Tiges for giving him a crack. R3 options are always good news.

I know i wasnt involved much this year, but i feel i at least contributed early on.
During the pre season feeding frenzy i think my exact words were...

" my first look in here for 2023 and all i see is Toby F$#%#$en McLean ...WTF WTF WTF"
and
" i cant believe anyone would even consider that flog "

I even had to spell it out for several contemplating self harm..." that $%#$#%# fraud McLean will hurt you bad"

I tried. Give me that at least.
You got time in your jet-setting lifestyle for SC next year?

Apparently Karl Amon has been telling people he's playing off half back next season.

Would be mid-only to start, so likely an upgrade target at round 6 if that move does happen and he looks like a genuine option.

Will Grundy get fwd status given when he did play and in the 2's for Melb he was playing forward a bit to get him up to speed in that area of the field?

So It Begins Helms Deep GIF by Giphy QA

steve buscemi people to kill GIF

With Goldy off to the Hangar, and no readymade rucks recruited by North this off-season, I'm shortlisting Hamish Free as a $102k R3 option.

With a name like that I don't really want to pay anything:laughing:

So... it looks like we're getting round 0, THEN round 1.

So that means everyone playing in that first weekend will have a second bye during the season.

Might completely change the the way we structure our starting sides.

The one positive I guess is that we get a look at players from 8 teams before scores start counting?
But will those scores count towards their rolling average? Does round 0 count towards our overall score? A lot of questions to come from that.

A split round obviously makes far too much sense for the AFL.

So... it looks like we're getting round 0, THEN round 1.

So that means everyone playing in that first weekend will have a second bye during the season.

Might completely change the the way we structure our starting sides.

The one positive I guess is that we get a look at players from 8 teams before scores start counting?
But will those scores count towards their rolling average? Does round 0 count towards our overall score? A lot of questions to come from that.

A split round obviously makes far too much sense for the AFL.

Yeah, not sure how they will do it. Thought of 3 ways:
1) Lock guys playing round 0 once their games start similar to a normal lockout then allocate their scores during whichever round their team doesn't play. If you want to trade them after round 0, leading up to round 1 it uses a trade while team changes involving players yet to play will be unlimited. You don't get a preview of their scores that way, but you're also at a disadvantage having a bunch of players locked in a week before knowing what happens with the other teams.
2) Ignore all the round 0 scores. Any rounds that follow that those teams don't play getting scored as bye rounds (best 18). This would really disincentivise picking any players involved in round 0.
3) Score round 0 as a bye round with a lower amount of maximum players (say 12). Then score other rounds that follow where all teams aren't playing as bye rounds too (best 18). This would force people to pick a certain amount of round 0 players.

All are far from ideal. I think option 1 makes the most sense though it is the most complicated so not sure if they could do it.

Yeah, not sure how they will do it. Thought of 3 ways:
1) Lock guys playing round 0 once their games start similar to a normal lockout then allocate their scores during whichever round their team doesn't play. If you want to trade them after round 0, leading up to round 1 it uses a trade while team changes involving players yet to play will be unlimited. You don't get a preview of their scores that way, but you're also at a disadvantage having a bunch of players locked in a week before knowing what happens with the other teams.
2) Ignore all the round 0 scores. Any rounds that follow that those teams don't play getting scored as bye rounds (best 18). This would really disincentivise picking any players involved in round 0.
3) Score round 0 as a bye round with a lower amount of maximum players (say 12). Then score other rounds that follow where all teams aren't playing as bye rounds too (best 18). This would force people to pick a certain amount of round 0 players.

All are far from ideal. I think option 1 makes the most sense though it is the most complicated so not sure if they could do it.
Actually option 1 won't work. What if you trade one of the round 0 players? Does their score still count during their bye round? What about the player you have traded in for them? To complicated.

I think it has to be option 3 though I would prefer option 2 to be honest.

Ruck is the most interesting position this year. English was putting up prime Gawndy numbers last year. Marshall and Darcy both have the potential to do that.

Gawndy extremely underpriced for what they can offer. Hard to resist going in with them two.

Ruck is the most interesting position this year. English was putting up prime Gawndy numbers last year. Marshall and Darcy both have the potential to do that.

Gawndy extremely underpriced for what they can offer. Hard to resist going in with them two.

I'm thinking Gawndy too. Marshall and English both at peak price. Darcy won't touch while Jackson is there.

Lot of value in ruck this year.

Grundy, Soldo (+/- Sweet)

Some more risk reward options like Flynn, Xerri, DeKoning.

I feel like every season people try and get creative with rucks and they regret it 90% of the time.

Especially this year with so few premium forwards to start the season to the point we might start with 0 premium forwards.

If you go 0/8 or 1/8 premos across ruck and forward then you’re basically going 12/13 premos across your backline/mids. Which means you’re basically starting complete on those lines