2024 State Of Origin teams

Setting aside a tournament once every 4 years like the Olympics/World Cup would give it some aspirational interest from players
That's how it used to be done. It was called the Australian National Football Carnival.

Yes but Zorko back there seems a really strange choice!
Whats wrong with swapping Payne with Zorko and putting him in the midfield or even an up and comer like a Will Ashcroft or Jaspa Fletcher and pinch hitting Zorko off the interchange?
Does it? Zorko is in very good form right now. I'd definitely have him in a Queensland state team if it was being picked tomorrow.

Michael Voss would coach Queensland.

Apart from picking AFL State of Origin teams based on 2024 form, what about selecting an all-time team from these respective states; Victoria, South Australia, Western Australia, Tasmania, NSW/ACT, Queensland and the Northern Territory?

On 5002X using BigFooty.com mobile app

Charlie Cameron ain’t really west aussie. Drafted from here just like allir allir but only spent a year or two in WA. Kozzie Pickett will be interesting as he was drafted from SA but he all the reports coming out niw is he wants to go home and freo is his destination. Like mentioned above NWM and Wilkie aren’t west aussie.

Wa defence too tall and you can take mitch mcgovern out and replce him with starcevich.

Can’t see State of Origin ever coming back…

Maybe they could do an All Australian Vs All Stars, in weeks after Grand Final..

Or All Stars Vs All Stars in bye week prior to finals or bye week prior to grand final… Only made up of players that missed the finals…

If the finalists are rules out, its not worth doing. If not state v state/territory its not state of origin.

The only pocket the clubs might allow is post-season, in the international rules window. But even then the clubs would put players into early surgery, or fabricate some reason for them to miss.
The power of the clubs, in this regard, has gone too far for it to return.

Dil wants it back.
Reckon we will see some form of rep footy alternating each pre-season with the Indigenous game.

I would seed the six teams based on how many players they have in the AFL. Give the lower ranked team home advantage to make it more interesting.

Game 1 WA (2j v Vic (1) @ Optus for the title
Game 2 QLD/NT (4) v SA (3) @ Metricon
Game 3 Tas (6) v NSW/ACT @ Launceston

Game 1 Winner G1 v Winner G2 for the title
Game 2 Winner G3 v Loser G1
Game 3 Loser G3 v Loser G2

Rinse and repeat.

Dil wants it back.
Reckon we will see some form of rep footy alternating each pre-season with the Indigenous game.

I would seed the six teams based on how many players they have in the AFL. Give the lower ranked team home advantage to make it more interesting.

Rinse and repeat.

Correct. This is the model.

Every 3-4 years I think. Maybe 3 is the sweet spot.

I think it will happen. The AFL need new things to dangle for broadcasters. This carnival, held in October which is a dead time for sport, would rate massively.

Dil wants it back.

Rinse and repeat.

I am really not sure about including Tasmania as they would get destroyed by every other team by 200 points.

Dil wants it back.

Rinse and repeat.
Would be fascinating if they actually did this and it sounds like Dillon is genuinely keen to try it, possibly as soon as next year. Just one thing - I wouldn't combine QLD & NT. I think you need a standalone QLD team in order to get full buy in from Queenslanders. I know that messes with your format, but I think it's important for the third biggest state in the country to have its own standalone team.

Split Victoria into Vic Metro and Vic Country for the first iteration just to see what happens and have Vic Metro play WA for the title, while Vic Country plays NSW or SA for the Div II title. Then have QLD play the other state that's not competing against Vic Country (NSW or SA) for the Div III title and have Tassie play NT for the Div IV title. Adding promotion and relegation stipulations would make it even more interesting because, in theory, it would mean teams like Tassie or the NT could work their way up the pyramid and eventually become Div I national champions one day. That keeps people invested year on year.

If it turns out Vic Metro and Vic Country are too weak on their own, you can combine them later on.

Would be fascinating if they actually did this and it sounds like Dillon is genuinely keen to try it, possibly as soon as next year. Just one thing - I wouldn't combine QLD & NT. I think you need a standalone QLD team in order to get full buy in from Queenslanders. I know that messes with your format, but I think it's important for the third biggest state in the country to have its own standalone team.

Split Victoria into Vic Metro and Vic Country for the first iteration just to see what happens and have Vic Metro play WA for the title, while Vic Country plays NSW or SA for the Div II title. Then have QLD play the other state that's not competing against Vic Country (NSW or SA) for the Div III title and have Tassie play NT for the Div IV title. Adding promotion and relegation stipulations would make it even more interesting because, in theory, it would mean teams like Tassie or the NT could work their way up the pyramid and eventually become Div I national champions one day. That keeps people invested year on year.

If it turns out Vic Metro and Vic Country are too weak on their own, you can combine them later on.

Yep.

I would go

Vic Metro vs WA
Vic Country vs SA
QLD/NT vs NSW/ACT

Would make some great games.

Also I know what you said about Queensland and NT, but just call it Queensland, and quietly include NT.

WA team is not that great atm, I wish they did it when Franklin Kennedy Rance Fyfe where in full flight!

Trying to think of a team off the top of my head.

L Baker Barrass J Mcgovern
J Clark Taylor L Humphries
L Jackson P Cripps N Martin
S Bolton J Treacy K Pickett
Bo Hill Hogan Waterman

English Warner Kelly

Coniglio Naughton Mcgovern B Hill

WA team is not that great atm, I wish they did it when Franklin Kennedy Rance Fyfe where in full flight!

Bo Hill Hogan Waterman

English Warner Kelly

NSW has lost its forward line too. 5 years ago the forward line of Hawkins and Walker would have given Victoria a run for its money.

Bo Hill Hogan Waterman

English Warner Kelly

Josh Treacy is Victorian I think

NSW/ACT
B: Buckley, Cumming, Perryman
HB: Blakey, H.Himmelberg, Williams
C: Hopper, Mills, Gulden
HF: Campbell, E.Himmelberg, Wicks
FF: Shultz, Marshall, Bruest
FOLL: Witts, Green, Heeney
Int: Steele, Rampe, Kennedy, Cunningham, Briggs

A bit poor in the forward line but it has a very good midfield and a pretty good defensive line too. I think Williams and Blakey would provide a tonne of run off half back.

Yep.

I would go

Vic Metro vs WA
Vic Country vs SA
QLD/NT vs NSW/ACT

Would make some great games.

Also I know what you said about Queensland and NT, but just call it Queensland, and quietly include NT.
You wouldn't get full buy in from Victorian fans if you watered their state team down to metro and country.

NSW/ACT
B: Buckley, Cumming, Perryman
HB: Blakey, H.Himmelberg, Williams
C: Hopper, Mills, Gulden
HF: Campbell, E.Himmelberg, Wicks
FF: Shultz, Marshall, Bruest
FOLL: Witts, Green, Heeney
Int: Steele, Rampe, Kennedy, Cunningham, Briggs

A bit poor in the forward line but it has a very good midfield and a pretty good defensive line too. I think Williams and Blakey would provide a tonne of run off half back.
Is there a reason you don't have Tex Walker in thete?

2024 State Of Origin teams

Write your reply...