2024 State Of Origin teams

Maurice Snr played SOO for WA.
The eligibility rules prior to around 1993 or 1994 were rather stupid. Players from one state could qualify for another state by playing in that state, and a big-3 state had priority in some circumstances.
So Dunstall (Qld) played for Victoria; Longmire (NSW) and Allison (ACT) played both for and against Victoria in the same year; Carey (NSW) for SA; Pritchard played for Victoria and was not available for Tasmania playing the same weekend.

After that players had one state only, based on the where they lived (not went to school) in their "formative years". I can't recall the age range, but it was something like 8 to 16.

The other thing to consider is... what's the purpose of State of Origin? What is it about SoO that will actually attract fans and engender passion?

In the 80s, it made sense - SA and WA had (rightly) resentment about the best players in their states being poached by the riches of the VFL and saw State of Origin as a chance to prove something, and have a homecoming. For a lot of fans of Victorian teams that were no hope of winning a flag due to their financial situation, it was as close as their star players would get to a blockbuster.

Now a lot of those factors have been nullified; all major footy states have two teams, equalisation means that most players will get to go deep into September at some point. I'm not sure the appeal is genuinely there.

I think it would have legs provided they don’t over-do it.

If they retain some real novelty factor then it would be popular. I think the absolute max you could play it is every 3 years. Preferably 4. Any more than that and players will just pull out because they have another chance coming up.

These days it would be more of an all-star concept but with some added meaning of the state representation. It used to be an annual grudge match but now more of the attraction would be seeing so many of the best players in one game.

Three games across a weekend after the season. I’d also play curtain raisers with Under 18 games, the last chance to see all the best kids before the draft. That would add a bit of interest.

I think it would have legs provided they don’t over-do it.

If they retain some real novelty factor then it would be popular. I think the absolute max you could play it is every 3 years. Preferably 4. Any more than that and players will just pull out because they have another chance coming up.

These days it would be more of an all-star concept but with some added meaning of the state representation. It used to be an annual grudge match but now more of the attraction would be seeing so many of the best players in one game.

Three games across a weekend after the season. I’d also play curtain raisers with Under 18 games, the last chance to see all the best kids before the draft. That would add a bit of interest.
I agree with most of this. I think it absolutely needs the novelty factor, because the state-vs-state rivalries aren't as strong as they were in the 20th century, hence the gold standard of every four years (World Cup for soccer and cricket, Olympics).

The one point that I would differ from you, is that I think it needs to continue to be in mid-year. If you do it after the GF, then:
a) It will suffer in comparison, especially if the GF is an all-time great game. Fan interest in particular will be down after the GF is such an "event"
b) It's getting a bit too hot
c) You eat into player holidays, and most importantly:
d) Clubs that miss the finals will have put their players into surgery weeks earlier.

IMO, it has to be June-ish.

Bring it back in Feb to kick off the year, but keep it simple.
Players are warmed up, any injuries won't impact finals. Fans are starved of footy.

Friday night: Vic Metro v WA
Saturday night: SA v Vic Country (inc. riverina)

Each side would be competitive, the divide between Vic metro and country is already there so very easy to exploit, when they play each other the winner gets awarded 'rings of steel'. Other states, too bad.

While I think this is the most likely option, the big drawback is Adelaide Oval and the MCG are unlikely to be available...even Docklands is in peak concert season in Feb.

Bring the opening round forward to allow for a bigger mid-season break, during which a SOO 'Carnival' takes place. Just one round, every year, a bye on either side so the players still get a break.

Start with:
Vic Metro vs Vic Country - Championship game
Western Australia vs South Australia
Queensland vs NSW/ACT
Tasmania vs Northern Territory (maybe give them ACT instead of NSW, with the way the Academies are developing talent)

Winners move up, losers move down for next years brackets.

That way we can get the big Vic/SA/WA games, whilst getting competitive games out of the weaker states without shutting them out completely.

Tassie/NT will definitely need to fill out with state league players, but they likely won't come up against the stronger states without earning it and, you never know, might provide someone with the opportunity to get drafted or make a name for themselves.

ADELAIDE - Jordan Dawson - “Definitely. Something I’d love to do is represent my state and to try and beat the other states would be nice for bragging rights amongst teammates. It’s something that I’d love to do for South Australia.”

BRISBANE - Lachie Neale - “Hell yes. I’d love to play in that, I think it would be an awesome concept. A lot of the players love the idea.”

CARLTON - Patrick Cripps - “A big yes. February is a great time for it as it gets us out of clubland for a bit. I reckon it’s a good chance for people from their home state to represent it. It would be good for the fans and I know all the players are pretty keen to get it going.”

COLLINGWOOD - Darcy Moore - “It feels like it’s an intuitive one for us (the players). How that works with calendars and clubs, and of course the suits who want to make money, we’ve got to make sure everybody is happy with the timing. February seems like a natural place for if it was to happen.”

ESSENDON - Zach Merrett - “A massive yes. I’d love to watch or play in it. I think it’s an element of our game the would be cool if it came back.”

FREMANTLE - Alex Pearce - “It would be good fun to play with the best players in the comp. If it’s in February I might get out of a few intra-club games too.”

GEELONG - Patrick Dangerfield - “Yes, but as long as it’s not every year. I think you need it in small doses so the demand is there. You don’t want to oversupply, but I think there is a thirst for it.”

GOLD COAST - Noah Anderson - “Yes. I think it would be a great thing to watch and be a part of.”

GWS GIANTS - Toby Greene - “Yeah, it would be great, I’d love to play it. It’s something we don’t get to do as AFL players, to get to play against the best players in the comp. It would be a great initiative and you’d get big buy-in I reckon.”

HAWTHORN - James Sicily - “Yes. I think it would be fun. I was a part of the Bushfire game and it was amazing to be a part of.”

MELBOURNE - Max Gawn - “Yes. I’m quite patriotically Victorian. That would be fun. I’m patriotic city Victorian as well so even if it’s country, I’d love to beat up on the country boys as well.”

NORTH MELBOURNE - Jy Simpkin - “Big yes. I think it’s just great for footy. We saw the indigenous All-Stars game work really well a couple of weeks ago. State of Origin would definitely be a hit.”

PORT ADELAIDE - Connor Rozee - “I love watching the rugby State of Origin and I think we can do it even better. I’m not sure exactly how it looks but I’d love to be involved.”

RICHMOND - Toby Nankervis - “Big yes for State of Origin. I think the best players playing against each other would be great for spectators. It would create a lot of energy and buzz.”

ST KILDA - Jack Steele - “Yes. I think most players sit in that category. It would be exciting watch the best of the best go at it and something I’d love to see a little bit more of. It’s something I’d love to be a part of.”

SYDNEY - Callum Mills - “A big yes. Everyone wants to see it.”

WEST COAST - Liam Duggan - “Yes, big fan. I’d love to see it, I think it would be a great spectacle. I think there would be plenty of buy-in.”

WESTERN BULLDOGS - Marcus Bontempelli - “Yes. I think the recent Indigenous All-Stars game gives us a good template of how it would probably work. I think that’s the best timing where it doesn’t force anyone out of their normal programming during the season.”

NSW/ACT
B: Buckley, Cumming, Perryman
HB: Blakey, H.Himmelberg, Williams
C: Hopper, Mills, Gulden
HF: Campbell, E.Himmelberg, Wicks
FF: Shultz, Marshall, Bruest
FOLL: Witts, Green, Heeney
Int: Steele, Rampe, Kennedy, Cunningham, Briggs

A bit poor in the forward line but it has a very good midfield and a pretty good defensive line too. I think Williams and Blakey would provide a tonne of run off half back.
That forward line is actually horrendous.

The State of Origin needs the Indigenous guys in the teams to make it work as you want to see the best vs the best. SA is no where near as strong without the likes of JHF, Rankine or Pickett, for example.

Obviously the players want it. If Adelaide Oval is unavailable in February, it's probably not happening in South Australia. Perth Stadium or Marvel Stadium are probably the venues.

Year 1: Indigenous All-Stars vs U21 All-Stars
Year 2: WA vs VIC
Year 3: Repeat of Year 1
Year 4: Winner of Year 2 vs SA

and so on...

VIC, WA, SA the only States involved and at most, each of these teams plays every two years if they win, or every 4 years if they lose. Besides representation, it makes the game mean something, as losing makes you sit out for 4 years.

You could add a bi-annual NSW vs QLD game as well, but not sure that would hold much interest and would potentially be a lame comparison to the Rugby League version.

VIC, WA, SA the only States involved and at most, each of these teams plays every two years if they win, or every 4 years if they lose. Besides representation, it makes the game mean something, as losing makes you sit out for 4 years.

You could add a bi-annual NSW vs QLD game as well, but not sure that would hold much interest and would potentially be a lame comparison to the Rugby League version.

Agree with you the Indigeous Stars need to be in for all the SOO teams. I think it is shortsighted not to have QLD in, we will have more Junior footballers registered than SA this year and if you look at this team below it will be highly competitive against SA and WA next year (let alone KPF Ty Gallop and Zeke the Freak coming behind this group).

We would be underdogs against a SA or WA team but as a state that is what we relish.....bring it on. Many have written us off before.

We may not have a history with AFL State of Origin but we have a future.... Don't just consign us to playing NSW.

QLD
B: B.Uwland (GC), H.Andrews (Bri), J.Payne (Bri)
HB: K.Coleman (Bri), A.Aliir (PA), D.Zorko (Bri)
C: J.Fletcher (Bri), B.Keays (Ade), J.Bowes (Gee)
HF: J.Rogers (GC), E.Hipwood (Bri), L.Ashcroft (Bri)
F: E.Read (GC), J.Walter (GC), C.Cameron (Bri)
Fol: M.Chol (Haw), W.Ashcroft (Bri), W.Graham (GC)
Int: A.Davies (GC), B.Scott (NM), L.Lombard (GC), S.Marshall (Bri)
Coach: M.Voss (Car)

Credit (and kudos) to GC2015 for putting together the QLD team

ADELAIDE - Jordan Dawson - “Definitely. Something I’d love to do is represent my state and to try and beat the other states would be nice for bragging rights amongst teammates. It’s something that I’d love to do for South Australia.”

BRISBANE - Lachie Neale - “Hell yes. I’d love to play in that, I think it would be an awesome concept. A lot of the players love the idea.”

CARLTON - Patrick Cripps - “A big yes. February is a great time for it as it gets us out of clubland for a bit. I reckon it’s a good chance for people from their home state to represent it. It would be good for the fans and I know all the players are pretty keen to get it going.”

COLLINGWOOD - Darcy Moore - “It feels like it’s an intuitive one for us (the players). How that works with calendars and clubs, and of course the suits who want to make money, we’ve got to make sure everybody is happy with the timing. February seems like a natural place for if it was to happen.”

ESSENDON - Zach Merrett - “A massive yes. I’d love to watch or play in it. I think it’s an element of our game the would be cool if it came back.”

FREMANTLE - Alex Pearce - “It would be good fun to play with the best players in the comp. If it’s in February I might get out of a few intra-club games too.”

GEELONG - Patrick Dangerfield - “Yes, but as long as it’s not every year. I think you need it in small doses so the demand is there. You don’t want to oversupply, but I think there is a thirst for it.”

GOLD COAST - Noah Anderson - “Yes. I think it would be a great thing to watch and be a part of.”

GWS GIANTS - Toby Greene - “Yeah, it would be great, I’d love to play it. It’s something we don’t get to do as AFL players, to get to play against the best players in the comp. It would be a great initiative and you’d get big buy-in I reckon.”

HAWTHORN - James Sicily - “Yes. I think it would be fun. I was a part of the Bushfire game and it was amazing to be a part of.”

MELBOURNE - Max Gawn - “Yes. I’m quite patriotically Victorian. That would be fun. I’m patriotic city Victorian as well so even if it’s country, I’d love to beat up on the country boys as well.”

NORTH MELBOURNE - Jy Simpkin - “Big yes. I think it’s just great for footy. We saw the indigenous All-Stars game work really well a couple of weeks ago. State of Origin would definitely be a hit.”

PORT ADELAIDE - Connor Rozee - “I love watching the rugby State of Origin and I think we can do it even better. I’m not sure exactly how it looks but I’d love to be involved.”

RICHMOND - Toby Nankervis - “Big yes for State of Origin. I think the best players playing against each other would be great for spectators. It would create a lot of energy and buzz.”

ST KILDA - Jack Steele - “Yes. I think most players sit in that category. It would be exciting watch the best of the best go at it and something I’d love to see a little bit more of. It’s something I’d love to be a part of.”

SYDNEY - Callum Mills - “A big yes. Everyone wants to see it.”

WEST COAST - Liam Duggan - “Yes, big fan. I’d love to see it, I think it would be a great spectacle. I think there would be plenty of buy-in.”

WESTERN BULLDOGS - Marcus Bontempelli - “Yes. I think the recent Indigenous All-Stars game gives us a good template of how it would probably work. I think that’s the best timing where it doesn’t force anyone out of their normal programming during the season.”

Absolutely the players will want it, but the key is, IMO, to not do it too often. I agree with Bunk Moreland I think it was, who said that every four years is a good idea.

The novelty factor will wear off, for players, but especially for crowds.

Bring the opening round forward to allow for a bigger mid-season break, during which a SOO 'Carnival' takes place. Just one round, every year, a bye on either side so the players still get a break.

Start with:
Vic Metro vs Vic Country - Championship game
Western Australia vs South Australia
Queensland vs NSW/ACT
Tasmania vs Northern Territory (maybe give them ACT instead of NSW, with the way the Academies are developing talent)

Winners move up, losers move down for next years brackets.

That way we can get the big Vic/SA/WA games, whilst getting competitive games out of the weaker states without shutting them out completely.

Tassie/NT will definitely need to fill out with state league players, but they likely won't come up against the stronger states without earning it and, you never know, might provide someone with the opportunity to get drafted or make a name for themselves.
For what it's worth, I think the interest among Victorian fans would be tepid at best anyway, but splitting it into Vic Metro and Vic Country would ensure that fan interest would basically evaporate in Victoria.

If we assume the information in this article is correct, then we're looking at a two-tiered state competition looking like this:

Div I
Victoria
South Australia
Western Australia
Indigenous All Stars

Div II
New South Wales/ACT
Queensland
Tasmania
Northern Territory

I don't hate it. I'd rather the Indigenous All Stars be separate because I think it's unfair on indigenous players to be forced to choose between the All Stars and their home state, but other than that I quite like it. Especially if it includes promotion-relegation of the best Div II team replacing the worst Div I team each year. Tassie and NT will obviously need some state league top ups and that's probably okay considering they won't end up facing the monster teams like Victoria in Div I.

The article suggests Victoria v South Australia would be on the cards. What would that actually look like? I'll go with 1990crow's 2025 SA team and match them up against a reported 2024 Victorian team:
SA SOO 2025
FB: Michalanney ~ Wilkie ~ Cox
HB: Hinge ~ Ballard ~ Redman
C: Day ~ Dawson ~ Wanganeen-Milera
HF: Rankine ~ Fogarty ~ Rozee
FF: Lukosius ~ Thilthorpe ~ Stengle
FOL: Grundy ~ Horne-Francis ~ Neale
INT: Neale-Bullen ~ Hayward ~ Pickett ~ Hewett
VIC SOO 2024
FB: Holmes ~ Weitering ~ Ryan
HB: Stewart ~ Moore ~ Whitfield
C: J.Daicos ~ N.Daicos ~ Walsh
HF: Butters ~ B.King ~ Petracca
FF: Greene ~ Curnow ~ Cameron
FOL: Gawn ~ Bontempelli ~ Merrett
INT: McKay ~ Anderson ~ Serong ~ Reid

Victoria is obviously stronger at either end of the ground, but I do think the midfield is pretty evenly matched. So you'd schedule that game for Adelaide Oval to give SA a greater chance of winning. The South Aussies would undoubtedly sell out Adelaide Oval for this one in the hope that they might get to witness a massive boilover against the Big V and the atmosphere would be awesome. Then I guess you have WA playing the Indigenous All Stars according to the article. Queensland and New South Wales playoff against one another for Div I promotion and Tassie v NT would round out the Origin weekend.

I think this can work if they execute it correctly by doing things like scheduling the first SA v Vic fixture at AO to ensure maximum engagement. Also, don't hold it every year otherwise players will just get complacent again. Every second year should be about right in terms of enticing the best players to take it seriously.
Agree with you the Indigeous Stars need to be in for all the SOO teams. I think it is shortsighted not to have QLD in, we will have more Junior footballers registered than SA this year and if you look at this team below it will be highly competitive against SA and WA next year (let alone KPF Ty Gallop and Zeke the Freak coming behind this group).

We would be underdogs against a SA or WA team but as a state that is what we relish.....bring it on. Many have written us off before.

We may not have a history with AFL State of Origin but we have a future.... Don't just consign us to playing NSW.

QLD
B: B.Uwland (GC), H.Andrews (Bri), J.Payne (Bri)
HB: K.Coleman (Bri), A.Aliir (PA), D.Zorko (Bri)
C: J.Fletcher (Bri), B.Keays (Ade), J.Bowes (Gee)
HF: J.Rogers (GC), E.Hipwood (Bri), L.Ashcroft (Bri)
F: E.Read (GC), J.Walter (GC), C.Cameron (Bri)
Fol: M.Chol (Haw), W.Ashcroft (Bri), W.Graham (GC)
Int: A.Davies (GC), B.Scott (NM), L.Lombard (GC), S.Marshall (Bri)
Coach: M.Voss (Car)

Credit (and kudos) to GC2015 for putting together the QLD team
Give it 2-3 years and the Queensland state team will look a lot stronger than it does right now. We've got serious talent that's either just entered the league or are coming through and once they hit their straps in a few years, we'll be very hard to beat. Therefore, I agree with you that you can't exclude Queensland from a State of Origin competition. Queenslanders thrive in this kind of environment where we've been underestimated! The Ashcroft boys and Zeke the Freak hitting Walter and Gallop lace out would be unreal to watch in a few years from now.

If we assume the information in this article is correct, then we're looking at a two-tiered state competition looking like this:

Div I
Victoria
South Australia
Western Australia
Indigenous All Stars

Div II
New South Wales/ACT
Queensland
Tasmania
Northern Territory

I don't hate it. I'd rather the Indigenous All Stars be separate because I think it's unfair on indigenous players to be forced to choose between the All Stars and their home state, but other than that I quite like it. Especially if it includes promotion-relegation of the best Div II team replacing the worst Div I team each year. Tassie and NT will obviously need some state league top ups and that's probably okay considering they won't end up facing the monster teams like Victoria in Div I.

The article suggests Victoria v South Australia would be on the cards. What would that actually look like? I'll go with 1990crow's 2025 SA team and match them up against a reported 2024 Victorian team:

VIC SOO 2024
FB: Holmes ~ Weitering ~ Ryan
HB: Stewart ~ Moore ~ Whitfield
C: J.Daicos ~ N.Daicos ~ Walsh
HF: Butters ~ B.King ~ Petracca
FF: Greene ~ Curnow ~ Cameron
FOL: Gawn ~ Bontempelli ~ Merrett
INT: McKay ~ Anderson ~ Serong ~ Reid

Victoria is obviously stronger at either end of the ground, but I do think the midfield is pretty evenly matched. So you'd schedule that game for Adelaide Oval to give SA a greater chance of winning. The South Aussies would undoubtedly sell out Adelaide Oval for this one in the hope that they might get to witness a massive boilover against the Big V and the atmosphere would be awesome. Then I guess you have WA playing the Indigenous All Stars according to the article. Queensland and New South Wales playoff against one another for Div I promotion and Tassie v NT would round out the Origin weekend.

I think this can work if they execute it correctly by doing things like scheduling the first SA v Vic fixture at AO to ensure maximum engagement. Also, don't hold it every year otherwise players will just get complacent again. Every second year should be about right in terms of enticing the best players to take it seriously.
Except you take out Rankine, Horne-Francis, Wanganeen-Milera and Pickett and that is not a true representation of SA. Likewise, WA football has always had strong indigenous representation. Victoria probably not so much.

The indigenous match should definitely be a thing, but separate to State of Origin.

Except you take out Rankine, Horne-Francis, Wanganeen-Milera and Pickett and that is not a true representation of SA. Likewise, WA football has always had strong indigenous representation. Victoria probably not so much.

The indigenous match should definitely be a thing, but separate to State of Origin.
Totally agree. SA & WA would be heavily affected by an Indigenous All Stars team taking part in the SoO competition. Queensland (Charlie Cameron, Keidean Coleman) + New South Wales (Zac Williams, Jeremy Finlayson) would also be impacted. The NT team would be virtually bereft of all it's top end talent and even Tassie would lose significant players like Alex Pearce + Ryley Sanders. In fact, Victoria would probably be the only state unaffected by the Indigenous team taking part in this competition.

I'd rather do the All Stars game and SoO games in alternating years like this:

Indigenous All Stars v rotating AFL team (Fremantle @ Perth Stadium)

State of Origin - Window 1 (February)
Thursday - Div II RR 1 - Tasmania v Queensland @ Bellerive Stadium, TAS
Friday Div I SF 2 - Western Australia v NSW/ACT @ Perth Stadium, WA
Saturday Div I SF 1 - South Australia v Victoria @ Adelaide Oval, SA
Sunday Div II RR 2 - Tasmania v NT @ York Park, TAS

State of Origin - Window 2 (October)
Friday Div I Relegation Game - SF Loser 1 v SF Loser 2 (likely New South Wales v South Australia @ SCG, NSW)
Saturday Div I National Championship - SF Winner 1 v SF Winner 2 (likely Western Australia v Victoria @ MCG/Marvel, VIC)
Sunday Div II RR 3 - Queensland v NT @ Gabba/Carrara Stadium, QLD

Winner of the Div II Round Robin competition gets promoted into Div I in 2028 and the loser of the Div I Relegation Game gets relegated into the Div II in 2028. Every other team stays where they are. Two opportunities to play for your state/territory every two years, but there should be enough time between games for the fans to get sick of the concept.

I think the rules used to be about where you spent the most time living between the ages of 11 and 18, or something like that.

Nathan Buckley had lived in basically every state before the age of 12, then lived in the NT for five years, then boarded in Melbourne for a year or two. The rules made him NT for state of origin i believe.

Then he played in Adelaide, went to Brisbane for a year, and settled at Collingwood.
Yeah I think Adam Goodes lived most his life in SA but ended up playing a game for vic. IMO it should be left for the players.

Said it before but we are basically the only professional sport where the best we are ever really going to see is club vs club. I don't mean that in a bad way as such, but it means we don't get to see the best players we have in our game all playing for the same side, so we dont' get to see the best of what our game could be.

Even the South Australian side would shite on any AFL team in the country.

Said it before but we are basically the only professional sport where the best we are ever really going to see is club vs club. I don't mean that in a bad way as such, but it means we don't get to see the best players we have in our game all playing for the same side, so we dont' get to see the best of what our game could be.

Even the South Australian side would shite on any AFL team in the country.
It's kind of sad for some of the better players in the league. Look at how reinvigorated Jy Simpkin looked the other week when he played for the Indigenous All Stars and that gives you an idea of how special rep footy can be to players, particularly if their club has been struggling for a few years. I suspect Simpkin would say that was one of, if not the, highlight/s of his footy career over the last five years or so (if he was being honest).

You see it in the NRL when a player like South Sydney's Latrell Mitchell played for NSW last year and scores a try in a crucial game 2 win that allowed NSW to go on and claim the series later on, meanwhile at club land his team struggles all year and they finish second last on the ladder. I'm sure Latrell would say the highlight of his 2024 season would have been the State of Origin win he played (and scored) in that allowed his home state to later claim the shield back from QLD.

Anyway, how do you think a match between NSW/ACT and WA would go? Do you think a current Blues lineup is capable of beating the Sangropers if they played next year?

NSW/ACT

WA
B: Barrass, Taylor, Starcevich
HB: Martin, McGovern, Baker
C: Br.Hill, Cripps, Acres
HF: Bolton, Allan, Waterman
FF: Bo.Hill, Hogan, Ryan
FOLL: Cameron, Warner, Yeo
Int: Kelly, Coniglio, Naughton, English, Rivers

We saw what these representative games would look like with the bushfire game 5 years ago, and it was turgid, bruise free rubbish that barely resembled a game a footy.

If you're going to discuss it seriously in terms of picking teams, at least acknowledge what the game is likely to be and pick a full forward, a full back, a ruckman, and 20 outside running players who don't tackle - that's all you'll need.

To me, the fundamental problem is Victoria are just too strong. Perpetually too strong. If you took any Victorian side this century, they would comfortably account for any given other state side. It would kill the interest.

The other big factor is there will be pressure from the clubs for their players to not go in too hard. Another spectacle killer.

For what it's worth, I think the interest among Victorian fans would be tepid at best anyway, but splitting it into Vic Metro and Vic Country would ensure that fan interest would basically evaporate in Victoria.

To me, the fundamental problem is Victoria are just too strong. Perpetually too strong. If you took any Victorian side this century, they would comfortably account for any given other state side. It would kill the interest.

This is essentially why I pitched the Vic Metro/Country set-up. It's already established in the juniors, has been as long as I've followed the draft, so most players have already represented one or the other. Could be interesting watching the evolution of each outfit from U18s to AFL.

Another bonus is it gives more opportunity for what would otherwise be a ridiculously hard team to make.

NSW/ACT

That's actually a pretty decent line-up, outside of the key posts.

2024 State Of Origin teams