• X.Taylor&

Votes: 1 0.6%
  • Farrow & Grlj

Votes: 1 0.6%

The solution seems simple really.

Let's trade our 2027 first rounder and 2027 second rounder for Blues / Dees / Bombers first this year.

we take XT, Robey AND Cumming and get the **** out of there.

*zero thought has been put into the actual logistics of how any trade like that would work, I just want all 3 players..

Cumming is nothing like Cotchin as a player.

Cotch was all class, dual footed, polished smooth mover.

Cumming is a bull, more an explosive power athlete that can play forward.
No player is identical to another, but there is some similarities on their ferocity IMO. They hit the ball with speed and aggression which might have been what Capn Cotch 9 was referring to

I kinda want us to trade up our pick 38 for Jevan Phillipou.
There's every chance I'm just getting caught up in the excitement of it all but if someone is wanting to accept 38 and like our FF2 to get back in before he gets picked then I'm on board.

We aren't talking to the bloke for nothing...

I kinda want us to trade up our pick 38 for Jevan Phillipou.
There's every chance I'm just getting caught up in the excitement of it all but if someone is wanting to accept 38 and like our FF2 to get back in before he gets picked then I'm on board.

We aren't talking to the bloke for nothing...
Bidding Schitts Creek GIF by CBC

I’m hearing Tassie are already running into a lot of trouble just recruiting players to come play VFL and there’s a big worry already that there a lot of players who don’t want to move to Tasmania.
Including boys that are from tassie. A lot of them are happy to have been given a chance to get out of tassie.

Also there is a school of thought that Richmond hierarchy are very keen to get this current crop of young talent as many games with our outgoing champions eg Lynch, Prestia, Vlastuin, Broad, Nank etc to give pass the batton along in the right way.

So short term there is a slight importance placed on most of these draftees being able to come and in and play.
Even when you look at our Tassie boys could only really say Banks is a good chance imo

Mansell is loved up with Conti now so doubt he moves and Seth looks like he has no plans at all to return to Tassie given his contract and even before plenty of whispers that he never wanted to return to tas

Nank might go if his body is still right but I’m not even sure how settled his wife is in Melbourne given she is pregnant as well

Means Tassie will be forced to throw money at non apple islanders but that will only get them so far

I love Tassie and the idea of them having a side but I still hold very strong doubts that they will be able to sustain a list that could contend

so if we are assuming XT is a lock, which I am completely fine with, and just on him, I wouldn't get too caught up on XT the defender, the kid could play anywhere such are his talents.

But if the other pick is between Robey and Cumming that is a really tough decision.

Both play forward / mid, however Robey's extra height and could still be growing makes him more of a forward 50 marking target threat.

Cumming probably has him for speed and agility. Robey has the strength / power battle.

Both have played against men and handled themselves well, albeit different competitions.

Is there maybe more of a view on Cummings ceiling because we have more info to go off? or does not knowing Robeys full ceiling add more reason to pick him?

If both are available come our pick, I reckon we spin the wheel of names to let it decide.
Could Rhy interview with Cal be a smoke screen also ?
We know the bombers have a love for CDT and possibly Robey but we would have really great info into their interest in Taylor also and i am certain they would take him if we selected Robey/Cumming with #2 & #3.

What if we believe he is their desired player with Ridley/Reid constantly injured and laverde now a Giant
he fits their needs perfectly.

So Rhy goes on Cal's show and oozes the love for XT but leaves the door open for the bombers if they want to have a shot at #3 ( keeping in mind we are happy with any 3 of the players)

But what is enough of a sweetener ?
#3+#38 for #5 + #9 ?
#3 + F2 for #5 + #9 ?

I’m not sure you remember Richmond’s game plan… we based it off defensive fifty turnovers. If we had a shit defence we never would have won a single premiership no matter how great our midfield was.
We had Rance, Grimes, Astruby, Houli, etc gun backmen

Take out Cotchin, Martin, Edwards, Prestia, Lambert and we don't win a game.

No problem mate.

For what it’s worth I think Cumming would be incredible for you guys. I see him as your Cotchin replacement off field and onfield.

He is a natural leader, and all things going well, could easily be your captain in 5 years.

Cheers! I was thinking similar in terms of leadership potential...

No player is identical to another, but there is some similarities on their ferocity IMO. They hit the ball with speed and aggression which might have been what Capn Cotch 9 was referring to
Yeah no doubt.

Player comps are dangerous, each player is unique in their own right but may share characteristics. Cummimg is a hunter, he's tenacious like Cotch was. I just wouldn't expect the polish and silk that cotch provided.

It'll be interesting if we do pick Robey with Taylor. Means we won't have really picked a mid. In my mind Cumming is more likely to be a mid than Robey (because of height I guess). I'd probably prefer Cumming and Taylor out of the two options, but it's really hard to decide. Hope Robey doesn't become the next Bont if we do pass on him though

Starting to get the feeling we will be watching Robey with gritted teeth in the red sash hoping he doesn’t become a superstar.
They will end up with Robey and Sharp and you watch the flogs chirp.

Cant wait for Bad Scott to play them in the VFL for the whole year

I hear you.

I have said all along that Taylor (and Grill for that matter) were better gets if we split our pick, and would still prefer 2 of Sharp, Robey and Cumming). We didn't win our premierships because of Vlastuin, we won because we had two brownlow medallist onballers and all our other guns who rotated through the square.

If they want to pencil in back flank onto our upcoming premiership side then that's all well and good but not what I think is most pressing. But at the end of the day, I back these guys to know what the hell they are doing. I won't melt if we end up with Robey and Taylor. There are worse ways to squander picks.
And if we really don't rate the onballers in this years draft? Jordan Knapp looked just as capable in the Eastern Ranges midfield games he played this year as a 16/17 year old, and he was only ranked 11th in the Futures game by Rookieme.

I don't care who we pick, as long as it is the best player available

We are not trying to win the flag next year, we should be in finals by 2028, so that is 2 drafts and 2 trade periods , after this to fill in the gaps

We have so many gaps right now, that i am confident we will take the best talent available

We have no other choice ATM

And if we really don't rate the onballers in this years draft for onballers? Jordan Knapp looked just as capable in the Eastern Ranges midfield games he played this year as a 16/17 year old, and he was only ranked 11th in the Futures game by Rookieme.

He also got injured in the futures game and I was surprised he came back. Was close to bog before that. He is a perfect fit next year in my mind.

Never Fear Robey is here!
Im a Roby supporter and would love a Robey / Cumming combo
But im thinking its going to be Cumming / Taylor

Players being tracked 2-3 years out gives me reason to think thats the way it plays out unless we do split
Rhy and Toce were close and have to believe that work they did last year would have been involved heavily in the taylor/ Cumming boys with Robey really not in the conversation and another reason would be Francis jackson. Taylor and Cumming are exactly the types he would select and he is now looking after futures as he was doing last year

Just thinking the body of work they have done in the last 2 years will be on their minds and sway their thinking away from Robey

List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft - Draft Analysis