Votes: 0 0.0%
  • X.Taylor&

Votes: 1 0.6%
  • Farrow & Grlj

Votes: 1 0.6%

I think people seem to think there is a universal ranking list from Ben Waterworth and if you don't pick the next guy up you've gone needs over best available lol. It sounds stupid when I type it out but I'm pretty sure I'm right :$
Think Rhy explained it really well in his 2 chats yesterday in that the club doesn't pay much attention to the media rankings as they don't have anywhere near the amount of information that the club(s) have when it comes to the kids and I'm pretty sure he said they have a bit of a chuckle about how the media reacts to clubs taking players well ahead of where the media 'experts' have them.

I've seen the AFL media push this narrative the last few years. Players who are dying out and it seems to be catching on with the general public. The false narrative that blokes who win the footy consistently are no longer valuable. To push the modern footy, fast paced, high scoring games the AFL want. Don't get sucked in. Clayton Oliver in 2021 was never a high goal kicking mid but absolutely dominated the competition. Cripps has dominated the comp for years without being a prolific goal scorer. Lachie Neale is the same. It's great having a Dustin Martin or a Dangerfield but those are generational talents.

If you listen to the media generational talents are like movies about assassins. There are approximately 7000 movies made annually about different assassins, but at last count there are only a handful of actual assassins operating in real time. Movies about assassins trying to assassinate other assassins, assassins being married to each other whilst unwittingly being hired to assassinate each other, 3rd and 4th generation assassins, assassins conventions, whole countries full of assassins. If you believe the movies there are more assassins than people who are not assassins. At some point surely the assassins run out of people to assassinate? It doesn't seem to make sense.

But I swear I have heard about 300 current footballers described by the media as generational talents. I am thinking of starting a breakaway league and calling it the GTFO League. Generational Talent Football Operatives League. There are more than enough of them to go around.

Anyway, I am off to watch Ass Assassins Academy iv. :)

Posted this on the SSP thread, but thought worth sharing the thought here.

There’s a common suggestion permeating the board that we went needs over best available. But what if the club is anticipating the way the game will be played over the next decade and determined that elite speed, repeat sprint ability, and endurance is what will separate the elite player of the future from the relic of the past?

Through that lens, it would be hard to argue we didn’t take the best available players (with the disclaimer that good foot skills will likely always be mandatory)!
Its hard for Rhy to go up against draft Guru's like LOTW who's tried and tested method of hindsight drafting is 2nd to none.
I think the clubs should push to have hindsight drafts.
EG:This years draftees spend 12mnnths at the club they're drafted at but in 12mnths time they all go into a pre draft draft and wherever they land they're at that club forever.
1-Cummings(Durrsma)
2-Grilj(Duff)
3-Peuker(Cumming)
4-Duff(Grilj)
etc
etc
etc

This brought me to the point I argued with you about the mock draft discussions with Hicks. He is just another guy with an opinion. He knows nothing more than most of us on here, despite what you think. He had no idea we had our eyes on some SA boys. Our recruiters have far more knowledge than any of the "draft gurus" and self-proclaimed talent experts.
There is nothing wrong with getting opinions, but in the end, as they say in the classics, opinions are like arseholes. Everybody's got one.
Anyway, great interview. Rhy is a great guy, as is Ollie. We are in good hands there. We must remember that recruiting is still an inexact science. Despite all the body of work done, all recruiters can't achieve 100% success with their choices.
What an Ancient post 😆

Reading flog Twomey's article. About what we already know. Cumming rated top 3 by most clubs. Grlj would've slid out to pick 14 but no trade downs available.

Midfielder/forward Cumming and Victorian bolter Sullivan Robey were part of the Eagles' next group on the order of available non-tied prospects.
Post-draft, it became clear that a number of clubs ranked Cumming a top-three talent, even winning some 'Patrick Dangerfield-like' comparisons.

But that alternative draft universe can be traced all the way back to Richmon's 'Grlj spill'. For if the Tigers didn't select him there, he would have been available at the Hawks' pick and could've been in the brown and gold, which would have stopped two trades being made, flipped plans and changed the rest of the first-round order, all the way through to who was taken in the 20s.

Reading flog Twomey's article. About what we already know. Cumming rated top 3 by most clubs. Grlj would've slid out to pick 14 but no trade downs available.

Watching that Rhy interview with Michaels, we rated Grlj higher than anyone else so the club didn't care how others would have rated him. The early mail was always right with us taking him.

Interesting listen to Rhy Michaels and Richo. We obviously have our method and criteria.

What I felt listening was
1) We really wanted speed, competitiveness and a good attitude. So we tilted towards that
2) It seemed that we didn't reckon there was much difference outside the top few, so going the way we did didn't lose anything. Did you discuss the draft overall Michaels?
3) We are building a team to win premierships with a clear idea of what that squad will look like. We are picking players with certain capabilities to fill out a 'template' squad. Last year it was inside mids + kicking skill, KPFs and X factor. This year speed and a nastiness in how they play. So the plan is a team that has skills, but has a real lot of grunt, hardness and leadership underlying it. I'd love to get a better idea of what that assembled squad looks like. And how much is driven by a planned game style vs a belief in what sort of teams win premierships. Under Dimma we built a different team to what had come before and it took years for other teams to adjust. Wonder if we have something similar in mind again.

Overall, I'm getting happier with how it is looking. We have just suddenly got a heap of depth in speed and toughness.

That we just overloaded in a certain style of player is interesting. We must really feel that having speed and contest was going to be super important.

Why do you have to wind this broken clock (Magic) up? He’ll believe it!
i post on here because RFC did not win a premiership between 1980 and 2017.

if RFC won a premiership every five years i would not post on here. I understand winning every five years is a impossible task, even players like JR probably agreewith this given what he has said in terms of the system, but 30 plus years is too long for me

i am only interested in external joy received from RFC winning premierships,

I have no vanity to worry about what others think of me

Watching that Rhy interview with Michaels, we rated Grlj higher than anyone else so the club didn't care how others would have rated him. The early mail was always right with us taking him.

Yep.

Watching that interview with Michaels and the club, I have a feeling we did not really rate Robey that highly. He went out of his way to name him both interviews without being prompted and said we went back and tracked his games and data and were comfortable with our picks.

Will be interesting to see how to plays out. A kid that physically big that runs such a poor sprint and average 2k time trial, I think there's legit question marks there.

Think Rhy explained it really well in his 2 chats yesterday in that the club doesn't pay much attention to the media rankings as they don't have anywhere near the amount of information that the club(s) have when it comes to the kids and I'm pretty sure he said they have a bit of a chuckle about how the media reacts to clubs taking players well ahead of where the media 'experts' have them.

Reckon we love taking the mickey out of Twomey and get a kick out of him not knowing what we will do.

Club would have been disappointed when they were spotted heading off to see Cumming just before the draft as I reckon most media would have said we were taking Robey & Taylor without that info.

So we did pick the #3 talent plus a guy who is absolutely elite runner, loves the contested stuff, is a leader and has good skills. Sounds like the RFC will only scape a pass this year for our drafting.

Club would have been disappointed when they were spotted heading off to see Cumming just before the draft as I reckon most media would have said we were taking Robey & Taylor without that info.
I just can't understand how Hartley and the recruiting team were recognised at the airport with the disguises they were wearing ...

anchorman GIF

I have no vanity to worry about what others think of me
Just as well for the majority of your posts are rambling garbage.

Let’s here your quote “I’m only interested in premierships” for the 1000th time.

We really loved Grlj from a long way out, then he killed it at VFL level and killed it in the combine testing. Would've been a massive call to downgrade him in our rankings just because others had him ranked 3 x players lower than us.

There was only really 3 x players most pundits seemed to have consistently ranked ahead of Grlj who were available at #8: Robey, Taylor and Sharp. Others like Farrow, Pickett, Taylor, Dovaston, Lindsay were not consistently ranked ahead of Grlj.

It's not like we took someone at #8 that most had at #18.

We really loved Grlj from a long way out, then he killed it at VFL level and killed it in the combine testing. Would've been a massive call to downgrade him in our rankings just because others had him ranked 3 x players lower than us.

There was only really 3 x players most pundits seemed to have consistently ranked ahead of Grlj who were available at #8: Robey, Taylor and Sharp. Others like Farrow, Pickett, Taylor, Dovaston, Lindsay were not consistently ranked ahead of Grlj.

Hawthorn were extremely annoyed we took him. They rated him highly.

when you think about it, it would be totally insane if our recruitment teams ranking were similar to the media draft experts watching noobers clips. our guys are doing interviews, watching their own footage and seeing them live on the reg for years.
hard to call any player selected a reach really.

Entire draft, AFL stitched us with Allan compo and we get 7th best kid.

Absolute rort.

Patterson is the only player I’m disappointed about not having access to but at the same time he was never playing AFL without the Queensland academies.

I think the players we have recruited are the best ones that meet our needs other than Patterson. While CDT could be a bit of a unicorn I don’t think he’ll cover full ruck duties, which is our new no.1 need.

I don’t rate Uwland and Annable any better than Cumming and Grlj, when considering our needs. Dean we simply didn’t need.

The only real question was Robey v Grlj. I was pro Robey but that was because I tried to watch Grlj play a Coates League game and didn’t see him do anything in the quarter or so I watched. The highlight reel on the other hand shows he has the exact thing we need plus the potential to become high quality quick/agile mid.

I think Grlj and Cumming will meet a need in our best 23 no matter what and it’s probably 50/50 if they go on to become elite players. Given we have a whole lot of other youngsters vying to be elite, I’m pretty comfortable at this stage.

Posted this on the SSP thread, but thought worth sharing the thought here.

There’s a common suggestion permeating the board that we went needs over best available. But what if the club is anticipating the way the game will be played over the next decade and determined that elite speed, repeat sprint ability, and endurance is what will separate the elite player of the future from the relic of the past?

Through that lens, it would be hard to argue we didn’t take the best available players (with the disclaimer that good foot skills will likely always be mandatory)!
We obviously have a matrix that we use to provide our rankings. Otherwise how do you measure a KPP against a small forward? This year speed has been given a higher weighting.

So I’m sure they can honestly say they went best available, but they also tweaked it so speed pushed players higher.

List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft - Draft Analysis