• X.Taylor&

Votes: 1 0.6%
  • Farrow & Grlj

Votes: 1 0.6%

Could you imagine

Disappointing for the kid, hopefully it's not something that is going to have long term impact on his career.

Could you imagine

Disappointing for the kid, hopefully it's not something that is going to have long term impact on his career.

happy to help.

back in the day I send a message to FJ about the benefits of getting Grimes before we got him.

Don't worry, in no way do I think I influenced Francis. I never spoke with Francis, I have never received communication from Francis, not sure how I got a contact reference. back then. I do not think it was a figment of my imagination but Alzheimers could be coming my way and i know it is not something to be joking about. it is just my reality perception as I am aging

I am just happy to provide content which I think helps RFC win more premierships

that is why i write on bigfooty, not to get blow jobs, but to do anything i think helps RFC win premierships because 30plus years was too long, especially for a eight year old in 1980
I sent a message about Webberly, got a reply, and then we picked him up :eek:

Will be interesting with Smillie(notwithstanding his injuries).
Did we pull the wrong rope?

Still think think there's room for one of these types in a midfield but not more than that. Ideally they have versatility to push forward to kick goals or back and intercept.

He was good off half back with his kicking in the juniors when he played there and also pushed forward to consistently kick goals. Worst case in a world where he doesn't make it in a modern midfield he could play half back.

essendon fans cranking up that 'and here we go...again'
do wish the kid well,looking forward to watching his career.

No surprise look at Smillie... these big bodied players always seem to have these issues with injuries.

I reckon we would have been scared off by not only his exposure but having another big bodied player with potential injuries.
Don’t think he really fits a need for us right now either
As you mentioned already have Smillie and if we really look into Roby he’s a poor mans Lalor

Don’t think he really fits a need for us right now either
As you mentioned already have Smillie and if we really look into Roby he’s a poor mans Lalor
I think Robey would be playing mostly forward anyway, he is a long way off playing midfield at AFL level.

Everyone keeps talking about and comparing to Grlj to Robey to me they completely diff players.
Sam Cumming to me is Robey but quicker and better at ground level.

I think Robey would be playing mostly forward anyway, he is a long way off playing midfield at AFL level.

Everyone keeps talking about and comparing to Grlj to Robey to me they completely diff players.
Sam Cumming to me is Robey but quicker and better at ground level.
Yeah he’s definitely a very interesting prospect
Could be an absolute weapon but definitely has those question marks as to if he will be able to play mid at afl level

Similar even to Josh Caddy when he was drafted, the hope at all 3 clubs he played for was that he could go into the middle but ultimately couldn’t so was stuck forward and the wing in his later seasons with us

With the game the way it is medium forwards have kind of been pushed out of the game unless they can play midfield with teams preferring a full kpp marking type or go small for someone who can really pressure

Don't wish injuries on anyone, but Essendon supporters hit by the footy karma bus after laughing at us and thanking us for passing on Robey.

Twomey basically did the same.

His smug grin carrying on about Essendon being so happy we passed on Robey and they got a steal etc.

His whole article the other day was basically a hit piece on Grlj and how he would've slid out. Massive flog

Yeah he’s definitely a very interesting prospect
Could be an absolute weapon but definitely has those question marks as to if he will be able to play mid at afl level

Also why would we take two mid-fwd players this year when we took Lalor and Hotton last year?
I want to say we dodged a bullet with Robey but I honestly don't believe we were ever picking him, it's easy to say in hindsight but why would we want Lalor, Hotton, Cumming & Robey in the same team? to me... If we didn't take Grlj we would have taken Taylor 100%.

Also why would we take two mid-fwd players this year when we took Lalor and Hotton last year?
I want to say we dodged a bullet with Robey but I honestly don't believe we were ever picking him, it's easy to say in hindsight but why would want Lalor, Hotton, Cumming & Robey in the same team? to me If we didn't take Grlj we would have taken Taylor 100%.
Agree
Between the 3 we have now all things going well they will be able to cover each others rotations perfectly with Cumming (early call) looking like the one who probably takes the lions share of the midfield rotations) and the other two a handful of centre bounces each qtr

Having another one throws that balance out when it looks like Yze wants to play two key forwards in the mix

It’s still very early but we can definitely see how we plan to structure the team in the future

His smug grin carrying on about Essendon being so happy we passed on Robey and they got a steal etc.

His whole article the other day was basically a hit piece on Grlj and how he would've slid out. Massive flog

Twomey is just upset because we give him absolutely nothing lol

To be fair to Robey, growing 7 inches in 2 years was bound to cause back issues. My twin brother was the same.
Twinning Arnold Schwarzenegger GIF by Laff

Think you are reading too much into it.

Bombers had the next two picks and liked Robey, Farrow and Sharp.

Melbourne had the two picks after and prioritised Pickett with one and then Taylor, Robey, Nairn in that order.

Then Essendon had the next pick and got their man in Sharp.

The Hawks and the Giants who picked straight after were both interested in Grjl.

It just came down to two clubs ranking other players higher.

Puckett ended up being the big surprise but I’m backing in Jason Taylor and his team on this one. Farrow also somewhat of a bolter in the last two months.

The fact we were linked to him with our top pick for three months and picked him shouldn’t be a surprise.

Robey came out of the blue in the rankings and Pickett wasn’t even in top ten calculations with the media before the draft.

They all start as equals now they are in the system.

Actually I took from it that a lot of clubs were after Grilj. He also talked about how clubs want that super speed and endurance players. He didn't diss Grilj, but also didn't say great pick. Anyway, clubs are looking at his stye as being of more value going forward.

Twoomeys career has been built around the mock draft.
If he gets them too wrong his credibility slides.
He needs to make up reasons to why he got it wrong.
To be fair its just that we played our cards so close to our chest which was awesome.

List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft - Draft Analysis