Resource 2025 AFL Draft prospects and discussion.

You haven’t answered the question. How does we compare to the other 17 teams over the last 10 or 5 years etc?

I did answer it. About 90 players are taken every year, which is 5 on average per team, and we have taken 3 for the last three years

I suspect that we are going to see if we can trade up a little bit for Sharp or Cumming.

Assuming that doesn't happen, with our picks 16, 48, 53 I could see us looking at:
Jeevan Phillipou - they are a close family, couldn't hurt trying to get Mattaes back as well as being a good player in his own right

Harley Barker - has an ACL injury, but has shown a lot of dare and dash - which we definitely need.

I would also very seriously look at Latrelle Pickett. Doesn't sit in our draft range just yet, but some speed, elusiveness and a goal kicker is someone I would definitely be looking at. Would round out our forward line really well, especially if Rankine moves to full time midfield.

I suspect that we are going to see if we can trade up a little bit for Sharp or Cumming.

Assuming that doesn't happen, with our picks 16, 48, 53 I could see us looking at:
Jeevan Phillipou - they are a close family, couldn't hurt trying to get Mattaes back as well as being a good player in his own right

Harley Barker - has an ACL injury, but has shown a lot of dare and dash - which we definitely need.

I would also very seriously look at Latrelle Pickett. Doesn't sit in our draft range just yet, but some speed, elusiveness and a goal kicker is someone I would definitely be looking at. Would round out our forward line really well, especially if Rankine moves to full time midfield.

With Tex having one more year, we would hope Aidan Schubert drops to our first.

198 cm forward/ruck

We are the only club that hasn't spoken to him.

How exactly do we do that without using 2026 draft picks? Our next picks after our 1st are pick 48 and 55 which aren't going to get you far up the draft order even if you can find a buyer.

If we are hoping to bring in a proven gun next year our picks are premium in 2026 because 2027 picks will be ridiculously compromised with the advent of the Tassie Devils into that draft.

How exactly do we do that without using 2026 draft picks? Our next picks after our 1st are pick 48 and 55 which aren't going to get you far up the draft order even if you can find a buyer.

If we are hoping to bring in a proven gun next year our picks are premium in 2026 because 2027 picks will be ridiculously compromised with the advent of the Tassie Devils into that draft.
We might throw something out (a future pick) to see, but I think it's unlikely.

Hopefully some of the guys we want will slide enough. Just thought I'd try to see who might be there around our picks to see who we might have an interest in.

We might throw something out (a future pick) to see, but I think it's unlikely.

Hopefully some of the guys we want will slide enough. Just thought I'd try to see who might be there around our picks to see who we might have an interest in.
Is there potential we have a mature SANFL / VFL player inline with one of our late picks?

It limits your access to all the available mechanisms, including rookie trials and delisted players.

Fair enough you don't want to take a pick 70. I would much rather have Will Phillips on the list for one season as a delisted free agent from North, even though I don't think he will make it as a full time AFL player, than Chayce Jones. He's better depth. Or Jacob Blight vs James Borlase, who is contracted for 2026.

We are unable to improve our AFL backups for our premiership tilt when we have to take 3 draftees, are forced to have no rookie spots due to our list profile and don't have any other positions to use.
definitely agree on jacob blight. saw him three times this year at the G and I have absolutely no idea why they delisted him! are they stupid? is there an off field issue?

phillips someone will pick him up

Here’s an interesting thought. And don’t blast me because I say this tongue in cheek.

But what if we as a club go the other way from everyone else and try to load up on the unwanted picks in the 2027 draft. Get clubs to trade their round 1 2027 picks to us for this years draft and next year.

Basically gambling on the fact that tassie won’t build a stadium and their team is removed. Super high risk, super high reward 😂

Here’s an interesting thought. And don’t blast me because I say this tongue in cheek.

But what if we as a club go the other way from everyone else and try to load up on the unwanted picks in the 2027 draft. Get clubs to trade their round 1 2027 picks to us for this years draft and next year.

Basically gambling on the fact that tassie won’t build a stadium and their team is removed. Super high risk, super high reward 😂
tassie will not happen thats not a risk at all. the issue is our window is NOW and we need to trade forward not backward

I’m all for loading up for this draft. If we can trade 16 + F1 for Hawks 10 + 22 or Carlton’s 9 + 2nd do it if the right player is there.

With any luck our F1 will be in the 15-20 range next year. This year proved those picks are close to worthless for top talent anyway (Merrett, Marshall, our try at Petracca) so might as well use them in a draft with top SA talent where other teams are probably less interested.

Then go hard on FAs next year.

Bailey (said in another thread but Brisbane won’t match, because if they did, he wouldn’t be leaving anyway), Walsh etc.

A pick 20 in 2025 and pick 17 in 2026 isn’t going to make us better. But if we can snag the right slider this year who knows.

We are the only club that hasn't spoken to him.
homer simpson doh GIF

What might end up working out ok is that with all the academy and f/s bids, our picks 48 and 55 are likely to come in maybe upto 10 picks, so someone like Pickett or Curtin for example may well still be available at that second pick. So we need to nail the first pick and then we might still have some players on the board that we are keen on with our next picks

we can trade F2 into this draft somehow remember we werent supposed to have it still

I’m all for loading up for this draft. If we can trade 16 + F1 for Hawks 10 + 22 or Carlton’s 9 + 2nd do it if the right player is there.

With any luck our F1 will be in the 15-20 range next year. This year proved those picks are close to worthless for top talent anyway (Merrett, Marshall, our try at Petracca) so might as well use them in a draft with top SA talent where other teams are probably less interested.

Then go hard on FAs next year.

Bailey (said in another thread but Brisbane won’t match, because if they did, he wouldn’t be leaving anyway), Walsh etc.

A pick 20 in 2025 and pick 17 in 2026 isn’t going to make us better. But if we can snag the right slider this year who knows.
If we are after Bailey and can do it with an offer big enough that Brisbane won't match then great, a real bonus as long as he wants to come to us as the feeling is he will sign on. The next player that we may come back for is Sanders from the dogs. IF the club has put work into him and he is not getting the position he wants at the dogs and is happy to come to us rather than Tassie, we are going to need that 1st next year to do that. I am just not sold on trading up a few places this year and burning next years 1st in the process as it will really limit what we could do as we now are past this years trade period.

We're painted into a corner with Stevens, he can't be a rookie as we are taking Ah Chee in the PSD meaning we have to delist/re-rookie someone to facilitate Ah Chee's list spot.

The issue with that is, we only have one rookie spot, which will then be taken by the delistee.

So it's take Stevens in the ND or not at all.

Unless we go the Carlton with Jaxon Binns route and delist a contracted player and not re-rookie them I guess.

Father/son rookie used to count as Cat B’s, did that change?

198 cm forward/ruck
I don't think he would suit us.
We already have a far superior version in Thilthorpe.

If we are replacing Tex we need someone mobile and athletic.
Which makes sense why we went and got Maley. Or Cotton.

Is Sharp or Cumming worth trading this years and next years first for? Is next years draft class any good around pick 15-20 where we might be picking (hopefully).

Barker makes a lot of sense for us.
Can play wing and allow Curtin to move into the middle.
Plus targeting a ready to go midfielder end of next year would then mean we have addressed the midfield (Curtin, trade/free agency, Sid Draper) and replaced the hole on the wing.

I really dont know where all this Pickett talk is coming from, he'll be 20 soon, he's played 3 SANFL League games, one 4 goal game against Centrals who got flogged 20.8 to 6.6 which was an outlier, hardly touched it against the Crows and Sturt, the rest of the season played SANFL reserves. Maybe it's the Pickett part of Latrelle Sumner-Pickett?
I don't know how much SANFL reserves you guys watch but it's a very very ordinary level these days with most decent mature age players that aren't regular League players preferring to play country footy where they can get some decent coin. Certainly below Coates Talent League quality.

If we are after Bailey and can do it with an offer big enough that Brisbane won't match then great, a real bonus as long as he wants to come to us as the feeling is he will sign on. The next player that we may come back for is Sanders from the dogs. IF the club has put work into him and he is not getting the position he wants at the dogs and is happy to come to us rather than Tassie, we are going to need that 1st next year to do that. I am just not sold on trading up a few places this year and burning next years 1st in the process as it will really limit what we could do as we now are past this years trade period.
Offer Bailey a 2 year contract at $2m/y and tell Brisbane if they choose to match, they can have him and work the salary cap out amongst themselves, but we will offer similar deals for Logan Morris and Kai Lohmann, an area they have less cover than the mids.

If Sanders still isn't getting mid time by end of 2026, I don’t think he's worth a first

I really dont know where all this Pickett talk is coming from, he'll be 20 soon, he's played 3 SANFL League games, one 4 goal game against Centrals who got flogged 20.8 to 6.6 which was an outlier, hardly touched it against the Crows and Sturt, the rest of the season played SANFL reserves. Maybe it's the Pickett part of Latrelle Sumner-Pickett?
I don't know how much SANFL reserves you guys watch but it's a very very ordinary level these days with most decent mature age players that aren't regular League players preferring to play country footy where they can get some decent coin. Certainly below Coates Talent League quality.
Hey Bicks, what number range is that small forward that you liked with the bogan name going to go for?

Resource 2025 AFL Draft prospects and discussion.