Player Watch 2025 AFL Draft Thread (Welcome to our new Central Districts overlords!)

Taking a step back and having an objective overall look at what we have scored, this is my 20cents worth.

Thinking back to when Sam said we have to improve by 10% every year just to keep pace with the rest of the competition. (It's been mentioned by a few on here.) I am really happy with our draft haul of future potential players, all who have tasted recent success and obviously interviewed well, a likely bunch of lads. Youth is such an invigorating motivator for others.
That coupled with 5 new coaches, each who will bring a new voice/ideas to the club and spanking new digs that look world class I think we will achieve that kind of improvement that Sam is so keen on. Despite not picking up a seasoned gun. Merritt/Petracca.
Add to that a loading up on extra draft picks for 2026, in a strong draft as told by MM, I am buoyed by the professionalism of our Mighty Fighting Club. Bring on the pre-season!

There are players in front of him mate we r not in a rebuild phase. Its easy to get excited by new 18 year olds but they usually have to develop and learn the way we play before they get a look in.
A few of these seem to be a fair way down the track with there running and testing from the combine.

There are players in front of him mate we r not in a rebuild phase. Its easy to get excited by new 18 year olds but they usually have to develop and learn the way we play before they get a look in.
Yeah I'm not saying he plays every game but surely if he puts he's head down gets the debut down the line the talents there for all too see.

I could see both Nairn and Dalton potentially getting a game or two as a HFF late into the season.

To me it looks like LeRay has a lot of work to do to transform his body into that of an AFL footballer.

Greeves will need to work on his fitness and the defensive stuff, so if he was to get a game it would have to be as a forward.

Ok i am probably being a debbie downer here but for where the team is at I am not sure any of this years draftees play next year. They are still in line behind a few others at box hill. It will be box hill and its a good thing. Having them push the others while building themselves up physically and mentally. Playing the hawthorn way both offensively and defensively. I am going to enjoy watching our team at box hill
No it just shows you understand the draft and it’s purpose isn’t instant impact.

Would be curious to find out if we got our targets or not. The fact we traded back (twice) suggests we didn’t get our preferred first pick. But possibly Nairn was one of the targets (given we actively moved our 2nd pick forward). But Schubert slid a bit so who knows where he sat.

Dalton we traded up for so clearly one we chased. Pre draft hawks didn’t appear to be planning to use 4 picks so possibly Leray was good to to pass on.

Reckon we’ll see Nairn early. His tank would allow him to fit into our hff rotation (Connor mcd at risk) and his marking a point of difference. With 5 on bench he’s a good fit:

Expect Schubert to do a BH apprenticeship. Will need some size. At best maybe a late season debut?

Dalton is behind a few. But his tank and 5 on bench provides him a chance.

Delray I expect to have a development year on his body and footy - has the frame to be an inside mid so interesting where we see him.
I think at the start that we wanted a mid (one of three) with 10 and Nairn (hence moving up the board early from 22). When the mids were all taken we pivoted by moving 10 down the order, used it on Nairn and then surprised Schubert was available.

As I understand it Nairn Schubert and LeRay are all recent converts to footy so the upside is significant. The first 2 need size and LeRay probably trim down and work on speed. He’s a fantastic and I think underrated kick on both sides as well I see a potentially very good winger or maybe even a mid down the track.

Would be curious to find out if we got our targets or not. The fact we traded back (twice) suggests we didn’t get our preferred first pick. But possibly Nairn was one of the targets (given we actively moved our 2nd pick forward). But Schubert slid a bit so who knows where he sat.

Dalton we traded up for so clearly one we chased. Pre draft hawks didn’t appear to be planning to use 4 picks so possibly Leray was good to to pass on.

Reckon we’ll see Nairn early. His tank would allow him to fit into our hff rotation (Connor mcd at risk) and his marking a point of difference. With 5 on bench he’s a good fit:

Expect Schubert to do a BH apprenticeship. Will need some size. At best maybe a late season debut?

Dalton is behind a few. But his tank and 5 on bench provides him a chance.

Delray I expect to have a development year on his body and footy - has the frame to be an inside mid so interesting where we see him.
Mazhawk posted this earlier in the thread. Targets for 10 were Grlj Farrow Sharp and Nairn was the player they thought wouldn’t get to pick 22 hence the trade with the lions.
They traded back as far as they could without compromising getting Nairn and then had looked at Hetherton because they thought Schubert would be gone but he wasn’t.

Ok i am probably being a debbie downer here but for where the team is at I am not sure any of this years draftees play next year. They are still in line behind a few others at box hill. It will be box hill and its a good thing. Having them push the others while building themselves up physically and mentally. Playing the hawthorn way both offensively and defensively. I am going to enjoy watching our team at box hill
I don't think you're being a debbie downer at all mate but rather just realistic. As Hawthorn fans you'd think most would know you serve your apprenticeship in the 2's and how long that is depends on how you knock the door down. Some of our club legends took 2 years to make the jump but when they did they were always ready to go.

Funny no one mentions the massive elephant in the room, Merritt reached out to Sam! He wanted to leave the house fire that is Lessingdon. Sam was disappointed the trade didn't go through der, but Merritt was gutted. Strange messaging. :huh:

I agree TL92 but most of us also thought the same about Will Day!
Not me. In terms of strength and size. If you can play VFL you can play AFL.

It's the high tempo and running capacity that is the biggest step up. So if he's able to get a kick (remember he'll likely be out on a wing) in the VFL i'd have no issues with him playing AFL.

Not being able to run out a game or what huss and Mackenzie struggled with this year was reaction time.

It is the way.

images (12).jpeg

Lot of talk including from me about the undrafted NHH but there are others. Blake OB Rory Wright Max Krasnadamskis are the 3 that come to mind straight away. And Tom Blamires not being drafted ruins a long streak of the VFL rising talent winner not getting drafted. Would love us to offer training spots to those 3 anyone else to add?

As I understand it Nairn Schubert and LeRay are all recent converts to footy so the upside is significant. The first 2 need size and LeRay probably trim down and work on speed. He’s a fantastic and I think underrated kick on both sides as well I see a potentially very good winger or maybe even a mid down the track.
Where did you get this info? From what I have gathered, Nairn and Schubert have certainly played junior footy - do you mean elite pathways or something?

Lot of talk including from me about the undrafted NHH but there are others. Blake OB Rory Wright Max Krasnadamskis are the 3 that come to mind straight away. And Tom Blamires not being drafted ruins a long streak of the VFL rising talent winner not getting drafted. Would love us to offer training spots to those 3 anyone else to add?
Fb19 who is NHH? Have seen him mentioned a few times.

Jack Dalton

Nobody expected this!

Broke both his arms at the start of the season. How do you do that??
I had a classmate go over the top of his bike, break an arm and two wrists. We were talking a couple of years later on the last day of school, when he told the breaks weren't the worst thing that happened as a result of the accident. The worst thing was having to get his mum to wipe his bum!