Player Watch 2025 AFL Draft Thread (Welcome to our new Central Districts overlords!)

Geez offseason is long and boring. here is the mock draft from chatgpt:
  1. GC (match)Zeke Uwland, dashing Suns academy defender/mid. (Locked to Suns.)
  2. Brisbane (match)Dan Annable, powerful Lions academy mid; they said all year they had the points.
  3. West CoastWillem Duursma (best pure talent; WC love high-end, all-ground mids; keeps WA fans happy enough).
  4. West CoastCooper Duff-Tytler (200cm ruck/forward; makes sense after they traded out Oscar Allen and need a long ruck/forward succession plan).
  5. RichmondDyson Sharp (explosive mid/runner — Tigers need game-speed in the next wave).
  6. RichmondXavier Taylor (rangy intercept/defender — classic “we’ll develop him” Tigers pick).
  7. GC (match)Dylan Patterson (Suns academy, top-10 athlete, no way they let him walk).
  8. EssendonSullivan Robey (big, competitive mid/fwd — exactly the sort of inside/outside mix the Bombers didn’t get in the trade period).
  9. EssendonSam Grlj (speed/creativity to complement Merrett & co; Rosa said they could still move up, but if they stay, this makes sense).
  10. MelbourneSam Cumming (versatile mid/forward; Dees like footballers who can play multiple lines, and they can afford to take pure talent here).
  11. MelbourneAidan Schubert (198cm forward/ruck — Melbourne brought in Mihocek but still like stocking tall upside).
  12. CarltonJosh Lindsay (half-back/mid polish; Blues just brought in Ainsworth, Florent, Chesser, Reidy so they can go for skill here).
  13. Carlton (match)Harry Dean (father-son key defender, already flagged by the club).
  14. HawthornJacob Farrow (first WA player likely to go; Hawks love smart, kicking defenders and just lost Worpel so they keep adding quality ball-use).
  15. CarltonLachy Dovaston (impact forward; Blues lost some forward depth in the monster Curnow deal to Sydney, so they top it back up).
  16. Melbourne (match)Kalani White (the Dees have been linked to him specifically).
  17. GWSNoah Hibbins-Hargreaves (Giants love upside/score-involvement types; this is very Adrian Caruso).
  18. West CoastOskar Taylor (elite-testing small defender; WC need to replace Starcevich-type defensive quality they lost to Brisbane).
  19. Western BulldogsOllie Greeves (191cm mid, Dogs always happy to draft another tall mid and sort the role later).
  20. Sydney (match)Max King (Swans academy; they always match on their own talls).
  21. Gold CoastMitch Marsh (SA third tall forward; Suns can now pick for list balance after locking their three big academy boys).
  22. AdelaideHarley Barker (SA wing with burst, even off the ACL — Crows like local talent and still need more outside run).
  23. BrisbaneLouis Emmett (199cm swing/ruck; Lions lost Brandon Starcevich and added key talls Allen + Draper, so they can now take a developmental tall with athletic profile).
  24. Gold CoastFred Rodriguez (WA MVP type mid; Suns can just take class here).
  25. Gold Coast (match)Beau Addinsall (Suns academy mid, rated inside top 30; this pick becomes a match).
  26. GeelongBlake Thredgold (194cm defender with speed; Geelong tried and failed to trade for a key defender in the period so they just draft one).
  27. Essendon (match)Adam Sweid (Bombers NGA inside mid, ranked 20; Freo asked the question, Dons shut it down).
  28. FremantleArchie Ludowyke (197cm high-leaping forward; Freo grabbed Judd McVee in trade period so they can swing to a key forward project now).
  29. EssendonJevan Phillipou (hard, combative mid/forward; very “we’ll add another competitive body” pick).
  30. Essendon (match)Hussien El Achkar (crafty NGA small forward; they don’t let him get to anyone else).
  31. HawthornRory Wright (lovely-kicking mid/half-back, went up late in the year — exactly the Hawks profile).
  32. BrisbaneMatt LeRay (clean, smart, can be a half-back/wing — Lions can afford a slightly slower-developing player here).
  33. St Kilda (match)Kye Fincher (Saints NGA half-back/mid; GC made them pay).
  34. Gold CoastCameron Nairn (SA 189cm forward who works up the ground — good depth piece for them).
  35. North MelbourneBlake Oudshoorn-Bennier (beautiful ball user; Roos just take quality).
  36. North MelbourneJack Dalton (endurance king; perfect “we need runners” pick for a rebuilding list).
  37. Collingwood (match)Zac McCarthy (Pies NGA tall fwd/ruck; they were always going to match).
  38. EssendonSam Swadling (WA ball-magnet; Bombers can take a volume-ball type this late).
  39. Gold CoastRory Wright is gone, Thredgold is gone, so GC can go to next best versatile defender: Sam Swadling is taken, so they pivot to Matt LeRay … but Lions took him at 32, so GC grab Fred Rodriguez-type is gone; at this point they start dipping into their club board — call it “best remaining athlete” from the ESPN 30s (e.g. Central Districts mid/def Matt LeRay if still there, otherwise the next SA mid like Cameron Nairn/another WA mid).
  40. Gold Coast – same story: depth athlete from the 30s group (Rodriguez/LeRay/Swadling tier).
  41. Essendon – now deep enough to take a pure role player — think Central Districts’ Cameron Nairn if not taken, or a developing key back from outside the ESPN 40.
  42. Sydney – tidy up with a running half-back / depth mid.
  43. Sydney – second depth piece.
  44. Western Bulldogs – depth defender or ruck project.
  45. West Coast – WA talent again to keep the locals happy.
  46. GWS – high-upside athlete still on the board.
  47. Gold Coast – points turned into depth.
  48. Melbourne – list hygiene pick.
  49. Richmond – father-son Louis Kellaway type was mentioned in club wrap, so Tigers can use this for that line.
  50. Collingwood – depth tall or pressure forward, depending on VFL view.
  51. Geelong – late project mid/def.

The kid is a Star - there’s no way he’s available at our first pick - if by some miracle he gets through to our first pick and we don’t pick him - well we’ve got plasticine for brains.

He walks into best 22 at any club.

He would be the only player on our list with exquisite foot skills on both pegs - he’s Darren Jarman / Akermanis level on both sides.

He is the best mark in this draft for his size , and the best mark I’ve seen for his size in the last 20 years.

He’s got a tank and he’s also quick.

His movement in traffic is brilliant - with a Darren Jarman sidestep.

and his Footy IQ is off the charts.

He has ZERO deficiencies.

Whichever club picks him up will be dancing with joy. The kid is a triple A class Jet.

CLEARLY, Coach Killer has spoken to the man himself. It's something of a family trait.

...is he a kelpie-badger by any chance?

I would be suprised NHH falls to pick 31, we are expected to take him with our first pick, if you believe that. I would be surprised if we pick lindsay. We are expected to pick M Marsh with our second pick, so that is no surprise. Our original picks in 30 and 40s comes handy as have some real sliders. Nairn at 33 and Greeves at 35
When you say "we are expected", who is "we", who is "expecting" and why the hell would you be taking notice of it?

My worry with Dyson Sharp is the amount of players in his mould (one-dimensional inside mids) that have gone high in the draft recently and haven't worked out. Thinking specifically of Phillips, Jhye Clark, and Hobbs.

Maybe he adds another string to his bow at the next level or is just too good a contested beast for it to not matter, it just seems like a riskier selection with the way the game is going.

My worry with Dyson Sharp is the amount of players in his mould (one-dimensional inside mids) that have gone high in the draft recently and haven't worked out. Thinking specifically of Phillips, Jhye Clark, and Hobbs.

Maybe he adds another string to his bow at the next level or is just too good a contested beast for it to not matter, it just seems like a riskier selection with the way the game is going.
Could not disagree more on Dyson Sharp. I think he’s a good chance to be taken straight after Duursma. The only trait that he doesn’t have is breakaway pace. His clearance work is some of the best I’ve seen at U18, he tackles ferociously, he works hard both ways, he is a beautiful kick and can take a strong mark. If that’s one-dimensional I’ll take a few more on our team.

Did you just describe Sharp or Newcombe?

Plenty of room left in the AFL for players who can do everything well!

He needs a lot of work on his kicking. Some of those ball drops are pure face-palm material. He is running with the ball, then just hold it out in front and makes an aeroplane with his arms. The rest of his game looks okay. I wouldn't be opposed, but not at pick 22.
As I said with our later pick.

I don’t think his kicking is that bad.
He seems to get the ball where he wants it most of the time.
His brother is not a great kick either but metres gained are important in the current game.

How about swap of F1's, F2, swap of F3 & F4.

here is Superfooty/CodeSports Phantom Draft

Trades:
Carlton trade 9 for WCE 13 & 34
Carlton trade 11 for Crows 2026 R1
Essendon trade 21 & 27 for Suns 18 & 36

Round 1

1. WCE - Willem Duursma
2. Suns - Zeke Uwland (Matched Bid)
3. WCE - Cooper Duff-Tytler
4. Suns - Dylan Patterson (Matched Bid)
5. Lions - Daniel Annable (Matched Bid)
6. Blues - Harry Dean (Matched Bid)
7. Tigers - Sullivan Robey
8. Tigers - Xavier Taylor
9. Bombers - Dyson Sharp
10. Bombers - Aiden Schubert
11. Demons - Sam Cumming
12. Demons - Lachy Dovaston
13. WCE - Jacob Farrow (pick traded)
14. Hawks - Sam Grlj
15. Crows - Jevan Phillipou
16. GWS - Archie Ludowyke
17. Dogs - Josh Lindsay
18. Crows - Mitch Marsh
19. Bombers - Oskar Taylor
20. Suns - Jai Murray (Matched Bid)
21. Cats - Oliver Greeves
22. Blues - Jack Ison (Matched Bid)
23. Bombers - Adam Sweid (Matched Bid)
24. Dockers - Noah Hibbins-Hargreaves
25. Hawks - Harley Barker
It's crazy to me that considering where their list is at and how many SA based players are projected to go early, that Port Adelaide don't have a single pick in the top 25

They've added journeymen and nothing else. No draft hand to help them. Will lose Butters in 12 months. No more special Ken performances when they play out of their skin for the coach.

I don't know why people aren't discussing their very real demise. Carr has nothing to work with.

People are ripping on Melbourne, but at least you can see their plan.

How do these mock drafts have GC matching at pick 2 and 4~5 plus having a live pick at ~20ish and then another match in the early 20's?

Surely their draft hand gets wiped with the two early picks. Don't think they will have enough capital to match the 3rd.

Current hand is:

Gold Coast: 15, 18, 24, 28, 29, 36, 52, 92, 110

Pick 2 is 2481 points. Pick 15, 18 and 24 is worth less (but there is a 10% discount).

Pick 5 is 1795. ALL of their remaining picks are worth 1343.

edit - Just noticed the pick 4 player is Brisbane :rolleyes:

Interesting to hear Twomey speculating Dyson Sharp might be available at our pick but may not be our best fit… He said too similar to Worpel who we let go.. I’d have thought Sharp looks at a completely different level and player style to Worpel but the comment interests me..Twomey Ive learnt rarely gives his own opinion but gives the narrative he wants to spread or the opinions coming out of club land..You can get great info from him if you read between the lines a bit.. His fixation on being some sort of music guru is really strange too.. Maybe he wants to be a modern day Molly Meldrum…
I reckon he thinks his become some kind of puppet master, but his just the puppet

Listening to Jevan interviews and this is how he views himself. FIGJAM like his brother
It’s only in Australia where this is an issue, for some reason elite athletes who want to achieve the pinnacle must be overly humble and trot out cliches that are totally disingenuous. I love a lot about Australia but this shit isn’t for me (and I’m a long way from an elite athlete). I loved Matheus in his draft and wished we picked him over mackenzie and would be rapt with Jevan at 22. Sadly a club will delight in his desire to be great and pick him earlier.

They've added journeymen and nothing else. No draft hand to help them. Will lose Butters in 12 months. No more special Ken performances when they play out of their skin for the coach.

I don't know why people aren't discussing their very real demise. Carr has nothing to work with.

People are ripping on Melbourne, but at least you can see their plan.
I love how people think these guys don’t have any idea what they are doing. Not to say you can’t be critical, but this suggests they are totally oblivious clowns. They know all this and Port have openly said they don’t rate this draft compared to the next 2, Where they have many academy and father son prospects tipped to go early in those drafts. That’s the rationale.

The next two??

in 2027 they'll have to make the most of the draft outside of picks 1,3, 5, 7, 9, 11 and 13 in addition to any academy bids...

It’s only in Australia where this is an issue, for some reason elite athletes who want to achieve the pinnacle must be overly humble and trot out cliches that are totally disingenuous. I love a lot about Australia but this shit isn’t for me (and I’m a long way from an elite athlete). I loved Matheus in his draft and wished we picked him over mackenzie and would be rapt with Jevan at 22. Sadly a club will delight in his desire to be great and pick him earlier.
I think that the place it comes from is completely different to a LeBron or MJ saying it.

The next two??

in 2027 they'll have to make the most of the draft outside of picks 1,3, 5, 7, 9, 11 and 13 in addition to any academy bids...
The have several academy kids in that draft so they couldn’t care less about Tassie that’s the point. The simply will be matching bids so it will be a Gold Coast style draft for them , they won’t be taking any players I believe they have 3 currently touted as first round picks. And next year they have Dougie Cochrane who will go top 3.

Geez offseason is long and boring. here is the mock draft from chatgpt:
  1. GC (match)Zeke Uwland, dashing Suns academy defender/mid. (Locked to Suns.)
  2. Brisbane (match)Dan Annable, powerful Lions academy mid; they said all year they had the points.
  3. West CoastWillem Duursma (best pure talent; WC love high-end, all-ground mids; keeps WA fans happy enough).
  4. West CoastCooper Duff-Tytler (200cm ruck/forward; makes sense after they traded out Oscar Allen and need a long ruck/forward succession plan).
  5. RichmondDyson Sharp (explosive mid/runner — Tigers need game-speed in the next wave).
  6. RichmondXavier Taylor (rangy intercept/defender — classic “we’ll develop him” Tigers pick).
  7. GC (match)Dylan Patterson (Suns academy, top-10 athlete, no way they let him walk).
  8. EssendonSullivan Robey (big, competitive mid/fwd — exactly the sort of inside/outside mix the Bombers didn’t get in the trade period).
  9. EssendonSam Grlj (speed/creativity to complement Merrett & co; Rosa said they could still move up, but if they stay, this makes sense).
  10. MelbourneSam Cumming (versatile mid/forward; Dees like footballers who can play multiple lines, and they can afford to take pure talent here).
  11. MelbourneAidan Schubert (198cm forward/ruck — Melbourne brought in Mihocek but still like stocking tall upside).
  12. CarltonJosh Lindsay (half-back/mid polish; Blues just brought in Ainsworth, Florent, Chesser, Reidy so they can go for skill here).
  13. Carlton (match)Harry Dean (father-son key defender, already flagged by the club).
  14. HawthornJacob Farrow (first WA player likely to go; Hawks love smart, kicking defenders and just lost Worpel so they keep adding quality ball-use).
  15. CarltonLachy Dovaston (impact forward; Blues lost some forward depth in the monster Curnow deal to Sydney, so they top it back up).
  16. Melbourne (match)Kalani White (the Dees have been linked to him specifically).
  17. GWSNoah Hibbins-Hargreaves (Giants love upside/score-involvement types; this is very Adrian Caruso).
  18. West CoastOskar Taylor (elite-testing small defender; WC need to replace Starcevich-type defensive quality they lost to Brisbane).
  19. Western BulldogsOllie Greeves (191cm mid, Dogs always happy to draft another tall mid and sort the role later).
  20. Sydney (match)Max King (Swans academy; they always match on their own talls).
  21. Gold CoastMitch Marsh (SA third tall forward; Suns can now pick for list balance after locking their three big academy boys).
  22. AdelaideHarley Barker (SA wing with burst, even off the ACL — Crows like local talent and still need more outside run).
  23. BrisbaneLouis Emmett (199cm swing/ruck; Lions lost Brandon Starcevich and added key talls Allen + Draper, so they can now take a developmental tall with athletic profile).
  24. Gold CoastFred Rodriguez (WA MVP type mid; Suns can just take class here).
  25. Gold Coast (match)Beau Addinsall (Suns academy mid, rated inside top 30; this pick becomes a match).
  26. GeelongBlake Thredgold (194cm defender with speed; Geelong tried and failed to trade for a key defender in the period so they just draft one).
  27. Essendon (match)Adam Sweid (Bombers NGA inside mid, ranked 20; Freo asked the question, Dons shut it down).
  28. FremantleArchie Ludowyke (197cm high-leaping forward; Freo grabbed Judd McVee in trade period so they can swing to a key forward project now).
  29. EssendonJevan Phillipou (hard, combative mid/forward; very “we’ll add another competitive body” pick).
  30. Essendon (match)Hussien El Achkar (crafty NGA small forward; they don’t let him get to anyone else).
  31. HawthornRory Wright (lovely-kicking mid/half-back, went up late in the year — exactly the Hawks profile).
  32. BrisbaneMatt LeRay (clean, smart, can be a half-back/wing — Lions can afford a slightly slower-developing player here).
  33. St Kilda (match)Kye Fincher (Saints NGA half-back/mid; GC made them pay).
  34. Gold CoastCameron Nairn (SA 189cm forward who works up the ground — good depth piece for them).
  35. North MelbourneBlake Oudshoorn-Bennier (beautiful ball user; Roos just take quality).
  36. North MelbourneJack Dalton (endurance king; perfect “we need runners” pick for a rebuilding list).
  37. Collingwood (match)Zac McCarthy (Pies NGA tall fwd/ruck; they were always going to match).
  38. EssendonSam Swadling (WA ball-magnet; Bombers can take a volume-ball type this late).
  39. Gold CoastRory Wright is gone, Thredgold is gone, so GC can go to next best versatile defender: Sam Swadling is taken, so they pivot to Matt LeRay … but Lions took him at 32, so GC grab Fred Rodriguez-type is gone; at this point they start dipping into their club board — call it “best remaining athlete” from the ESPN 30s (e.g. Central Districts mid/def Matt LeRay if still there, otherwise the next SA mid like Cameron Nairn/another WA mid).
  40. Gold Coast – same story: depth athlete from the 30s group (Rodriguez/LeRay/Swadling tier).
  41. Essendon – now deep enough to take a pure role player — think Central Districts’ Cameron Nairn if not taken, or a developing key back from outside the ESPN 40.
  42. Sydney – tidy up with a running half-back / depth mid.
  43. Sydney – second depth piece.
  44. Western Bulldogs – depth defender or ruck project.
  45. West Coast – WA talent again to keep the locals happy.
  46. GWS – high-upside athlete still on the board.
  47. Gold Coast – points turned into depth.
  48. Melbourne – list hygiene pick.
  49. Richmond – father-son Louis Kellaway type was mentioned in club wrap, so Tigers can use this for that line.
  50. Collingwood – depth tall or pressure forward, depending on VFL view.
  51. Geelong – late project mid/def.
So Chatgpt has the Hawks drafting two half back flankers.

This actually checks out 🤣

I’m a huge fan of trying to find the next mature age gun from the lower leagues. Geelong do it so well and I think it’s a great way to round out the list with later picks.

I’d love us to have a crack at both Blamires and Voss from Frankston with our last pick/rookie pick.

Todays FoxFooty article says both are great people with Blamires having potential to be a mid/fwd but also able to help out across HB. Voss a defender but could release a Hardwick or Impey to roam further up the ground and play forward for us. Both could also allow Watson, Moore, McDonald all to play midfield if we were to shuffle the deck chairs.

Thoughts?

I’m a huge fan of trying to find the next mature age gun from the lower leagues. Geelong do it so well and I think it’s a great way to round out the list with later picks.

I’d love us to have a crack at both Blamires and Voss from Frankston with our last pick/rookie pick.

Todays FoxFooty article says both are great people with Blamires having potential to be a mid/fwd but also able to help out across HB. Voss a defender but could release a Hardwick or Impey to roam further up the ground and play forward for us. Both could also allow Watson, Moore, McDonald all to play midfield if we were to shuffle the deck chairs.

Thoughts?
He’s a good VFL player, but I don’t see anything Blamires brings to AFL level he could use as a weapon or hold his spot.

We have players better and/or younger not getting a game.

If we go for a mature age player, it needs to be someone consistently playing well above the state league level.

Dyson Sharp will be a perfect fit for Richmond. They’ll still suck but the microwave will come in handy.