List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter tigs2010

Like everyone I’ve been caught up in all the CDT hype, and don’t get me wrong I’m a massive fan, but at the end of the day you want to see a player that is competent in the air and in ruck contests.
It’s all well and good to be an amazing ground level player, but he’ll be playing in the AFL as a ruckman and perhaps kpf.
On he vision so far he's a decent tap ruck - no star, but good. Marking OK, actually sometimes looks great, sometimes 2 grabs.

To me if he is a B grade AFL ruck and a B grade mid then he worth a top end pick. He should be able to nullify all but the best rucks, and then be that extra player that other teams don't have.

* If he shows that he can be at least a B grade AFL mid.

Long way to go. Right now I am excited. But also wary that he will stay at a level and project as a decent ruck and capable, but that's it, mid. If he keeps improving then watch out!

the thing is if cdt was 10cm shorter we'd be looking at him as a midfielder and his output stacks up as one of the top mids in this draft. now add 10cm and give him the ability to also ruck. somehow he's now shit and not worth considering.

Well for one, I never said he's shit he's just a risky pick that has questionable value given his position and best traits as a player.

When I watch him play I see a ruck who can move well. A lot of his possessions are handing off to the closest mids around him. He's had a couple of nice passages but I don't see him regularly bursting away from congestion or scooping the ball off the deck at pace.

I think the CDT is a midfielder stuff is pretty nonsense. If we want a mid pick a mid. CDT has to display the physical dominance ruck and forward traits I mentioned earlier to be worth such an early pick.

Just watched Gettable, CDT seems just an impressive off the field as he is on it. Really keen to see how he progresses across the course of the year

I'd pick him if the opportunity came just so Essendon doesn't LOL

Didn't realise Twomey was a bombers flog.

Geez I'm glad we had all those picks last year. If we had same number picks this year reckon we'd end up with 2 good players and then dart throwing lol

Yep, reckon there is going to be a lot of duds. Just glad we have 2 early picks. Don't even care if it's not pick 1.

Also trading our 2nd round pick this year to North is quite amusing, pick is going to end up in the 30's.

Confused Donald Trump GIF

Can understand that stuff for his lack of footy feel around the ground. But basketball you should be getting plenty of touches and developing your hands, hands through contact and judging flight from rebounds and finishing at rim etc..

I’ve never seen him play basketball, so this is a call based purely on his nbl1 stats, but lack of points, assists and rebounds suggests to me problems with hands and touch, which is obviously also the same problems I see with him at Coates league.
This is an insanely long bow to be drawing

We need to get 2 x 200+ game A grade players in this draft
They dont need to be generational talent but 2 very very good players
Given how well it appears we cleaned up in the last draft, I mean they all at this early stage look AFL quality which is insane, I have complete confidence in our 2 x top 5 picks landing us exactly what we need.

Between last year and this, we have the potential to land the equivalent of 5-10 years worth of first round type quality.

Well for one, I never said he's shit he's just a risky pick that has questionable value given his position and best traits as a player.

When I watch him play I see a ruck who can move well. A lot of his possessions are handing off to the closest mids around him. He's had a couple of nice passages but I don't see him regularly bursting away from congestion or scooping the ball off the deck at pace.

I think the CDT is a midfielder stuff is pretty nonsense. If we want a mid pick a mid. CDT has to display the physical dominance ruck and forward traits I mentioned earlier to be worth such an early pick.
To be completely honest from everything I've seen of the mids coming through this draft none jump off the screen as amazingly talented. I see a lot of b-graders being touted as high picks, that's just me though.
when i see a genuine ruck that can double as a genuine mid amongst the group, that stands out. that's something you dont get access to every draft. b-grade mids? they were slipping into the 30s last year.

Given how well it appears we cleaned up in the last draft, I mean they all at this early stage look AFL quality which is insane, I have complete confidence in our 2 x top 5 picks landing us exactly what we need.

Between last year and this, we have the potential to land the equivalent of 5-10 years worth of first round type quality.
Totally agree and this type of rebuild has never been not only attempted but not even dreamed about until now
totally disregarding the picks we have taken last year and this year and just looking at the rebuild of our Cap is just insane.
Bolton , Cotchin , Martin , Grimes , Rioli , Graham , Baker , Pickett all off the books and Lynch & Prestia this year

The rebuild of the Cap is also never ever been done or dreamt about.
Once we have the young talent on the list at the end of 2025 we will have $8 million plus in our cap to go shopping in 2026 and beyond.

This has never ever been done before

Totally agree and this type of rebuild has never been not only attempted but not even dreamed about until now
totally disregarding the picks we have taken last year and this year and just looking at the rebuild of our Cap is just insane.
Bolton , Cotchin , Martin , Grimes , Rioli , Graham , Baker , Pickett all off the books and Lynch & Prestia this year

The rebuild of the Cap is also never ever been done or dreamt about.
Once we have the young talent on the list at the end of 2025 we will have $8 million plus in our cap to go shopping in 2026 and beyond.

This has never ever been done before

Reckon we will see more teams try and do the same going forward.

Wouldn't surprise me to see Eagles try it this year if they lose Allan & Reid. They could end up with picks 1 &2 for losing Allan and then depending on who gets Reid and what they offer, Youd think 2 first rounders possibly.

No where near our 8 picks but getting possibly 4 picks inside the 10 would be huge. I think the quality of the kids in last year's draft and depth also helped create that perfect storm, otherwise I doubt we would have let both Rioli and Bolton go.

Reckon we will see more teams try and do the same going forward.

Wouldn't surprise me to see Eagles try it this year if they lose Allan & Reid. They could end up with picks 1 &2 for losing Allan and then depending on who gets Reid and what they offer, Youd think 2 first rounders possibly.

No where near our 8 picks but getting possibly 4 picks inside the 10 would be huge. I think the quality of the kids in last year's draft and depth also helped create that perfect storm, otherwise I doubt we would have let both Rioli and Bolton go.
Dees are chance too if Trac tears up again, Clarrie gets on the pipe and Rivers & Pickett go home

To be completely honest from everything I've seen of the mids coming through this draft none jump off the screen as amazingly talented. I see a lot of b-graders being touted as high picks, that's just me though.
when i see a genuine ruck that can double as a genuine mid amongst the group, that stands out. that's something you dont get access to every draft. b-grade mids? they were slipping into the 30s last year.
Problem taking a young ruckman is he's up against men straight away so he loses alot of his advantages he had against his junior opponents.
By the time he's put on some size it might be too late.
Bigger risk taking a ruckman top 10 let alone top 5.

Problem taking a young ruckman is he's up against men straight away so he loses alot of his advantages he had against his junior opponents.
By the time he's put on some size it might be too late.
Bigger risk taking a ruckman top 10 let alone top 5.
we've got a couple of early picks, just saying we shouldn't discount taking a player like cdt with one of them just because he's 200cm. can still grab a "sure thing" mid if we want, i'm just not convinced yet that there's much of any genuine a-grade midfield talent there this year. so why not take a risk on a potential gun ruckman?

I’d rather take a risk on a high upside mid or small forward than a ruck with the extra pick. Gun rucks can be found with later picks.

We need outside pace.
Fred & Dursma fit that bill atm.
But all depends on where our picks land i guess