• Thread starter Thread starter tigs2010

Dr Davidson ripping it apart in the WB v Dawks game now o

In 2 1/2 quarters he’s racked up 23 disposals…1 goal

Remind my why we passed on him in the MSD?

Shattered
Cos we wanted to keep fossil McIntosh in for another year

If we were determined to take more , norfs pic could be turned into 3 in top 25
if Norfs pick is a top 4 or 5 , I think we keep it, quality over quantity. It’s probably too early to make this call but sounds as though this draft is not as deep as last year’s.
I’m hoping there’s a decent player in the MSD , most likely we have pick 1.
And then 2 top 5 picks in the ND, Louis Kellaway, and a latter selection or 2.

if Norfs pick is a top 4 or 5 , I think we keep it, quality over quantity. It’s probably too early to make this call but sounds as though this draft is not as deep as last year’s.
I’m hoping there’s a decent player in the MSD , most likely we have pick 1.
And then 2 top 5 picks in the ND, Louis Kellaway, and a latter selection or 2.
I think its clear from our strategy from last year we dont rate the depth of this draft.
our 2nd, 3rd and 4th round picks are gone.

I think its clear from our strategy from last year we dont rate the depth of this draft.

Let’s hope Kellaway continues his development, then we are adding 3 quality players in the ND.
Blight and Gray , are both showing some signs of being AFL quality, still a long way to go there, but history shows us that there is talent in the MSD.
Just need to keep building at every draft level, up until Tassie enters the competition, at which stage it becomes extremely difficult to add talent.

Dr Davidson ripping it apart in the WB v Dawks game now o

In 2 1/2 quarters he’s racked up 23 disposals…1 goal

Remind my why we passed on him in the MSD?

Shattered
Meanwhile we have Dow running around on the wing instead ...

Let’s hope Kellaway continues his development, then we are adding 3 quality players in the ND.
Blight and Gray , are both showing some signs of being AFL quality, still a long way to go there, but history shows us that there is talent in the MSD.
Just need to keep building at every draft level, until Tassie enters the competition.
reckon with the uptick in players being taken outside of the nd we're seeing a lot more late bloomers getting picked up that mightve otherwise given up on a footy career. it's great for footy.

Can always trade 2026 picks into 2025 on the night so as not to be absorbed by a Kellaway bid. Either trade an F2 into the 2nd round for a specific player before he's bid on or F3 after he's bid on.

reckon with the uptick in players being taken outside of the nd we're seeing a lot more late bloomers getting picked up that mightve otherwise given up on a footy career. it's great for footy.
100%
Geelong immediately come to mind. They’ve recruited plenty of mature aged players, that have gone onto become good AFL players.

To be fair we likely have pick 1 and another top 5, you don't need as many in the draft with such a good first round hand.

6 or 7 would be OK. You have to keep building for 2027-8 onwards and guys out there aren't up to it or on their last legs.

Retire :-
Prestia
McIntosh
Lynch

Delist/trade:-
Dow
Sonsie
One of the least progressed key forward out of Gray, Fawcett or Bauer (for list balance - we still would have 6 key forwards - two of these plus Lefau, Armstrong, Faull, Sims, which is plenty). You could even delist another.

Picks:-
Dyson Sharp
Fred Rodriguez
Kellaway

Plus 2 free agents and a rookie promotion.
Bold to assume free agents would want to come to us

We would have to be angling for a mid-season draft pick if we end up having the first pick. Depending on how things are going we should be using every pick available to us mid-year.

If we’re talking delisting/retirements:

• Prestia almost certain to retire
  • Lynch probably 50/50
  • Dow & McIntosh would be almost certain to be delisted without strong years, McIntosh could also retire.
  • Kozi is contracted but we should seriously consider paying out his contract if he does nothing this year.
  • Sonsie, Smith, Trezise, Bauer, Green, Clarke, Fawcett, Brown, Blight, Young, Banks and Gray are the remaining players fighting to extend their careers. Young is probably in the most danger but a strong return from injury may change that. I think anyone in this group not getting at least some AFL games across the season could be in trouble. Fawcett and Clarke probably the only exceptions.

At most I’m probably thinking 6-7 delisting but I think we’ll make a couple players wait like we did with Dow and McIntosh this year. There is also the possibility that a KPP or two will seek or be part of a trade.

We would have to be angling for a mid-season draft pick if we end up having the first pick. Depending on how things are going we should be using every pick available to us mid-year.

If we’re talking delisting/retirements:

• Prestia almost certain to retire
  • Lynch probably 50/50
  • Dow & McIntosh would be almost certain to be delisted without strong years, McIntosh could also retire.
  • Kozi is contracted but we should seriously consider paying out his contract if he does nothing this year.
  • Sonsie, Smith, Trezise, Bauer, Green, Clarke, Fawcett, Brown, Blight, Young, Banks and Gray are the remaining players fighting to extend their careers. Young is probably in the most danger but a strong return from injury may change that. I think anyone in this group not getting at least some AFL games across the season could be in trouble. Fawcett and Clarke probably the only exceptions.

At most I’m probably thinking 6-7 delisting but I think we’ll make a couple players wait like we did with Dow and McIntosh this year. There is also the possibility that a KPP or two will seek or be part of a trade.
This is a great point, I’ve seen a lot of 2025 draft prospects and rankings, does anyone have a list of prospects for the mid season draft? Who was unlucky not to get drafted in 2024?

Noah_Cumberland_(1)_11.07.21.jpg
And
220px-Pauline_Hanson_2017_05_(cropped).jpg

Can always trade 2026 picks into 2025 on the night so as not to be absorbed by a Kellaway bid. Either trade an F2 into the 2nd round for a specific player before he's bid on or F3 after he's bid on.
I haven’t seen anything of Kellaway, is he really worth picking? From what I’m hearing, I am sceptical.

Sitting at the bottom, ghee I'd love a 'generational' prospect. Someone like a JHF, Daicos, Harley that you know is the goods from their junior year. That'd make me a hell of a lot more excited. Doesn't necessarily look like there's one again this year - yet. Usually you're aware of them in their bottom age year.

I would love to see W. Duursma dominate this year. We had a lot of Langford - Bont comparisons, but Bontempelli, especially when he was young, was so much more agile and deceptively quick with his long strides. If Duursma dominates in the midfield for Gippsland I think he’s the nearest we’ve seen to Bontempelli. Will grow into his frame and hopefully keep the agility and quickness he has, just a general elite athlete, with the basketball composure. And great overhead.

It’s a big if, but I am looking forward to watching him

I haven’t seen anything of Kellaway, is he really worth picking? From what I’m hearing, I am sceptical.

I watched 3 of his games on that SA site. His best statistical games. Wasn't that excited on what I saw. I was actually thinking during it I wonder if he's even on track to be drafted at all.

It's hard to say as the standard of those games were so bad. He didn't stand out but I guess you never know how he will develop in a year.

Sitting at the bottom, ghee I'd love a 'generational' prospect. Someone like a JHF, Daicos, Harley that you know is the goods from their junior year. That'd make me a hell of a lot more excited. Doesn't necessarily look like there's one again this year - yet. Usually you're aware of them in their bottom age year.

I would love to see W. Duursma dominate this year. We had a lot of Langford - Bont comparisons, but Bontempelli, especially when he was young, was so much more agile and deceptively quick with his long strides. If Duursma dominates in the midfield for Gippsland I think he’s the nearest we’ve seen to Bontempelli. Will grow into his frame and hopefully keep the agility and quickness he has, just a general elite athlete, with the basketball composure. And great overhead.

It’s a big if, but I am looking forward to watching him

I remember Bont being around our pick in the phantom drafts and then seeing him keep rising over the season to be the hype player of the draft. Petracca followed a similar path, being around our pick 12 to rise into first pick contention in the back end of the season.

My point is, that a generational talent could easily come along.

I think we should have our eye on a future ruck like "giant" Julian Galbally at the Dragons. He is a beast. He is well over his dislocated knee that restricted him last year. We could get his grandad Frank to represent our players at the Tribunal. His mum Inga is nice too. :)