List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter tigs2010

A FIRST-ROUND RECORD?

THE NUMBER of first-round draft picks this year could surpass 30 for the first time ever as more and more talented players with Academy, Next Generation Academy and father-son ties emerge in the pool.

There were 30 first-round selections in the 2011 draft, when Greater Western Sydney had its concessions, and 27 in 2010 when Gold Coast had its suite of draft picks. The 2023 draft also had 29 picks as the first full-blown Suns Academy haul came through.

This year could set a new record, with up to 15 players looming as possible first-round selections with ties to clubs.

From the northern Academies, Zeke Uwland, Beau Addinsall, Dylan Patterson and Koby Coulson (Gold Coast) have all impressed, while Dan Annable is a lock as an early pick and Isaac Waller has shown his potential as well from Brisbane's Academy.

Sydney could also have three prospects in that group with Max King, Lachie Carmichael and Noah Chamberlain.

From an NGA perspective, the form of Calder Cannons pair Hussein El Achkar and Adam Sweid to start the season has put the exciting duo in that frame as Essendon-tied Academy players, while Oakleigh Chargers tall forward Zac McCarthy (Collingwood NGA) has also emerged as a top-30 prospect with a promising start to his campaign.

Father-sons Harry Dean (son of Carlton's Peter) and Louis Kellaway (son of Richmond's Duncan) have also had strong starts to their draft campaigns to put them into first-round contention, with Tom McGuane (Collingwood) another who could be around the top 20.

Throw in the possibility of first-round or end-of-first-round free agency compensation picks for players leaving clubs and a new benchmark could be set for the amount of picks on night one of the draft.

The bidding system has been redesigned this year to make it harder for clubs to match multiple early bids on players but for the Gold Coast, who already have three first-round picks, they will be able to secure an Academy windfall. – Callum Twomey

TIGER PAIR EARN MID-SEASON INTEREST

RICHMOND VFL prospect Tom McCarthy has emerged as an early contender to be among the top picks in next month's Mid-Season AFL Rookie Draft, with the club's reserves program again shaping as a potential starting point for AFL recruits.

A number of recruiters were in attendance to scout McCarthy and his Richmond VFL teammate Massimo Raso at Punt Road last Saturday, with the pair shaping as potential mid-year pick-ups for the limited number of clubs with list spots.

McCarthy, a 187cm running defender, has averaged 24.3 disposals and 4.7 marks through an impressive start to the year to gain early traction as a mid-season No.1 pick chance.

Raso, a lively 171cm small forward who was overlooked by clubs at the Western Jets last year, has also emerged on the AFL radar and kicked three goals in a win over Brisbane's VFL side last Saturday.

McCarthy, who turns 25 in July, was a late football bloomer and has only spent the last 12 months on Richmond's VFL list after stints with Old Mentonians in the VAFA and Highett in the SFNL.

Close friends with Sam Davidson, who was drafted out of Richmond's VFL program last year, McCarthy has progressed rapidly since arriving at the Tigers and has caught the attention of recruiters with his running power and ball-winning abilities.

Richmond's VFL side has a terrific track record of producing future AFL recruits, with McCarthy and Raso looking to follow in the footsteps of Davidson, Sam Durham, Massimo D'Ambrosio, James Trezise, Mykelti Lefau and Tylar Young as the program's recent senior pick-ups.

Clubs are anticipating a limited number of mid-season picks to be used on May 28, given the strong nature of last season's draft where 71 players were picked nationally, a further 22 earned rookie contracts, and 14 were added via SSP spots.

However, a number of players have garnered early attention including McCarthy, Raso, Dandenong Stingrays defender Charlie Orchard and Sydney Swans Academy key forward Tom Ryan. – Riley Beveridge

Geez he looks a player. Probably should have kicked 3 and definitely 2. He wasn’t perfect on his left but two of those 55m darts were sensational.

How you feeling about the overall quality of this draft? I reckon it’s better than being advertised, don’t think decision making and ball use matches last years top 7 plus Lindsay and Reid but more athletic this year.
Wasn’t on the radar, is now.

Austin Powers Rocket GIF

Geez he looks a player. Probably should have kicked 3 and definitely 2. He wasn’t perfect on his left but two of those 55m darts were sensational.

How you feeling about the overall quality of this draft? I reckon it’s better than being advertised, don’t think decision making and ball use matches last years top 7 plus Lindsay and Reid but more athletic this year.
The two Wright boys are an example of why I think its always best to wait for a few weeks before trying to judge how deep a draft is. I think the top group may be a little stronger than last year... I dont think it'll be as deep and it gets very much effected by academy/NGA/father-son as it goes along.

I have no issue if he is the best talent at that pick

I can see a world where we have Sims & CDT rotating in the Ruck and 3rd foward creating havoc
with Faull & Armstrong rotating FF / HF
and thinking about it, it could very well be a perfect storm situation because imagine our star studded midfield in 2-4 years of lalor, smillie, hotton, 2025 2nd pick, 2026 1st pick & kmac2(?), (kellaway, leys?), what could be better, another standard midfielder drafted who will get little time through the middle since we're stacked/pushes out one of the above listed midfielders into a fulltime secondary position OR we could get a ruck who is basically an extra midfielder, remember the nuts left in threads fantasising about balta being a ruck/mid? imagine cdt+sims

ruck is pretty much the only position we need "replenishing" of, wing/hbf we already have some cattle for, it's just finding out which players work out best during this year. we could still very much use upgrades on them, but it's probably not as "urgent"

30 picks in the '1st' round is so ****ing ridiculous. At the very least the AFL should make it so the 1st round is untouched. 18 picks.

Good to read Kellaway is fur.ing as a potential top 30 pick though.
That pick we gave to Norf is going to be complete trash. May as well delist the bloke now

man that dougie cochrane kid is the next big thing, can’t believe he’s doing what he does at 16.
Trade our (or Norfs) 2025 R1 selection to WC for their 2026 first rounder. You’d be confident of either us or WC finishing last next season.
Unfortunately don’t think westcoke are doing that, everyone will want this kid.

and thinking about it, it could very well be a perfect storm situation because imagine our star studded midfield in 2-4 years of lalor, smillie, hotton, 2025 2nd pick, 2026 1st pick & kmac2(?), (kellaway, leys?), what could be better, another standard midfielder drafted who will get little time through the middle since we're stacked/pushes out one of the above listed midfielders into a fulltime secondary position OR we could get a ruck who is basically an extra midfielder, remember the nuts left in threads fantasising about balta being a ruck/mid? imagine cdt+sims

ruck is pretty much the only position we need "replenishing" of, wing/hbf we already have some cattle for, it's just finding out which players work out best during this year. we could still very much use upgrades on them, but it's probably not as "urgent"
Correct but there are another couple of reasons the CDT drafting could make more sense "IF" he is as good as whats being mentioned.

I have for the last 10 years posted that we have way too many positions being occupied by 'Pure Ruckman"
Dinasaur's of the game as i like to call them and teams have 3/4 and some upto 5 list spots for a position in the team that only 1 spot.

I have said for years i would rather have 3/4 players that are dual positional rotating through that role and always have a fresh person going up and a different dimension assed to that role.

Sims , CDT , Balta , Blight and even Miller if required
If CDT has that midfield ability and the foward craft he could be that extra tall a team could have similar to Blivavs for the cats that always give a ruck chop out and the reason the cats have been able to get by with inferior Ruckman in the past.

Also Mids are the easiest players to get via free agency

Correct but there are another couple of reasons the CDT drafting could make more sense "IF" he is as good as whats being mentioned.

I have for the last 10 years posted that we have way too many positions being occupied by 'Pure Ruckman"
Dinasaur's of the game as i like to call them and teams have 3/4 and some upto 5 list spots for a position in the team that only 1 spot.

I have said for years i would rather have 3/4 players that are dual positional rotating through that role and always have a fresh person going up and a different dimension assed to that role.

Sims , CDT , Balta , Blight and even Miller if required
If CDT has that midfield ability and the foward craft he could be that extra tall a team could have similar to Blivavs for the cats that always give a ruck chop out and the reason the cats have been able to get by with inferior Ruckman in the past.

Also Mids are the easiest players to get via free agency
yep, would rather us get a bloody irish dude to run around off the hbf in the vfl rather than have those 2 lumbering pure rucks take up spots on the field

personally hoping for CDT to end up being the best available at one of our 2 picks

another good thing about having so many kids come in last year is that they will be good friends with kids from this years draft and possibily even next years.
I would imagine Smillie, Faull and Sims will be talking to the kids after the VFL game this weekend telling them how good it is at Richmond.

Thanks mate, I always enjoy it in here, although if you tell any of my fellow essendon supporters that I said that I'll completely deny it.

I think the fact that you guys have had recent success means that you're less jaded and desperate. I'll just say that other draft boards aren't as up beat.
We were shit for ages, so the draft thread has always had a special place on the Richmond board.

A lot of knowledgeable posters have done heaps of work here over the years.