List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter tigs2010

It’s got that feel to it, but it’s early days.
I still think we’ll be able to add a couple of really good players in this draft. Ok we are probably not getting another Lalor but we can add some outside speed and quality footskills to complement last year’s picks.

Definitely take best available. At this point we have picks 3&4 so we are going to end up with top end talent one way or another

Alright, it seems that I respond to two things: money and guilt. Enjoy your Grlj video.

----

Another of the early movers in 2025, Grlj has been making the most of his opportunity playing onball for Oakleigh to maximise some of the traits we saw last season. His pace is electric, and he uses it to quickly close down opponents or break lines with the ball, one mazy run in particular which saw him sidestepping opponents and leaving them in his wake was very reminiscent of last season's Chargers number 5. In this game he barely put a foot wrong with ball in hand, his skills neat and precise. Hopefully he can up his disposal count as the season progresses by developing his stoppage work and finding more uncontested footy on the spread.

If he isn’t very high on our list I’d be shocked. Appears to be what we’re missing.

Loved That little passage of play by Grlj on the wing (1.59 minutes into the video)where he puts the afterburners on , side steps 2 opponents then hits up a target .
I know it’s only a Coates game but very impressive speed/composure/footskills, playing in the midfield.
I liked the forward high looping handball from congestion over a few guys that landed with a mate in space at half forward.

Shows he’s not just a speed merchant.

Feel free to move this if you have a specific MSD thread

----

The first of the mid season draft prospects to be covered on the channel this year, Tom Evans had an absolutely immense performance on the weekend for the Pioneers to put himself firmly into the MSD frame. He showed prospective AFL teams what he would bring, which is a prolific rebounding small defender with dash and excellent kicking skills paired with attacking, fearless decision making.

Would replace Short on Saturday if he was on our list

secret smell GIF

Not like we need another developing key forward and would probably just unbalance our list further. But I got to say I really like the look of Archie Ludowyke. Think he'll be Coleman medallist one day.

Twomey floated the idea that the bottom 4 teams should also get picks 11-14 followed by the finalists. We'd currently have 3, 4 & 13.

Ill Allow It GIF

Basis was it takes far too long for teams to move up the ladder with the 1 pick and the compromised drafts of academy prospects.

Many years are seen as poor going in and OK coming out.

Lot of talented players this year, but inconsistent or patchy performances. Hopefully they will start to come on and we'll have a great couple of picks.

Last year Rodriguez and Sharp, were being talked up as top 5 picks.
Sharp was good at SANFL level,
Fred had some eye catching games in the Nationals.
The start of this season, I’ve seen a couple of draft predictors that have both outside the top 10.
Just shows how fickle form/ ratings can be at this age.

Twomey floated the idea that the bottom 4 teams should also get picks 11-14 followed by the finalists. We'd currently have 3, 4 & 13.

Ill Allow It GIF

Basis was it takes far too long for teams to move up the ladder with the 1 pick and the compromised drafts of academy prospects.
Clubs would just tank as soon as they're out of finals contention.

Best way to stop the academies from compromising the draft is to have a pure top 10. If you miss finals you should be guaranteed a top 10 pick.

I don't think he was worried about the tanking. What's worse, the Eagle being complete shit for half a decade or them throwing a few games per year to ensure they get an extra pick. Reckon the first is worse.

Even in a poor draft the pointy end (ie. top five) normally net you long term AFL players

Just means this is a particularly bad draft (considering all the NGAs and academies) to get a pick mid table

Josh Lindsay doesn’t look bad. Is there any footage of Noah hugeness Hargreaves?

Have argued for years that the AFL should run and fund academies and players from those academies should be open to every club. It’s just a total lottery at present, with the northern clubs hoovering up most of the best talent. Has to stop, even FS should cease to exist. Some clubs have just gained totally unfair advantages from a totally unfair system.

If it is, and Blair and Gieschen agree, you watch. We will 100% trade out of it, it’s what Blair does. Said it directly to us at a few presentations

We won’t know until trade period so. I dare say seeing recruiters at games might give indication on whom they like. But out of all the fish worth catching atm none bigger than Harley Reid.