FrighteningYeah still can't understand how our mids got demolished so badly. 20-6 center clearances and 2 were in the 1st quarter. 4 center clearances in 3 quarters of footy..
June 12 we get to do it all again!

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
FrighteningYeah still can't understand how our mids got demolished so badly. 20-6 center clearances and 2 were in the 1st quarter. 4 center clearances in 3 quarters of footy..
Yes. Bevo shut us down real good. That seems to have escaped most people.One thing I did notice with how the doggies set up.
They blocked the corridor and cut off our switch of the ground when at half back. If we did switch we were kicking 30-40m back and starting almost back in goal square. We either had to kick long down the line which is a disadvantage to us as we don't have many talls to compete.
It then forced us to try and get creative and run and handball through the zone, most of the time became a turnover and shot back the other way.
It becomes even harder at this stage as our players become defensive minded and are worried about their player. We then lack overlap run and we lack a dish of handball from a stationary player to one on the move.
Id say against brisbane we see a lot more run coming from the back half.
1. We're running around with one of the youngest teams in the comp.Questions have to be asked why is there such a huge gap between our wins and losses?
We've had 3 x good wins 2 against quality opposition and the other a stat builder. The 3 x losses have all been floggings. We only lost to GWS by 28 points but generally they dominated the game and we were bullied all over the ground.
It seems when we dont show up with 110% effort we open ourselves up for disastrous results. Its mostly the result of our injury list and inexperienced team, but that doesnt excuse the senior leaders in the team. Lyon and his team of coaches have some serious work to do to close the gap between the wins and floggings.
In our losses the opposition have picked apart our game plan which resulted in a group of players running around like headless chooks. As a result the effort significantly dropped off as the collective didnt know how to hold up the dam wall. Some of it is the result of unavailable of players but for me playing obviously injured players eg Marshall & Steele has occurred far too often under Lyon. It has to affect the psyche of the team when your captain is going at 70% and cant influence contests like he normally has. Marshall has looked a shell of himself the past few weeks he has been flogged by ruckman he normally plays well against.
Injuries and injury management remain our achillies heal....?
1. We're running around with one of the youngest teams in the comp.
2. We've had an utter nightmare fixture that will last for another week
3. We played last week in 34deg in the middle of the afternoon against a premiership contender
4. We are still missing our FF and FB, whilst our ruckman and captain are playing injured.
5. All of our senior midfield depth is injured
6. Still no Pou
7. We were thoroughly out coached
Young.
Injured.
Depleted.
Exhausted.
Out Coached.
It's pretty ****ing simple!!! (Not having a go at you btw)
Clearly the most simple thing in this scenario is the supporters.1. Right or wrong we chose to have the huge list clean out knowing we would bottom out.
2. The fixture is hardly a nightmare and plenty of clubs have done it tougher.
3. The Dogs played in the same heat and in the equivalent heat in Perth the week prior, thats just making excuses pathetic really.
4. The injuries are the result of our own poor injury management and training regimes.
5. Playing injured players is a noose Lyon has been carrying around for decades - its not an excuse.
6. Phillipou is one player and he is still a kid.
7. Out coached and out list managed for far too many years.
The only thing thats 'simple' is excuses for a soft under belly of a football club/team.
Clearly the most simple thing in this scenario is the supporters.
1. We lost a game. That's not bottoming out.
2. Wrong
3. Thats the difference between adults and kids
4. So how does that generate criticism of those who did play?
5. Meh
6. Correct
7. Cry me a river

So whatsteeles best year was 2021
imo he has been carry injury ever since
its worn him down
he doesnt have a massive frame but is still pushing near on a 1000 contested possies in total going back to that 2021 season
has taken an absolute battering
knee is nowhere near right
like the shoulder previously
two years of getting smashed wears you down physically and mentally
you reckon he is pleased with his performance?
you think he is just getting a pay check an not caring?
theres always two sides
1. I think you mean 'bottoming out' along our 'own arc', and not 'bottoming out' as in tanking down the ladder to pick up draft picks, so 'bottoming out' means a few 9ths, and 10ths? or a few dips in the season?1. Right or wrong we chose to have the huge list clean out knowing we would bottom out.
2. The fixture is hardly a nightmare and plenty of clubs have done it tougher.
3. The Dogs played in the same heat and in the equivalent heat in Perth the week prior, thats just making excuses pathetic really.
4. The injuries are the result of our own poor injury management and training regimes.
5. Playing injured players is a noose Lyon has been carrying around for decades - its not an excuse.
6. Phillipou is one player and he is still a kid.
7. Out coached and out list managed for far too many years.
The only thing thats 'simple' is excuses for a soft under belly of a football club/team.
1. I think you mean 'bottoming out' along our 'own arc', and not 'bottoming out' as in tanking down the ladder to pick up draft picks, so 'bottoming out' means a few 9ths, and 10ths? or a few dips in the season?
2. It IS a nightmare and it isn't right to say that it is 'standard fare' . The Eddie McQuire narrative is spun by those who know our fixture is our payment for those subsidies we get. Whenever 'fixture' comes up and Collingwood's privileges are put in the spot light, out comes Eddie to remind us how much money we get, and how much Collingwood pay.
3. Yep. Agree. And Dogs have had it tough. That said, I noticed Garry Lyon saying our game style was incredibly taxing.
4. Maybe? But do we have our 'own' thing. Aren't those training types just ring ins? They are careerists and will work for, and do work for anybody.
5. Not just St Kilda. All teams. But look at Henry. Why was he picked?
6. Pou was overplayed in season one. Bad choice. Mistake, nevermind.
7. I don't think out coached. Lyon has over performed given the list. We might have a lot of players in declining, flatliined or just spluttering to take off.
I think we will do better in the 'cold months'. I thouht we's be 3-8 after Round 11 and then come howm with a wet sail. Maybe still possible.
Maybe it’s another season of hopefully short term pain while we blood all the newbies.
Garcia
Hastie
Keeler
Collard
Trav
Tauru
Boxshall
Ari
Hall
LOC
Even Pou and Caminiti in new positions.
That’s a lot of new players, all of whom are showing potential at this stage. Play them.
Never thought that the Sandy alliance was killing us, and I wish Sandy do well, but it got me thinking , and I an imagine a list manager saying to a kid or fringe recruit,’look,do you wanna be playing at Sandy? That’s a long winter down at the Beach Oval. Why not go where there is a real structured legit seconds where you part of it all fully.’ This makes no sense when you consider Hawthorn or maybe even Melbourne, but still….Agree anything is possible with Lyon at the helm, we have shown that with our wins over Geelong & Port. Plus we have shown our weakness in our really poor losses.
If we can maintain a relatively fit list we are capable of challenging most teams, if not our list falls away rapidly simply because of lacking a depth of experience and mature bodies. For me we could finish anywhere from 6th to 16th, but the odds are pointing to the latter.
Posters get excited about getting games into kids because they might have a future...that is proven to not always be the best way to develop every kid. Some of them need a slow burn to develop their bodies and confidence before being thrown up against the countries best. Our issue is Sandringham is and has always been a complete disaster of an alignment for our kids. Someone said the other "where would you rather play" and they are right even if that kid is not physically ready the alignment does nothing for the club.
The Town Cryer (Cornes) stated yesterday we need 3 x quality midfielders, a 200cm key defender and another key forward before we can be considered a genuine side. As much as he loves to kick us in the the guts, on this occasion he is right. The obvious response is we are a minow club, we cant attract them via trade so we have to draft and develop them. Yet our developmental alignment is dysfunctional and it has been for too long, yet we can't blame anyone but ourselves on that front.
So we are having to develop all the kids via the AFL side and consequently is adds to us getting some poor results, but given the above that doesn't make it any easier.
I think our wins in this early part of the season would probably have been achieved under any of our previous coaches, and just when we supporters keep thinking THIS might be a good season, the big losses or unexpected losses happen and the Saints plod around middle of the ladder for yet another season. Now it's Lyon's turn to try and salvage some credibility for himself and his list, cut the fluffy happy talk and turn up the heat, as I just get the impression he is having a jolly old time and doing the bare minimum to satisfy everyone.Agree anything is possible with Lyon at the helm, we have shown that with our wins over Geelong & Port. Plus we have shown our weakness in our really poor losses.
If we can maintain a relatively fit list we are capable of challenging most teams, if not our list falls away rapidly simply because of lacking a depth of experience and mature bodies. For me we could finish anywhere from 6th to 16th, but the odds are pointing to the latter.
Posters get excited about getting games into kids because they might have a future...that is proven to not always be the best way to develop every kid. Some of them need a slow burn to develop their bodies and confidence before being thrown up against the countries best. Our issue is Sandringham is and has always been a complete disaster of an alignment for our kids. Someone said the other "where would you rather play" and they are right even if that kid is not physically ready the alignment does nothing for the club.
The Town Cryer (Cornes) stated yesterday we need 3 x quality midfielders, a 200cm key defender and another key forward before we can be considered a genuine side. As much as he loves to kick us in the the guts, on this occasion he is right. The obvious response is we are a minow club, we cant attract them via trade so we have to draft and develop them. Yet our developmental alignment is dysfunctional and it has been for too long, yet we can't blame anyone but ourselves on that front.
So we are having to develop all the kids via the AFL side and consequently is adds to us getting some poor results, but given the above that doesn't make it any easier.