2025 Draft Thread

I cant believe that we got Lindsay at 20.

Speaking to Sam Power earlier today during our weekly catch up, he told me that the club had him in the top 5.

This year Collingwood had 36 main 7 rookie A 1 rookie B. I know North and Essendon and maybe GC were given extras but not Collingwood from memory. Not sure it is that clear cut.

With the mid season draft, you can add extras to your list because of injuries. At the end of the season, you are only allowed the maximum of 36 - 38 main list spots and 4 - 6 Cat A rookies. We added one extra this year because of the Weightman injury.

Twomey's record is accurate for the top 10 and has a good idea where the early bids will be I will expect the first 13 picks will play out that way before a surprise selection happens or could change at 1 of Dee's picks. I wouldn't be surprised that Tigers trade into the first round.

Top 13 looks set, Hawks weigh up Grlj/Lindsay while I suspect GWS are Grlj/Taylor

I reckon North or Eagles end up pouncing on Lindsay and I’ll be left bitterly disappointed

Feel like Emmett fits the ruck/forward role the best outside the top 15 players

I mentioned a while back, I heard a rumour that the club was keen on Emmett and sees him as a future key back. Twomey mentioned the key back thing in the write-up, so I'm kinda thinking my source is legit.

Does Lindsay have that speed endurance mix regan wants?

Doesn't appear to standout in either. I'd say his endurance would be above average to good, speed is just average. Seems very footy mad and it sounds like he'll work hard to make it. Seems to be of good character.

After some back and forth, I think in the end I like Lindsay. I see the Caleb Daniel/Harry Sheezel DNA but not necessarily their ceiling.

If Daniel was 10cm taller he would've been a top 10 pick. It depends if you think the game as gone past him or he regressed. Lindsay definitely doesn't have Sheezel's versatility but Sheez was pretty good just as a half back.

Lindsay kick is good enough that he doesn't need much else to be draft worthy. He's also surprisingly evasive for being so one-paced and the character aspects are a huge tick. He doesn't win much of his own ball and I've yet to see any defending but many draftees are forced to change when they go from the best in their team (and sometimes having the team balanced around them) to just one of many trying to get a spot.

It just means we really need to get the defensive mix right if we're going to have him and Dale be largely unaccountable. I do get the feeling that there might be a player or two that slides to us so it''ll be interesting to see how the draft plays out.

Im still hoping for Sam Allen as our second pick. Speed (Sub 3-second) and Endurance (5:45km 2km), heaps of upside, versatility, insane leap (101cm). Smaller sample size and coming off an acl in Round 4 of the year but heaps of upside. Worth a shot.

Louis Emmett is an interesting one, ticks a lot of boxes. Is he competitive? Tough?

With the mid season draft, you can add extras to your list because of injuries. At the end of the season, you are only allowed the maximum of 36 - 38 main list spots and 4 - 6 Cat A rookies. We added one extra this year because of the Weightman injury.
Yep, you can temporarily exceed maximum list allowances during the season (via the SSP or midseason draft) only by placing a player on the 'inactive list'. That player is ineligible to play for the remainder of the season, usually due to injury or retirement, and by the time of final list lodgement on 24th November the club must return below the limit of 36-38 main list, 4-6 category A rookies (to a combined total of 42 players) and 2 category B rookies.

2025 Draft Thread